We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good service, hearty breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #45 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, good service, hearty breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for 5 days-4 nights with the missus and never regretted staying there since it is right at the heart of the shopping district which you can just walk back to the hotel after a long day of retail therapy. It is also not right next to the road hence it is not as noisy as the other 5-star hotel across the road. I did have a problem with the taxi driver on the way there from the airport. So it might be good to have the map on hand, or better still have the address in Thai. The weather was punishingly hot during our stay in Bangkok and we requested for ice and water almost every night when we returned from our shopping forays. Impressed with their fast room service. I might just stay there again during my next trip to Bangkok.

Room Tip: Request for a high floor with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinstonChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,915
    766
    141
    30
    35
See reviews for
509
953
246
624
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

RENAISSANCE- Bangkok, March 2013

I always try to tag along with my husband on his business trip abroad Hence, i m always task to book our flights and check on best rate hotels with the best possible service.
This time, he will have to attend a trade fair in Bangkok, Thailand. We have been to this beautiful place several times, actually, almost every year for the past 10 years or so. Bangkok is almost like Manila in terms of weather and people, both friendly and hospitable.
Anyway, needless to say, I also tried almost all their 5 star hotels, even stayed twice in one of them, thinking it was one of the best...until I checked in at Renaissance.

I was smitten by the wonderful service all their staff had accorded us. The room may not be perfectly modern or zen as the trend is now but comfortable and very nice. I love the pool, so awesome with the view of Bangkok.
Renaissance is well located. Walking distance to the big malls and market areas where good bargain is at its best. And with the Sky train station just infront, you can simply tour Bangkok in a bliss.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderCezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had an unfortunate incident during our stay in Bangkok and while we were waiting at the police station I telephoned the hotel to ask to cancel our room card until we returned as it was with items that had been stolen. A few minutes later we received a call from the hotel security manager to say he had sent a staff member to look after us at the police station and bring us back to the hotel afterwards. She was amazing, totally professional, very helpful and friendly and became our liaison with the detectives. The Renaissance certainly take their guests security extremely seriously.

We had a club room which while not a huge room was very well laid out and decorated in a modern minimalist style. The glass walled bathroom was new to us (but I believe quite common in Asia) a huge room with a lovely bathtub and fantastic shower. I loved the bench seat in the shower! I could have sat there soaking for ages! There are electric blinds that come down for privacy but it still wouldn't have suited my kids as there was a slight gap between the blinds in the corner that cheeky siblings could have peered through!

The King sized bed was firm (as they all are in Asia) but amazingly comfortable. I'm normally not a down pillow fan but these pillows combined with that comfy bed meant I slept 10 hours straight the first night, an unheard of feat for me!

Housekeeping were very efficient and kept the room spotless. Airconditioning was excellent.

The pool is large and has a wonderful view, but as others said quite cold. I'm not quite sure why when its 40 degrees outside. Havings said that, it was great to cool off on super hot afternoons, some other hotel pools we stayed in on the same trip were much the same temperature as the air and not at all refreshing.

The club lounge is open from 6am to midnight, serving breakfast from 6am which was very welcome when we had an early tour one day. Breakfast was surprisingly extensive including eggs to order, the Asian choices always very good. Coffee and soft drinks are available all day, High Tea from 3pm to 5pm then canapes (very substantial...don't know that we ever had much for dinner) from 6 to 8pm. Cocktails (an open bar including premium spirits) from 4pm (or could be 4.30 we never got there that early) to 8pm. Great Mojito's!

The only minor dislikes we had (and I am being super picky here) are:

As an American chain hotel they tend to attract a fair number of American executives, when we were there a few groups inhabited the club lounge, sometimes chatting loudly amongst themselves.
The hotel was generally extremely quiet but the last couple of nights we stayed there was some door banging and corridor chat in the middle of the night, but remember this is Bangkok and its a party town so guests coming back to the hotel late should be expected at any hotel, it would be unfair to say this was a Renaissance issue.
As I said, I had to be super picky to even think of those things and unless you are exceptionally sensitive they wouldn't affect your stay.

We used the hotel car to return us to the airport, it was efficient, timely and very comfortable at a reasonable price.

The hotel location is excellent, very close to Chit Lom station and the overhead walkway that connects all the shopping malls. There are a lot of steps up to the station (and all skytrain stations) if you want to avoid the worst of them, when you walk to the left out of the hotel doors walk into the next building on your left and take the escalator up then walk along the corridor, up the little ramp between the 2 buildings then take the stairs at the set of lifts up to the next floor, you can then walk through to the level of the station. If you want to avoid the stairs altogether you could use the lift where we used the internal stairs.

We really enjoyed our stay and recommend the hotel as a solid choice in a very good location.

Room Tip: Club Rooms are high up giving a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3littlepigsgotroppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for a few days break during April.
We arrived early (9am) and were pleasantly surprised that the staff on the front desk organised for our room to be available so early. All staff were very helpful and friendly.
Location was fantastic, only a 5 minute walk to Skytrain and CentralWorld shopping mall (some nice restaurants here). Breakfast was fantastic, with excellent selection and even a lady who walks around giving out the smoothie of the day. Rooftop pool was lovely for a cool down in the afternoon.
My only complaint would be the prices charged. For example, we had a round of 3small draft beers and the cost was over 700 baht (around £15). The hotel transfer to DMK airport (30 minutes) was 2400 baht (it was a nice car, but still thought it was expensive)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto/SP
Level Contributor
204 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

It's a great Renaissance! The service is good. Polite, not warm, like other Marriott, but very helpfull. Be carefull on Bangkok because most of they don't read our alphabet on the streets. So it's necessary to carry the paper with the directions in Thai... The room is spacious, and had great free wifi if you are a Marriott Rewards Member. The bath is nice, and the shower, also. It has a lot of amenities, too. The pool is beautiful, but too cold.
The breakfast is incredible, with a lot of options, even westerns...
It is very well located, near the shoopings and the MRT. You'll never be disappointed being in a Marriott...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leandrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

It's been our third stay at this property now, and we think it one of the best hotel to stay while in Bangkok. It's perfect for a stopover for that beach vacation - located adjacent to Chit Lom skytrain station (several minutes from Phaya Thai), and in the middle of the central Bankgok shopping corridor. The rooms are very nice, bed comfy, water pressure excellent. For Marriott elites and those paying for the lounge, lounge access makes the stay all that more comfortable. The management does a great job: during our stays we happened to meet several of them, and they are all warmly welcoming and eager to ensure you have a great stay and to go an extra mile if there are problems. Also the front-desk staff/bell-men/concierge are very helpful.

Room Tip: enjoy the pool and easy access to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilzeppelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This stay for us was very enjoyable. The location of the hotel itself is spot on, right in the heart of the vibrant and funky Bangkok...We were able to walk to many good local restaurant in the area. Shopping is made very easy from there...
Remember, walking in any asian city offers your share of contrasts where beauty and depravity live side by side...
The rooms were gorgeous, spacious and very clean. We only sampled the pad thai from room service...It was ok, no more...
The feel of the hotel itself is one of a boutique hotel but obviously on a much larger scale. The groovy, loungy ambiance was much appreciated by my teenage daughter...This said, you can feel it is aimed at a business clientele.
When we return to Bangkok we plan on visiting the Renaissance again...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#20 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Grande Centre Point Hotel Ratchadamri
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Hansar Bangkok Hotel
#34 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Property: Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing