We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very different day out in Bangkok”

Siriraj Medical Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$595.65*
and up
Full-Day Exploring Thai Contemporary Society in Bangkok
Ranked #52 of 558 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Berwick St John
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“A very different day out in Bangkok”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having read about the Siriraj Museums, they were easier than I thought to reach using the tourist river boat, and when I found the hospital they were very helpful with directions to the various different museum buildings. The hospital site is huge, a village in itself,
Usually 40 Baht, it was free the day I visited. Much of the exhibit signage is only in Thai however it is the exhibits themselves that can be a shock to the system. First up were a number of foetuses in jars which could be quite disturbing. Next was the Tsunami exhibition where they explain in quite graphic detail (in English) the process they had to go through to identify the thousands of victims of the 2004 Tsunami. Exiting this, I was not prepared for what was around the corner, basically rows, shelves, display cabinets and jars of just about every part of the human body, including more babies and some mumified whole bodies. They have hundreds of exhibits, I can only guess that poorer people are donated to the hospital where they make a study of every way possible of dying. There are photographs of blown up, run over and even decapitated bodies that would simply not be shown in the UK. The parasitology exhibition was probably the bit I found most nauseating. I then went on to another building for the Anatomical Museum. Again there are just countless jars and cabinets full of bodies and body parts. The children suspended in formaldahyde are probably the saddest as people have left tributes of toys and sweets on the top of the jars. Like other reviewers, I was a bit surprised by the number of local children seemingly enjoying the exhibits, maybe we are just too squeamish.
That said, I was very glad I visited, and it certainly makes a change from Temples!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AttitudeAdjuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    231
    80
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For the Morbid and Medically Curious”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I'm not sure how often you will get the opportunity to view anything this graphic and gruesome up close, in real life. Definiitely worth a look, if you can stomach. There is definitely some rather disturbing stuff - particularly the preserved fetuses and babies, brains and mummified criminals. Plenty of body parts and photographs. Be prepared to greet some stern-looking guards who will make you feel like a criminal, pay entry, register in the guest book.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThaWifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting sights, not for the weak in stomach...”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you have ever heard of the "Bodies: The Exhibition" touring exhibit, it is alot like that, but much smaller and not as easy on the eyes.

If you haven't, then you are in for a treat. There are two parts to this museum: first, the department of anatomy has cut up and preserved cadavers for you to see the way the body works/looks on a real human; second there is the Siriraj Medical museum, with some simple exhibits, and some more interesting ones (like human heads with entry and exit wounds from bullets).

This is not for people who get squeamish at the slightest thing, but is not too bad otherwise. It is neat to see the whole nervous system of the human body, alone, without any other parts. Or the whole circulatory system. Also, there are many human cadavers with defects that they show, and even sometimes say in English what it is! (be prepared, not much in English =/ )

For a small price of something like 40-80 Baht (I was on a tour with my massage school so it was paid for, not too sure the actual price) it is worth checking out. Doesn't take longer than 2-3 hours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SDMrNiceGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My headline is not facetious. The museum was filled with parents and kids today. Asian folks. I assume they have a more realistic attitude to life and death than lily-livered Europeans.

Anyway, if you're done with "bars, temples, massage parlors," to quote Murray Head, this is the place to catch a boat to. The pickled human fetuses are a good start, including the poor nipper without a brain. Then you move to the crime scene photos, including the chap whose neck was sliced by a beer bottle and a bare-breasted gringa with fatal stab wounds.

Mummified corpses of rapist-murderers, tools of death, amputated limbs and grisly car-crash memorabilia are next on the menu. I liked the decapitated head, and was able to sneak a photo (photography is not allowed). Unfortunately a lot of the descriptions are in Thai, but you get the gist.

I didn't spend much time in the parasite museum, having seen the gold standard in this genre in the Tokyo suburb of Meguro. A small cafe awaits those who are still hungry. I wish they had cool souvenirs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dgdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as creepy as I anticipated”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I visited this museum expecting it to be creeped out, and for the place to be dark and dingy like a horror museum. It was not like that at all and I found that it was very scientific and much like a medical museum should be - and working in the healthcare field I found it an interesting place to visit.

There is a lack of english signage at the museum though, so it's difficult to understand some of the exhibitions.

If you're visiting, it's probably likely that you have read reviews on this place and so know what to expect - mummified corpses of Thailand's notorious serial killer and babies with abnormalities preserved upon your entry. Interesting stuff and great for medical learning!!

Very glad that we made the effort to visit here, as it is may not be a typical Bangkok attraction but certainly an interesting one.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank linnykins01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siriraj Medical Museum also viewed

 

Been to Siriraj Medical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing