We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Thai food! ”
Review of Thanying

Thanying
Ranked #381 of 13,794 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Visited Thanying on our last night in Thailand. We were looking for traditional Thai food and that is exactly what we found with this gem. We ordered Som Tam, Pad Thai, and the four curry sampler. All of the dishes were delicious! Prices were fair, especially for the amount of food you get with each dish (we couldn't finish any of them). Atmosphere was nice, and the staff was very attentive. We didn't make reservations but went early (7pm), but if going with a larger party I would definitely make reservations as it was crowded by the time we left. While the staff was very attentive, they were not the friendliest we had experienced in Bangkok.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank JeffreyS2494
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 143 of 578 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

Not quite sure how to describe it. Let's put it this way. The Tom yum soup seafood is by far the most different Tom yum soup I had tasted. Its so fresh I thought it was a coconut. =)

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank 449edwinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016

We emailed to make the reservation for dinner on a Thursday night. We're surprised to find the restaurant almost full, that really brought up our expectations! However, after sitting for a while, we begin to notice that all the tables were occupied by foreign tourists! Even at the big table hosted by a local gentleman, all his guests were foreigners. The place is dated and in dire need of a make over. We were seated by the window and the garden is not well maintained too. It is not pleasing to the eye.

The food was average and we were disappointed. Of all the dishes which we ordered, only the "4 kinds of curry" met our expectations. We have tried a number of top names of Bangkok's Thai restaurants on our previous trips, so we wanted to try the " Geniune Royal Thai Cuisine" that Thanying advertized. Sadly we are sorely disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeannie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

Great food. Great ambience. And you have really not had Thai food, until you eat here. Flavor is wonderful and service is great

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank AbhishekAjaiVir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

Exquisite taste of Royal Thai Cuisine set back in a colonial house embedded in a small beautiful garden, all within the buzz of the city center.

Fine dining with a casual approach and very professional service. Food is beyond expectations, simply delicate and refined.

My favorite restaurant in Silom area

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank arturor408
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thanying also viewed

 

Been to Thanying? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.