We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basically the only place you need to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bhuthorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bhuthorn
Ranked #81 of 614 Bangkok B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basically the only place you need to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Truly truly lovely place to stay. We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon. Everyone told us we wouldn't like Bangkok so we only stayed two nights, which we greatly regret, thanks to the fabulous Bhuthorn. There was actually a 'buy two nights get one night free' offer on when we booked, but we cancelled our third night to go to Chiang Mai. (wish we hadn't!) Because it was the same price for three nights or two and we'd cancelled one, our landlady arranged for us to have dinner at a local restaurant which The Bhuthorn paid for. So nice!
The Bhuthorn is in a perfect location, near to all temples and so on, is very atmospheric and the landlady fed us all kinds of delicious Thai treats that we'd never have tried. Make sure you have afternoon tea! She is also very helpful, giving tips about Bangkok.
Recommendations (all walking distance from Bhuthorn) : Wat Pho for wonderful temple-seeing and a proper Thai massage in the temple grounds
The Chinatown Eats Walk from Lonely Planet - you won't regret it!
Boat trip on the river

In a nutshell, we will definitely return to Bangkok and we will be staying once again at the Bhuthorn. We have met others on our travels who didn't like Bangkok and it seemed to be because they stayed further out of town and got ripped off by taxi drivers or stayed in sub-standard accommodation. Book the Bhuthorn!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WemLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    17
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
104
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

I think the profusion of great reviews here is a testament to how wonderful the Bhutorn is and says more than I can in just one review. Still, I wanted to add my voice to the chorus, describing how the Bhutorn's old world charm, detail and commitment to service makes i a special gem in the world of tourism.

Anyone with a love for architecture, photography, design, flowers and cuisine will enjoy a trip here. That's not to say that others won't, but just to highlight part of the Bhutorn's special charm. It is the detail that takes your breath away here: the smell and sight of orchids or lotus flowers in the morning, the gorgeous old pieces of teakwood furniture, the feeling of history in the place and its location. Last, but not least, the tastes of Thailand in the morning: fresh fruit like dragonfruit and mangosteen or delicious knaom krok (fried coconut cream sweet with scallions) and espresso coffee. With all of these, it is the small and delightful touches that take the Bhutorn from just a lovely Old Bangkok B&B and elevate it to something precious that you can savor and enjoy just for a quiet moment every day.

In terms of location, it is located right next to all the major Old Bangkok tourist sights: the palace, the reclining Buddha, etc. It is also close to the Chao Phraya River and so convenient in that respect as well. It is also located off a small community courtyard/park hidden back from the hustle of the city around it. Since it is a small old building, it is not as quiet as staying on the 25th floor of a glass highrise hotel would be, but you feel the pulse of the city and the beauty of the culture much more in the Bhutorn's setting.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kampalasean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

My wife and I stayed here in August, our second visit to Bangkok, we were looking for a boutique style abode and found a haven of hospitality and comfort, Reviews on this site informed our choice and we were not disappointed, Whilst it's perhaps not the easiest location for taxi's to find, it's a great location for sightseeing, walking distance to the palace, and on a direct road reasonably close to more commercial areas should you want it. Chitlada (the owner) is a gem, helping our driver locate the hotel and waiting at the door to make sure we arrived safe and sound, a refreshing welcome with a chilled lemongrass drink helped complete formalities of registration and we were shown to our room, which was superb and nicely scented with a jasmine oil burner. Antique decor transported us more fully into Thai culture and a wonderful bed helped us to relax. As you can tell we really enjoyed this place and the genuine hospitality of the owner and staff, giving us good insights and helping us with onward plans and printouts at no additional charge. The food was also fantastic, everything had a real freshness to it and care about it's presentation. we were also taken to a nearby restaurant which from the outside looked quite humble but provided us with literally the best green curry I've had, and I've made a point of having quite a few, I believe it's called "Kru" Kitchen, it's just across the square from the hotel, and close to one recommended in the lonely planet, which it beats hands down in my opinion. Rooms are limited in number which adds to the intimacy of the Bhuthorn, so if you want a small hotel with pretty much great everything then look no further.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TishaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

Locating Bhuthorn was tricky, especially since the taxi driver himself was less than familiar with the area. However, we had the map of the location printed prior to departure. That didn't stop the cab driver from using his multitude of CB radios from contacting his brethren of other taxi drivers from direction.

From the moment we arrived, Chitlada (the owner) was waiting by the door, despite being early. Even from early on, the experience the experience was much akin to returning home after a long period overseas. The hospitality was outstanding, likely due to the limited vacancies available - attention is less divided. We even got the 'official' tour of the place, since the rooms were vacant when we got there. We doubt this would be usual.

And Chitlada's assistant? Mr Waiter/Bellboy/Porter/Housekeeper/Security/.... You get the idea. If I was Chitlada, I'd hang on to him :)

We could go on and on, but the reader would have gotten the idea by now. Stays in the Bhuthorn are a must, if only for the rustic ambience and exquisitely warm hospitality (from friendly local advice to chit-chat during tea and to little known insights of all things Bangkok). We would go back. But the next time, it would be to visit friends.

Chitlada, we owe you pictures. They are coming!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Presion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

We had a very nice rest of 3 days in the beginning of August, and it was so nice to be there and welcome as familly, that we decided on the way back to come back to more days at the Buthorn. Among the interesting experiences, we had several type of thai dishes at breakfast and came back with the recipe. All type of help we needed from the owner was given quickly, effectively, and happily.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thierry031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at the Bhuthorn at the beginning and end of our 17 day trip to Thailand. 

When we arrived in Bangkok from London, we found a taxi and explained where the Bhuthorn was (using the map Chitlada provided). I think Old Town Bangkok, where the Bhuthorn is located, is not particularly well known by taxi drivers which meant we got a little lost on the way!

Once we arrived, we had a very warm welcome from a smiling Chitlada. Our initial impression from the outside was of a bustling, humid Bangkok street. When we stepped inside, everything became cool, calm and relaxed. This is what we loved. The fact that we could experience the crazy and exciting Bangkok, but then return to the haven of the Bhuthorn to relax. 

Chitlada and her staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. They explained Thai customs, recommended  places to go shopping, helped us get taxis and made dinner reservations for us. We were also treated to some traditional Thai foods for us to try with our breakfast, and when we returned feeling hot from a morning looking around the grand palace Chitlada was quick to offer us Thai iced tea and some delicious coconut ice cream.

We had the Bhuthorn room which was spacious, very tasteful and had nice views over the small central park. The bed was really comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean. After our trip around Thailand it was really nice to know we would spend our last night back at the Bhuthorn. Hopefully we will be back one day. 

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloelallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

We had a great 3-day stay here after two weeks in Thailand. Chitlada was warm and welcoming notwithstanding our arrival late in the day.

The building is nicely decorated. It has three rooms. We stayed in The Bhuthorn room which was perfect for us and good value. Breakfast each morning was great - plenty of food and always included a local treat. They were also happy to oblige us with breakfast at 7 am on our last day before leaving for home.

The location was perfect for touristing around Bangkok. It's a 10-min. walk to the Grand Palace. The river ferries and Khao San Road are within walking distance.

We're looking forward to staying again on our next trip to Thailand.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison_and_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
The Asadang
The Asadang
#28 of 614 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#11 of 614 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#33 of 614 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Banglamphu
Bangkok Bed and Bike
Bangkok Bed and Bike
#82 of 1,157 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 614 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bhuthorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bhuthorn

Property: The Bhuthorn
Address: 96-98 Phraeng Bhuthorn Rd., | Phranakhorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 614 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bhuthorn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bhuthorn,a newly operated hotel located in the heart of oldtown Bangkok, one of the well-preserved community registered to the Fine Art Department of Thailand. The Bhuthorn, a century-old shophouse has been converted into a boutique accommodation with exclusively 3 guestrooms. Each room has been decorated in their own individual characteristics with a colonial atmosphere. Our main targets are travelers who, while traveling, love to enjoy arts, history, people, and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Bhuthorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bhuthorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing