We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for Bangkok stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #46 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked a Club Room for our short stay in Bangkok, mainly for the city views as rooms are higher up, but what we enjoyed most was the access to the club lounge for a fantastic selection of complimentary drinks (including alcohol) and snacks/canapes throughout the day. This was just what we needed after a 12 hour flight when we really didn't feel like venturing out into the busy streets of Bangkok. Club rooms also offer 1 piece of laundry cleaning per night which we made use of. Would highly recommend paying the extra for a club room.

The hotel is well located for the street markets and Siam Square, with a metro station right outside the entrance for access to other parts of town - we used this to get to the river for a boat up to the main temples of Bangkok.

We sat by the pool one afternoon which is on the top floor. Although not open air, the sides of the building are open. The pool area is very clean and modern. I didn't swim however as found the water too cold. It was also quite noisy as the street and construction noises can be heard from the city below.

The rooms are of a high quality - luxury bathroom with bath as well as dual shower (wall attachment and rainfall). My only gripe would be that the hotel walls seemed very thin - unfortunately we had a noisy family in the room next door who we could hear very clearly. However, the hotel were very good at contacting the family and asking them to be more considerate which seemed to do the trick!

All in all I'd say this was one of the top city hotels I have stayed in and would highly recommend, echoing all positive comments beforehand.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Club room for access to the Club lounge
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xina1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,261)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,332 - 2,338 of 3,261 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Renaissance is conveniently located in the center of everything - close to public transportation, shopping and fine dining. The rooms are large and the staff provide great service and are quick to respond to your needs. Great for both business and leisure.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Woodbury729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had the great pleasure of staying here while attending an onsite USG conference with 100+ officials. I don't remember the room as much as the bottomless happy hour cocktails and vast lunch buffets. Staff were cheerful and check-in/check-out was painless. I'd stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SageAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

As was getting a good corporate deal , stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.. Very centrally located hotel and very near the mrt..lounge is also decent and as my room was on the higher floors we get a nice city view ( though we mostly see other skyscrapers :)).
Breakfast options also very good and for me it was good value for money since we had preferred rates and I was a MR Platinum at that time, so also got a complementary room upgrade..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhiagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

As the title suggests, best part about this hotel is the location. It is located in heart of city, with metro right in front of hotel, and all the major city attractions nearby.

About the hotel, as other reviewers mentioned, it is a nice city hotel. Rooms are good. Being platinum member, we got access to lounge which is very good. They had a mix of thai, continental and cuisine from different places.
Swimming pool is on the top floor, which provides an awesome view. When we went there (10PM), the water was freezing cold, so we were unable to take a dip. I provided this feedback to management, and hopefully it will improve.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the city. Anything above 16th floor is good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rishi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

First - location, location, location!!! From food to shopping, everything is literally one par 3 distance away!!! The Chit Lom BTS is a short 50m stroll from the hotel entrance yet is out of ear shot.
Room - The room was large, clean and well appointed - electrical outlets had built-in converter sockets!! The bed was oh so comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, with seperate shower and bath. The toilet was equiped with a hand held spray.
Staff - they don't get any friendlier, more professional or helpful than the crew at the Rennaisance. The welcome was warm, checkin was prompt and efficient.
The Rennaisance will be my hotel of choice when I return to BKK.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FootlooseSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed in an upgraded room on the 22nd floor. The room was large and modern with a nice city view. The bathroom is glass walled that gives you the impression of being in a fishbowl but it has motorized drapes. I crashed into the glass wall the first night heading to the facilities after which I lowered the powered shades 50% at night to avoid any more accidents!

As others are mentioned the location is excellent 5 minutes walk from the Chit Lom MTS Sky Train Station. The MTS system has an integrated elevated walkway below the tracks so that it is also a pleasant 15 minute stroll to the major modern malls located between Chit Lom and Siam central station.

The service was excellent and the bar had nicely mixed cocktails and snacks after a busy day shopping or sightseeing. Once my wife requested a passion fruit martini and our waitress hurried off to the kitchen to collect fresh fruit as none were available at the bar!

The pool is open to the outdoors on the 23 floor with lounge chairs in the water and an excellent bar service.

Overall an excellent hotel for business or city vacation

Room Tip: Higher floor room
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#22 of 881 in Bangkok
3,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
The St. Regis Bangkok
#14 of 881 in Bangkok
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#42 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $152 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing