We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #525 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were on our honeymoon, and we had a flight to our hometown the next day. We needed a hotel that allowed 24 hours checkout as our flight was in the evening, which is why we chose Miramar. A travel agent helped us book a room, and the booking clearly mentioned "Hotel Timings: Check out 24 hrs" (screenshot attached). We checked in at around 7:30 PM, and verified the 24 hour checkout with the receptionist, which she confirmed. In spite of this, we were thrown out of the hotel the next day at 12 PM by some lady who called herself the manager. She was very rude, and she claimed that we were not eligible for a 24 hour checkout, because we booked the room through a travel agent. When we said that we had checked with the receptionist the previous night, she made us speak to her, who of course claimed that she had never mentioned a 24 hour checkout. We weren't even allowed to speak to our travel agent. You can imagine the inconvenience, with all our bags. The rest of the hotel staff looked guilty and couldn't raise their eyes, which reconfirmed the fact that something was fishy. We could only assume that they wanted to check in a huge group of people (we could see tonnes of luggage near the reception), and they wanted to vacate rooms for them.

Bangkok is considered to be one of the most hospitable places, and my husband had lived there for 3 years. He was more than disappointed. This was our honeymoon, and we wanted to leave the city with sweet memories, but our last experience was the most bitter one, and one we will never forget. We felt cheated. We are never going to Miramar again, and we would never recommend it to anyone either.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ipshita_borkakati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 274 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Maybe shouldn't be 3 and a half star, but just 3.

We stayed as a family of 4 and the deal (USD90 per night) suited us to have 1 family room with 2 king beds.

The room was clean, and the service very basic, hence I think it should be 3* only.

The breakfast was included and was just OK. There is no pool, not that one was advertised.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is at a good location near China Town.
The rooms are good and the staff is really friendly. Especially at the reception.
The restaurant is quite expensive comparing with other places in Bangkok but the food is good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fam_RM_Koopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Miramar Hotel from the 12th - 17th August 2013. WE normally stay just down the road at the Grand de Ville but they were shut for refurbishment. We alweays stay in this location when in nBangkok as we are visiting family living there.

The location is perfect for China Town, the temples and markets. The new under ground is under construction outside, so the hotel will only get busyier when it is open.

We booked a family room for three of us, it was very big with 2 king size beds plus 2 settee's coffee table, fridge and coffee making facilities with a payable minibar. (It's cheaper to go to the 7 - 11 over the road and bring drinks back and put in the fridge.

The air con was great, it could be controlled in either half of the room. Over the beds and or the seating area. The beds were very firm, they would suit some people more than others. The bathroom was small but usable with a shower over the bath, the only thing was even with the curtain in the bath, water still flooded the floor.

While we were there, many coach party's turned up late at night, hence there was some noise late into the night. It seemed to be an overnight stop over hotel.

Free Wifi was available, but only in the lobby, hence there were many people there sat talking on their smart phones or tablets.

The reception staff were limited in English speaking, it seamed only about 2 could understand you. Value for money you could not knock it. The only thing I would say is, if you are expecting a good breakfast give it a miss. Breakfast consists of bread / toast, fried eggs, some form of sausage I have never seen or tasted before, coffee and what is supposed to be fruit juice but I suspect it to be squash. Outside and down the road is dozens of street vendors selling much tastier food for about 20 -30 Bhat.

As always in Bangkok, if taking a taxi or tut tut, agree a price and or ensure the metre is switched on. If they don't turn it on get out of the car. You can cross Bangkok for under 100 bhat

Room Tip: Family room is a good sized room, we stayed in 420
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Miramar could've been so much more!

The pros:
1) The location is amazing. I could walk from here to Grand Palace. I could see Golden Mount from my room. For vegetarians looking for Arawy Restaurant on Thanon Dinso, you can actually walk there. Locals might even tell you of a short cut through the parking lot of a building nearby.
2) The lady - I think her name was Chet? - was really kind, helpful and clear in her instructions.
3) The room was alright. It was a little dark.
4) Restaurant manager was a really kind man. My mum was ill from all the walking on Day 1 and we missed our buffet breakfast by 30mins, so he arranged for a vegetarian breakfast cooked specially for her and toast and eggs for me.
5) Both Check-In and Check-Out were quick and fuss-free.
6) Go out, turn left and walk down the street in the opposite direction of the traffic. Look for a shop called King's Optical. The uncle working there speaks good English, can direct you well and he sells all sorts of old-school, Grandpa's-era's spectacles and sunglasses. Also has new, fancy stuff. The pavement is torn up all the way to his doorstep. =(
7) From King's Optical, walk further down until you come to an umbrella/parasol shop. Don't worry about spending too much on a UV Protection umbrella/parasol. You will need it. Trust me, its the same price as the ones in Singapore and SO MUCH BETTER QUALITY.

The cons:
1) The walls of both the room and the bathroom looked old.
2) The towels have been cleaned but you could smell chlorine or whatever disinfectant they used in the wash.
3) The hotel shampoo and bath soap came in two tiny bottles, so I bought my own shampoo and used the handsoap for bathing instead.
4) We could use with some "Nearby Attractions" pamplets or at least a map of how to walk to the nearby attractions.
5) The area is now being torn apart for building of MRT or something, so most taxi drivers don't even want to drop by. Some drivers appear to be surprised by the map on the back of the name card. They don't seem to know the English words or the location!
6) The road outside Miramar is a one-way road. Which means the taxi or tuktuk drivers may not want to U-turn and you may be dropped off opposite the hotel, where you have to cross the road at a zebra-crossing. Have fun!
7)Traffic jams almost all the time. I have not seen the road being clear during the time I have been there. If you are checking out and rushing to the airport, you have to leave early. The bellboy could help get a cab but his luck depends on the traffic too.

Rant warning!
Major gripe I had about this hotel had nothing to do with the hotel but some of the guests from tour groups who were staying the night.

*ahem*

I get it that you are excited about Bangkok, ok? I hope you get it that running up and down the hallway, squealing and giggling, is not very considerate to other guests. I also hope you get it that sunny-side up eggs are supposed to be soft. Don't poke every single egg and ask why they are all soft! SERIOUSLY?!

Rant over.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libertyjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was very happy with the Miramar. Room clean, staff very friendly. Good location if you want to walk to Grand Palace, Reclining Buddha, Golden Mountain, Khao San Road, Chao Phraya River, etc. They don't have brochures or info on "what to do" so make sure you do your homework before you get there. Strong free wi-fi in lobby. Massage available on-site.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here with 3 friends on our first visit to Bangkok in Nov 2011. There had just been flooding in Thailand, and didn't know where to stay, so it was a last minute online booking before we arrived. The staff I emailed about the floods replied, and told us it was fine and the hotel was accessible, and we thought that was very helpful and nice of them.

When we arrived, the staff helped us carry our luggage over the sandbags blocking the doors, and escorted us to our room. The room was nice, quite spacious, and clean. The beds were a bit too hard for me, but now as a seasoned traveller in South East Asia, i think they would be fine.

One of our group members accidentally left clothes there when we left Bangkok for the Islands, and the hotel saved that for him until our return to BKK a few weeks later, which was nice of them too.

The only bad thing I can say about the hotel is the location is naff. There is nothing nearby, its a taxi or tuk tuk ride away from Khao San Rd and other attractions. This got to me, and we spent quite a lot of money on transport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouN85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Grand China Hotel
Grand China Hotel
#358 of 891 in Bangkok
561 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Check Inn Chinatown
Check Inn Chinatown
#373 of 891 in Bangkok
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#450 of 891 in Bangkok
211 reviews
Banglamphu
Sri Krungthep Hotel
Sri Krungthep Hotel
#496 of 891 in Bangkok
74 reviews
Banglamphu
Boonsiri Place
Boonsiri Place
#400 of 891 in Bangkok
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel Bangkok

Address: 777 Mahachai Road | Wangburaphapirom Phanakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #525 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $30 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramar Hotel Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Miramar Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing