We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renaissance Hotel, Bangkok - a great new place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #44 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a good hotel in convienient location. A few blips, but overall nice and the staff are great.
My wife's family comes from Bangkok, so we go there regularly. This was our first stay at the Renaissance, I believe it only opened in 2011ish. Its location is just off Ploenchit/Sukhumvit one of the key main roads in Bangkok. At first I was put off as it is down a small road and not directly on the main road. But I was wrong. You are close to the BTS train system so very easy to get round Bangkok. You are also close to many of the main shopping malls - all within very easy walking distance.
First impressions? Wow, this looks nice. The staff - they have got it perfect, very very helpful, attentive without being over the top. And free WiFi. We had vouchers - so it means you can negotiate prices with them - and only paid Bht3,400++ per night, inc breakfast. And breakfast was good.
They had a nice bar RBar Free - but entertainment a bit confusing. A local band playing usual 70s/80s songs - mediocre. They stop at 11pm, then a DJ with house music till midnight then DJ finishes and background music which sounds just like the DJ. Don't know why they bother with the DJ. But it is a bit like being in London - 10.30pm they started clearing all the candles and decor away. I thought they were going to shut, but they were open till12.30am when we went to bed. I just find it so annoying - its as hough they don't want you to stay. Bar snacks were fab.
This is a nice 5* hotel. Part of the Marriott Group. Good location. Good staff. Rooms are as expected. Give yourself an hour to get to the airport - go on the meter and you will pay Bht300 and Bht70 in road taxes.

Room Tip: For now, all the rooms seem OK, but they seem to be building another hotel next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duncan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,650 - 2,656 of 3,521 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

I've stayed in BKK many times but the first at this hotel...and we might have to switch for our next visit. The pros, the location. It is just well placed, you can walk on the covered walkway to Siam or simply catch the skytrain. The service was great, the check-in took a bit but as there was a conference checking out, I understood. The club lounge and fitness center were small but well staffed and comfortable. The italian restaurant was yummy, I took advantage of the set lunch menu which wasn't too expensive and quite good.

The cons, the hallway nice is a bit loud, I could hear the doors closing nearby me from my bed. But there is non of the exterior noise that can be often found in other hotels.

Overall, great experience!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigger2lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Love this hotel. been staying here since it first opened. think it may have had a difficult time due to the economic climate in its first year, but now well established in its third year.
staff are really welcoming and helpful. flavours restaurant does a terrific buffet with a wonderfully international selection of dishes including indian, chinese, italian, seafood, japanese and of course thai featuring strongly. Executive chef Jose Ruiz has really done a great job using top quality for ingredients and training his kitchen staff well, and he works on a monday which is an uncommon occurence in many restaurants around the world these days. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher the better, gives you great view over this vibrant city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank siralex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went there for a conference... The lobby is tastefully decorated, the rooms are very spacious, with a very nice bathroom with tub bound by glass. Service was efficient.
The concierge did not disappoint in arranging for our day trips to different areas. But if you just wanna go around and shop a little, it is very near the commercial district.. And you can use the elevated shaded walkway and just avoid the noise and traffic underneath. These walkways are connected to the malls. Cool!

Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
4  Thank travelbufmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

i stayed here for 4 nights ,friendly welcome ,perfect rooms with everything you expect from a property like this ,breakfast was so good ,everything you can imagine ,i was looking forward to breakfast everyday and i am not really a morning person ,had food in the bar and in the Italian restaurant and was very high quality ,the service in the restaurant was very good until a family of demanding , loud and complaining Indian guests arrived to table next to ours and all the attention went to them which was a little disappointing but that was the only complaint i had .
I am looking forward to staying here upon my next visit to Bangkok.
also great location .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefjon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed the first time in this hotel. The staff is sometimes a little bit difficult and sometimes they don't understand the English language in the right way. Missunderstandings therefore can happen....
The hotel is nice. I had a nice corner room with a lot of features and a huge bed. The bathroom is has extraordinary furnished with a nice bathtub and a lot of windows to exterieur and to the bedroom. The club lounge has a huge space and various offers at happy hour.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mba4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had a deluxe room. Spacious and bright with view over a park. Ample space for 2 ladies.
Friendly staffs.
Spa seems popular. Only managed to book 1 session during my stay. Had a good massage at a decent price. (For a hotel)
Location is good. 3 minutes walk to the main road and turn right to Chitlom BTS and left towards Erawan Shrine. Link overhead bridge make walking a breeze to MBK and Siam Square, about 20mins easy walk.
Only 1 feedback. Either the wall is bit thin or our neighbors are too loud..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momomeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#19 of 891 in Bangkok
3,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Bangkok Marriott Hotel Sukhumvit
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $138 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing