We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but disappoints as a 5 star hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #47 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Nothing major wrong with the hotel but overall didnt find this to be up to 5 star level.

Liked:
Service/staff is great.
Location next to Chit Lom metro station.
Design - modern and slick minimalistic design

Disliked:
Breakfast - great service, but quality and spread was no where near 5 star quality, had to ask to get properly fresh juice instead of the watered down version.
Pool - indoor pool very nicely done but too small for this size hotel. Freezing cold! A place for doing laps. Not a place to lounge around and enjoy a break from sightseeing.
Noise - luckily we were not majorly disturbed by noise but occasionally heard the neighbours talking (not shouting). In my mind it is a complete no-go for a 5 star hotel to have inadequate soundproofing.

Overall, yes at first glance the price seems good for a 5 star hotel but in reality it is just average value for money. Next time I will save 40 dollars booking an equally adequate 4 start hotel or I will spend the extra 40 dollars to book a real 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bettestep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,826 - 2,832 of 3,425 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

For my 1st trip to Bangkok, I chose this superb stylish hotel due to a special offer from Marriott website. My friend and I were disappointed that our request for twin beds was not honoured, however our deluxe room on 19th floor was very nice, clean, confortable, decorated with style, very modern design... The entire hotel has such a trendy style, including the unique swimming pool on top. Italian and breakfast restaurants were good. Breakfast buffet was huge and offered variety, freshness and good quality food. All the staff was very nice and helpful. Definitively, we are going back to this hotel, we love it sooo much!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpicyCinderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I stayed at the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong from 25-20 August 2011 with my partner for a week-long vacation.

Location wise, it is located just 5 minutes walk from the BTS sky train and right across from the huge Central shopping centre. Overall, it was great location, but still had lots of privacy and security.

As for the room, all I can say is WOW. I had a deluxe room which has a king bed with very fine sheets, bath tub, shower enclosure, mini bar, iron, safe, hairdryer, flatscreen TV, lights with dimmer etc. It even had a writing desk with an office chair.

Breakfast was another WOW! Imagine almost 20 varieties of fresh fruits which can be pulped into fresh juice at your request. It was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had, period.

Check in/out was swift, professional and warm :-)
I paid about US$100 nett per night using www.wotif.com , a great bargain and value for money!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor. I was on the 12th floor and it was peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fatcat2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

After watching a TV program interview about sunday brunch in this hotel, look interesting. Great service, nice decor and have to give a credit on their India food, seafood and desserts. Variety of each international food not as great choice. Good for seafood and dessert lovers!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Watts E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Very friendly staff, quick efficient service, well maintained property. Very good location and convenient dining options on site and in local area. The pool and gym was also very nice. If anyone asks, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watertech888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

About 30 mins walking in one direction gets you to Sukhumvit and 10 mins walk in the other direction gets you to MBK and Siam Paragon shopping. A sky train also gets you there quickly and cheaply. Many taxis don't know where the hotel is so we found asking to be dropped at Chitlom Station was easiest.

The hotel itself is decorated lovely and has a great ambience. The staff are welcoming and attentive. The breakfast buffet is lovely with a global selection of dishes. We chose to eat in local restaurants instead of the hotel for our other meals so cannot comment on the dining at the hotel.

Our room was a suite on floor 18 which provided generous city views, a huge bathroom (with a rainshower facility), lounge area and access to the club lounge on floor 21. We enjoyed spending some time in the lounge in the early evening after shopping and sightseeing - a cool drink, some appetizers and watching the sun go down was very relaxing.

We will stay here again, and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: A suite will give you the privileges of the club room access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacJac82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Located in central Chitlom. Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong has got everything you need to feel aboard and at home. Great restaurants and shopping malls are just minutes away from this location. The decoration of the room is contemporary and slick. Service is excellent. I urge all first time Bangkok visitors to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdubb1668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#18 of 889 in Bangkok
3,286 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Bangkok Marriott Hotel Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#43 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $136 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing