We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Bangkok
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
  
Ways to Experience Calypso Cabaret
from $29.24
More Info
from $9.75
More Info
from $29.27
More Info
from $31.50
More Info
Reviews (1,303)
Filter reviews
1,303 results
Traveler rating
306
438
279
136
144
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
306
438
279
136
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cabaret show front row beautiful costumes traditional thai dance asiatique riverfront take pictures theatre humour artists rows pics complex skytrain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,303 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

Food show featuring ladyboys performing lip sync and dance. Complex choreography and costumes.

Good entertainment.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank usernamesarestoopid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Well I had a good laugh, it is a bit tacky but good for a night out. I was impressed with the bodies and boobs. Jealous much!. Well done Calypsians.
Sadly even though we had been lined up 30 minutes prior to the show, we were hurried in straight after the last show. Our 9pm show had started before everyone could be seated as there is not enough time to get every one out from the last show and the next show seated before starting. Another 15 minutes between shows would be beneficial.
I was looking for a bit more glamour and professionalism in the show. Still you don't get this in NZ so good to spend ONE night in Bangkok gong to Calypso.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Kakiroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

Don’t waste your money! We thought this was an essential part of visiting Bangkok but it was very poor value for money ! Total crap !

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Katrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

The dancers are gorgeous, the costumes lovely, and the choreography "not bad". Unfortunately, the show's timing and pacing was very poor, with the audience being asked to clap far too often (most didn't bother to do so). The choice of musical numbers and themes seemed decades out of date too -- not a modern show at all. Also, the sound system was poor, rendering the "singing" (all lip-synced) both muffled and echoey. Worst of all, the show (at least the first half, before we walked out) didn't make much use of the fact that the performers are transgender. True, they simply came off as women, which is an awesome achievement, and very much to their credit. But then one is basically left with a show full of beautiful people lip-syncing dated material to a crappy sound system. Truly a shame, because these folks worked real hard. They were just given the wrong thing to do, and a poor technical support system (sound) too.

To improve: Start with some ladyboy comedy so that the show is about them, not just by them. Or if you want the show to be by them and not about them, update the material and fix the sound system.

We also had the dinner, which was "ok", but there are plenty of better options literally right outside the door in the Asiatique market.

I'm truly sorry to write such a bad review, but ... it was bad.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank dcjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

We attended a ladyboy show in another city and decided to do a cabaret show in Bangkok. I highly recommend you spend your money at any other show because:

1. It was heavily choreographed and dancers visibly could not keep up - but the costumes were great.
2. The show lacked character, there was no passion or sense of humour it was like a school play.
3. Half the show was about other cultures. We’re visiting Thailand, we don’t want to see Indian, Greek, Korean and Japanese performances.
4. This is the number one reason we did not like the show - IT WAS VERY RACIST. They imitated Indian dancing, Korean, Greek dancing and then MADE FUN of Japanese culture. This was excruciating to watch, and there were Indian people in front of us that shook their heads and got up and left. I suggest you find a ladyboy show in another city that’s authentic, humorous and fun to watch. This was a waste of 50$ a person.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank stevieleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews