We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top floor club benefits worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #44 of 893 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2012

good location. Friendly, helpful staff. Signed up for the club benefits, cost a little more but worth it. Comfy beds, quiet and spacious rooms and a couple water bottles a day, internet all made for a nice stay. Go out to the main street in front of hotel, go to the right & look across the street - there is a nice massage place there (the one with the green sign, not the one on the other side of the street as that is not the massage place I like to go to).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2airdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,820 - 2,826 of 3,596 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

What a hotel the Renaissance is...Its ultra modern, chic and has none of the old worldly feel of some of the other hotels in Bangkok. The entry lobby is fantastic, though not imposing, but it does give you a different 21st century feel to it. Lots of sleek lines, glass and lighting rather than heavy furniture etc. Check in was super quick and we were able to get free wifi thanks to my Mariott card.

The room was about 300 sq ft, with a transparent washroom wall. Room was again done up well with lots of textures, colours and light effects and gave a very ultra modern look. Minibar was quite cheap for the class of hotel.

The hotel location is fantastic right in the heart of the shopping district and just on Chitlom sky train station. A few steps and you're well on your way to every part of the city in minutes.

While the rooms, the hotel and the location is perfect, there were some niggles that left me with an Average experience. First was some of the staff who seemed extremely mechanical. Somewhat lacking the warm smiles that one expects in Thailand. The second was the food at the coffee shop. We tried a few Indian options, which seemed lacklustre. Some of the Basic Thai food options (We're Non Veg) like the Phad Thai etc seemed very dull and insipid too.

All in all, a good experience that was marred by a few issues....

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank premjit_pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The room was great. Comfortable bed, big TV and huge deep bath, separate shower with a "rain shower" which was fantastic. All the staff were very helpful, polite and welcoming. Thank you to Tanut in Concierge who made us feel so welcome. The location couldn't have been better. The Sky train station was right in front of the hotel. There was also a Starbucks, Hagen Daaz, McDonald's (if you are really desperate) and a pharmacy, next to the hotel and of course all the big malls like Central World and Siam Paragon offering great food and shopping. I highly recommend taking the Club Room option as the facilities are worth the extra cost ie breakfast, high tea, canapés and cocktails, and all day refreshments all included. The roof top pool was partially indoor/outdoor and lit up at night for a refreshing evening dip after the heat of the day. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meiko W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Typical modern Bangkok high-rise hotel, sleek glass box - and while it's not on the Chao Praya, it is at the Ploenchit Sky Train station, so you are a few minutes from everything. The rooms are minimalist and clean, separate bathroom with no maddening glass walls. There is a well equipped gym on the top floor so you have panoramic views of Bangkok while you're working out. The only meals we had at the hotel were breakfasts, and they were expansive. The breakfast buffet goes on and on with numerous stations offering Western, Thai, Chinese, Japanese and Indian fare.

If it's not too outrageously hot, Lumpini Park is within walking distance, and therefore the beginning of Silom Road can be reached on foot as well. The shopping malls Central World, Siam Paragon, Siam Center and MBK are also walkable or one Sky Train stop away. The weekend market is on the same Sky Train line as well, and the Airport Train terminus is only two stops away.

It's not the same as staying on the river, but the service and convenience would make it worth staying at again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We travel through Bangkok a lot and usually stay at the Lebua but after staying there for the last five times we needed a change. I can't see how another review says this is a bad location - it's one of the best location in Bangkok. Close to the major shopping, good eating and the beautiful Limpini Park. There are many beautiful hotels in Bangkok so the difference can come down to dollar value and staff. From the point of value the hotel is excellent value. Also the hotel restaurants, bars and room service pitch prices that are very fair for a five star hotel. Hilton could take a leaf out of the Marriott book at pricing. It's nice to have a drink or a meal at a hotel and not feel like you're getting ripped off (Lebua should take note too, the cheapest bottle of wine in the Breeze Bar Restaurant was a 100U.S.). Now the staff. To put it simply they are top notch. What a pleasure they have been. We needed help with sending some cartons oversees and it got a bit confusing, everybody jumped in to help. The front desk have always been quick and efficient to help with any inquiry. Having breakfast here, at the excellent and extensive buffet has been a delight. Again the staff outstanding. All the floor supervisors (special thank you to Thipwipha who is a real credit to the hotel) have a well drilled team who have an eye for detail and a caring manner. My wife mentioned one morning it was my birthday and when a coffee arrived so did a birthday cake and a rousing chorus of happy birthday from all the staff. The hotel followed up with it's eye for detail by having another birthday cake in out room that night. We stay in a lot of hotels and I've said before, if you want to, you will always find something to complain about. If I mentioned a negative here it would just be nit-picking. Look at what you pay for any services have a realistic expectation and expect it to be met. If it is exceeded as it has been here at the Renaissance you have done well. We are booked in for 11 nights (almost at the end) and glad we did. We did take the upgrade after a few nights in a smaller room and that has proved a good decision. Well done Renaissance. Well done Marriott and a big well done to the fantastic and enthusiastic staff. We wish we could mention you all by name. Great gym, great pool (indoors but opens up), excellent breakfast, great location, good beds - what more can you want.

Room Tip: Larger rooms have less A/C noise and are spacious and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wetravellots101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the start of a trip around Thailand and we really loved it. from the moment of arrival in the very chic lobby to the moment of departure the service, design and facilities are excellent. Great, friendly staff and very welcoming (nice drink, sweet and cool towel on arrival). It's all low lighting and interior designing and dark wood but done brilliantly. Really, really recommend this place.

Room Tip: Higher the better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dymrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

bad location, unresponsive manager when I complained.
Just think there are far better places in Bangkok.
im marriott elite and I wont return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lanternandscroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
InterContinental Bangkok
#20 of 893 in Bangkok
3,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Bangkok Marriott Hotel Sukhumvit
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $146 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing