We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit if you are in the neighbourhood, but don't bother with a trip there”

Siriraj Medical Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$595.65*
and up
Full-Day Exploring Thai Contemporary Society in Bangkok
Ranked #53 of 552 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Visit if you are in the neighbourhood, but don't bother with a trip there”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

You don't get to see Siamese twins and livers with stab wounds in formaldehyde much any more since it is generally seen as too macabre. I like to see the unusual, but there was a little bit too much of the same. Not worth a trip, but if you are in the neighbourhood, I would recommend a visit

Also note that 95% of the displays are in Thai, but there seems to be an audio tape that you can rent by paying extra cash.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank matsaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    226
    78
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting but slightly macabre”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

So much to see here, in the end we ran out of time and were there for at least 3 hours. Lots of preserved bodies, especially babies and siamese twins, and an interesting tsunami exhibition. Took us a while to find, taxi driver dropped us off at the main hospital and probably took 45 mins of walking around to locate it - map and signs were all in Thai! Worth the visit though, but not for the squeamish or easily offended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hollycb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not for faint hearted”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very interesting collection of gore.certainly not for children or squeamish people. The museum was very hard to find once we got off the ferry. Not very well signed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Haze057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Original museum in the middle of a functioning hospital”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not for the faint hearted, this museum is the most original I have every been to. Exhibits include a range of children in jars with various birth defects to photographs and body parts from people in fatal accidents and crashes. It is definitely not for the squeamish and there were times where I had to close my eyes on move on.

One of the most fascinating parts of the trip for me was that it was in the middle of a functioning hopsital. The hospital is vast and you feel like you are in the middle of real Bangkok and experiencing the city for real, and not as a tourist.

Getting to the hospital is a little hard (it took us three hours to find it because we didn't read the instructions carefully!) Take a boat to WANG LANG pier and walk straight up the road for ten minutes - the hospital is the big building on the left. Find a map at the side of the hospital and head for the administration building. There they will give you a map to the various museums (there are 3 in total).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SimonWicksALC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
“Brilliant adventure of death.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

It sounds morbid and gruesome to visit such a place filled with dead bodies. Most of items are vintage. Some bodies and parts were dated back from 60's. It's still there for alive people to see. Anyway it'd be perfect if it has more description and english. And the places are a little hard to find, which fortunately adds more thrills to find each parts. Inevitable death is essential part of life. I enjoyed my time there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sanduniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siriraj Medical Museum also viewed

 

Been to Siriraj Medical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing