We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, but is it worth the money in comparison??” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #45 of 826 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing, but is it worth the money in comparison??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

In no way, am I giving the Renaissance a bad rating. It was a wonderful stay, the rooms were very high end. Our room was a corner room with windows on two sides and a nice view of downtown Bangkok. The bathtub was very picturesque with a huge window to look out, though it looked into another building. The bed was amazingly comfortable and most of all, the staff was extremely helpful, from helping us so we wouldn't miss our flight to directions and restaurant recommendation, etc. The location was right in the middle of Bangkok.....nice!
BUT.....I would compare it to the Chatrium where we also stayed. Though the location was not as good at the Chatrium riverside, the view was better, the suite and bed was just as good, the staff just as helpful and it included breakfast. The only significant difference other than the location and number of stars was the price. The Renaissance was twice as expensive.

Now, this was my first 5 star hotel, so perhaps those of you that will use all the amenities and are not just looking at the room and general service, then you might find the price difference worth it. I did not.

Would I stay here again? Yes, if I got a big discount. But for the money, I'll choose differently.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,619
    660
    119
    26
    30
See reviews for
404
824
211
524
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
193 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Recently stayed here for a business trip in Bangkok for 6 nights. Nothing bad to say about the property. As mentioned its location is great, and though it seemed odd having a parking lot between the hotel and the main road, I am sure this kept the noise down.
Rooms were well laid out.
I only ate breakfast at the hotel but the buffet everyday had enough new additions to keep things interesting. A highlight was a red curry Eggs benny and the custom juices they served every day.
Gym was on par with other hotels.
The highlight was the service though. Staff were friendly and attentive and were on top of whatever you needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thatcraigguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We've stayed here many times, so that says a lot right there. The hotel is set back from the road by almost a block, but it's right at the Chitlom BTS. If you walk into Maneeya center (3rd floor) you can take the elevator down to the first floor (a blessing if you have luggage). It's easy to get anywhere on the BTS and you can walk to several malls and Big-C (great for buying snacks and supplies). There's also a Watsons (drug store), a McD's, a bagel bakery, and street food very close by.

The rooms are bright and cheery, as well as comfortable. The breakfast is quite good. The biggest strength here is the staff (especially in the executive lounge) and their consistency. Everything seems to go smoothly (elevators, internet, housekeeping), every time we stay. It's an efficiently run hotel.

The only knock is that the hotel has become quite expensive as it has become more popular, and the restaurants have always been expensive (but it's easy to eat out). So the value is questionable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Renaissance Bangkok was a nice retreat for us after long hot days of touring and exploring Bankok.

Location: Great - right across from BTS which we found was a efficient way to get around the city. The public transport to the airport as easy as well only requiring 1 transfer. Hotel is located in the middle of shopping utopia. Malls galore. You do need to venture out via train, taxi, etc to explore Bangkok, but we found it easy to do.

Accommodations: Rooms were nice, bed good, good shower pressure, and nice bath and body products. View from room was just OK. One of the best hotel gyms I have seen. Bring your workout gear, you will want to get up early for workout. Nice refreshing pool for cooling off, not for sun worshiping as it is covered.

Food and Beverage: As Marriott Gold members we were given access to concierge lounge. Service and food outstanding. 24 hour access to beverages and great breakfast and appetizers would make it worth the extra cost of an upgrade.

Service: All around outstanding.

Would stay here again and recommend to all of my friends.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Absolutely stunning hotel in the heart of bangkok. Service was incredible, a big thank you to the girls running the reception and the bar who really went above and beyond to ensure a great guest experience.

The drinks at the hotel bar were some of the best I had in my whole trip, the buffet breakfast was one of the best I have had, ever.

Highly recommended, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights March 7-8. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. We were upgraded to a corner unit suite, it was huge with a great view of the city as we were on the 19 th floor. Our bed was super comfy. As Marriott platinum members, we had access to the club lounge. It was one of the nicest lounges we've seen. They had a happy hour from 4:30 a 8pm serving gourmet appetizers and great wine. They even made a martini for my husband. We also had breakfast at the lounge 2 mornings, the selection of food was good, Asian and western fare, lots of fresh fropical fruits, the cappuccino and expresso were amazing! The club lounge was a great place to relax after walking the streets of Bangkok and shopping. If you love to shop, the hotel is surrounded by major upscale shopping malls all connected by a walkway. Prada, LV, Chanel, Mulberry, Dior, D&G, Marc Jacobs, Burberry, Gucci, Hermes, etc., get the picture? Also Bts sky train in front oh the hotel. The staff was great! Always ready to help in everyway and always smiling. I highly recommend it! This is the place to stay in Bangkok.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2Boxerlola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque
Level Contributor
263 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is my first time to stay in this hotel in many many visits to Bangkok...even before I got to stay in this hotel i visited their website...i was not disappointed I should say, ..completely blown away by its charm!!.Its proximity to shopping centers and the BTS made it even more ideal and convenient for me...i love everything about this place...the lobby...the way its illuminated at night...my room ,was just excellent, ..food during breakfast had a good wide selection, ...dinner at their italian resto i truly enjoyed... and the staff...i always pay particular attention to the service..and they did a pretty good job making my stay both memorable and enjoyable, they were very courteous and helpful......now theres another good reason for me to visit Bangkok!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmc8693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#25 of 826 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 2,739 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The St. Regis Bangkok
#16 of 826 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
Siam
Grande Centre Point Hotel Ratchadamri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Property: Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing