We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Property in the Heart of Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #47 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Qaanaaq, Greenland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding Property in the Heart of Bangkok”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed here on a complimentary Marriott Rewards certificate for one night on my birthday. I took a cab from a neighboring hotel and the Renaissance is a 5-star property. Long, private guarded driveway leads to the hotel, and the Bell Hop/Check-In personnel were outstanding. The room was of the typical Renaissance caliber: Wonderful bed, flatscreen TV, great workstation, large bath with glass walls and fine soaps/bath items.

Went for lunch at their Flavors restaurant, which serves good a la carte items for a decent price (tea, appetizer, bread basket, beer, main course and creme brule dessert for just over 1000 Baht). I went to Flavors for the breakfast buffet the following day and it was absolutely great. TONS of local and Western items to choose from... all very delectable for under 800 Baht.

I took a walk around the neighborhood and there are many shops, food carts and other hotels in the area, offering endless choices. It was also close to the MRT station.

Before dinner, I went upstairs to the pool and it was incredible. It's an indoor/outdoor with views of the entire city and a very modern design/landscaping setup. There were several in-pool loungers and full hot shower stalls with overhead rainshower fixtures and body wash/shampoo/conditioner dispensers. Great place to swim laps and/or relax.

For dinner, their Italian restaurant was booked for a private function, but I went across to the Chinese restaurant Fei Ya and the menu looked fabulous. I ordered a nice bottle of wine, the mushroom appetizer, the sweet & sour pork main course, and the lemon/lime jelly dessert. Everything was fantastic, for just under 3000 Baht. 5-star service all the way and the waitresses went out of their way to help me with some of the menu items and in learning some key Thai phrases. The Peking Duck is their specialty, but as I was eating solo, I did not feel the need to devour such a large course. Good thing, because a friend had contacted the hotel to inform them that it was my birthday and they sent up a fine cake from their bakery as soon as I returned to my room.

All in all, it was your standard Marriott/Renaissance experience. Top of the line, everything you need within the hotel, and their "At your Service" phone concierge will get you whatever you want, whenever you want. Great stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elJefe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,977
    793
    147
    31
    36
See reviews for
531
972
258
654
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were greeted at the reception with a refreshing drink and were offered our choice of rooms. The room was large, comfortably furnished and had a nice view. The bed was especially comfortable and the bathroom was large and with nice amenities. The shower had both a regular shower and a rain shower. The room came with wifi and the food in the restaurant was excellent. On my return to Bangkok I will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khajorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, CO
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Going forward, this Renaissance will be my address whenever in Bangkok. High tech rooms, excellent health club, awesome food and consistently great service delivered by genuinely nice staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This was my first stay at this property… not sure how it escaped my attention. I usually have stayed at the Hyatt Erawan, but their rates have climbed of late. Got a great rate here, and was pleasantly surprised. This is a very new property, can’t be more than a couple years old. Modern, spacious lobby, although I found the bar area a bit noisy when I tried to have a drink with a colleague there.

I was upgraded to the Concierge level, so was less than ten meters from my room to the Concierge Lounge. VERY NICE. Excellent breakfast, and a terrific evening array of foods and drinks.

The room was very well executed, and a supremely comfy bed. Nice view over the Hyatt and the Horse Track. There’s a huge hole in the ground adjacent, so if that gets built, it’ll kill the view from that side of the hotel. But, that hole’s been there for several years, so not to worry just now. Spacious bathroom.

Great location, as it’s only a two minute walk to the BTS Chitlom station, putting a lot of Bangkok almost at your doorstep… this is why I’d preferred the Hyatt previously. (Once they complete the elevated walkway from the Ren to BTS, it'll be even nicer.

So, fully on par with the Hyatt, but at a fraction of the cost. Score!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chauncey_Gardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I have recently returned home from a four country trip through Asia, which began with a stay at the Renaissance Bangkok. I absolutely loved this hotel. Since it was my first trip to Thailand, I did a lot of research on Bangkok hotels. But it seemed like for every rave review I would find on any particular hotel, there would be an equal amount of luke warm reviews - and not just a few horror stories. And that included the big five star chains. I had actually resigned myself to the fact that you cannot get a true high end hotel experience in Bangkok.

Well, I could not have been more wrong. The Renaissance was wonderful. Great location, very nice rooms and everything about the place seemed new and modern. But without question, as many of the other reviewers have pointed out, the best thing about the hotel was the service. From the concierge to the reception staff to the waitresses in the RBar, everyone was charming, eager to help and very knowledgeable.

As a first time traveler to Bangkok, I needed a lot of help: Is there a good coffee shop around here (I hate Starbucks)? Where can I go for a great Thai lunch? Are there any good jazz bars in Bangkok? Where's the best place to see Muay Thai? I was a pain in the butt. But the staff actually seemed to enjoy helping and coming up with suggestions. And if the place I chose required a taxi, someone would either write out the directions in Thai or step out front a speak to the driver directly. And they would always follow up the next day and ask me if I enjoyed where ever it was they recommended.

I realize that these things should be standard service in a four or five star hotel, but I find that to be less and less the case these days. And, of course, the outstanding service went far beyond helping me find places to eat, drink, listen to music and watch Thai fighters beat the hell out of each other. Everything about the place seemed centered around providing a stress free environment, while still making sure the guests had everything they needed (whether those needs were food, fun or business). In the end, there was just something about the genuine warmth and polite enthusiasm of the Renaissance crew that made the experience really stand out for me.

My next stop was the Marina Bay Sands in Singapore, with its spectacular SkyPark atop the 57th floor. But the truth was, I didn't want to leave Thailand and the lovely Renaissance Bangkok. My instincts were right. At literally four times the cost, the Marina Bay Sands was a definite step down from the amenities and personalized service of the Renaissance.

I can't wait to get back to Thailand. And this time, I won't have to research hotels for Bangkok. I miss the Renaissance already.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Amazing hotel, location, and service. The first night we had to switch rooms due to a connecting room which I'm never a big fan. So later in the night we kept hearing foot steps and other random noises. So we ask to be moved to a regular room that's not a connecting room. Overall very very satisfied, love the grand buffet breakfast must stay here AGAIN!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yomigz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The location of this hotel is great. It is located in front of Chit Lom Station. Easy to access to rest of Bangkok by Sky Train. The Sky Train is easy and very cheap to use. I would not recommend using Airport Express and Sky Train as thought it would be easy to get to hotel. Getting there is not bad but there are way too many stairs at Sky Train stations to be useful. It is cheap at only THB45 for Airport Express.

The staff here are typical of your warm Thai hospitality. Everyone is lovely and very friendly.

The deluxe room I got had king bed. The bathroom is extremely large. It has a stand alone tub and shower with two shower heads and a seat! Very comfortable and bed is really good.

I tried the room service and was delivered promptly. Delicious and pretty good value for hotel prices.

The fitness centre is very modern and well equipped with great workout equipment. The pool is relaxing. It is indoor but open on the sides so quite good.

I highly recommend this property as a top notch hotel but very modern and not too traditional.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#19 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hansar Bangkok Hotel
#41 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Property: Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#43 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing