We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet haven in busy city”
Review of The Bhuthorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bhuthorn
Ranked #90 of 670 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet haven in busy city”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovely hotel, we were looked after well by the staff, and local advice was good.. Thanks! Location is great for the old town, the kao san road is an easy walk away, and the express river boat cheap and easier to use than road transport at times. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    17
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
105
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Bhuthorn is an absolutely lovely historical bed and breakfast. My husband and I chose this place due to it being in a historical building, just a ten minute’s walk from the Grand Palace and 15 minutes from Tha Chang Pier (for the Chao Phraya ferry). It has been lovingly restored with the restrictions one would see imposed in the United States by the National Register of Historic Places. Situated in an old and established neighborhood, one feels like they are in early-twentieth century Bangkok. Our colleague and friend, who is a native of Thailand, was very impressed that we found this bed and breakfast in what he described as a “great location”.
Upon arrival, we warmly greeted by everyone at The Bhuthorn. Everyone that worked there always had a smile and was eager to help us out. Service here is impeccable! Every request was met with a smile and was immediately taken care of. Hailing a taxi from down the road was not an imposition for them. Calling a restaurant concerning a reservation for us was no problem for them. Responding to all of our emails prior to our arrival were met with a prompt and informative reply.
We had the Bhuthorn Room which is above the lobby. To get to it, one must leave their shoes and sandals at the foot of the narrow and steep stairs. Apparently, it is an Asian tradition to do this. A proprietor in Malaysia told us that it also helps to keep the upstairs clean. Our room was very spacious. There were four windows that overlooked the quiet neighborhood and “town square”. My husband enjoyed watching the people cook below our room. The decor is tastefully done to reflect the time period the building was built. The room has air conditioning that is turned on and off with a remote control. We felt that it could have been a little better as it took a while for the room to cool down. Free Wi-Fi was available in our room, but once in a while the signal dropped out. The bathroom had all the amenities one needs. Our shower’s hot water was like one gets in India – lukewarm. It may have been that way due to us taking showers so early in the morning as on last day there, my husband had a late shower that came with wonderfully hot water.
Every morning we had breakfast in the courtyard garden. Breakfast is huge, fresh and fantastic. Choosing the Thai bento boxes over the western-style breakfasts is the way to go. On the day before your breakfast, you fill out your breakfast requests, along with the time you want to eat. One morning, we had duck for breakfast. Each morning brought new boxes of Thai food surprises. An unlimited amount of tea is provided with your breakfast. The meals were a great and delicious way to start our days in Bangkok.
After dealing with the heat and humidity of Bangkok, complimentary afternoon tea at The Bhuthorn was delightful and much needed. It is a wonderful way to take an afternoon break with iced tea and a fabulous Thai treat.
There is only one negative associated with this great bed and breakfast, and it is not their fault. Taxi drivers had a difficult time finding The Bhuthorn. None of the taxis we rode in had GPS. Many of the taxi drivers refused to call the Bhuthorn for assistance. Numerous taxi drivers could not read the map even with directions in Thai. Every time we hailed a cab back to The Bhuthorn, we held our breath as we were never sure we would make it back. Each trip in a taxi ended up with us in a different location other than The Bhuthorn. It is a good thing my husband has a great sense of directions as we usually had to walk a couple of blocks back to the bed and breakfast.
We have been to bed and breakfasts throughout the world, and The Bhuthorn is in that elite group we have stayed at. Another trip to Bangkok is inevitable and another stay at The Bhuthorn is a certainty. Look no further in Bangkok, and make The Bhuthorn your home while in Thailand's capital city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagyarNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

It was an amazing stay at the The Bhuthorn. The hotel only has three rooms so we enjoyed a lot of privacy here while being pampered by the hotel with excellent service, afternoon tea and coconut ice cream! The hotel is very nicely decorated with antique furniture and when we could smell fresh jasmine scent the minute we walked into the hotel. There are fresh flower everywhere. We enjoyed having tea and breakfast at the little courtyard. Time seemed to stop at the Bhuthorn. We stayed at the Nara room and there's a cute living room downstairs; we felt like home every time we came back from outside. The Thai breakfast was just amazing. The food was amazing and they were served in cute little lunch boxes. We were joking that we felt like the royal because our table was filled with nicely decorated plates!

As other reviewers said, the downside of the hotel is its location. Most taxi drivers we met had difficulties finding the hotel but we just called the Bhuthorn and asked them to give the direction to drivers.

Overall, it was a memorable stay and that's what vacation shall be!

Over

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhiteOvertoneWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights in June. We had an enjoyable time at the Bhuthorn as the staff were very caring and helpful BUT taxis, tuk-tuks even locals didn't know where the place was!!! Very time we ventured out, we were relieved when we finally made our way back to our room, as taxis and tuk tuks drove around in circles trying to find the place. This was even when we showed them the map that the hotel kindly gave us!! It was all just too hard and we would stay somewhere easier to find next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brissytravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you want to experience Bangkok like a local, the Bhuthorn is the way to go. Just three rooms, decorated with great taste and authenticity, the inn feels like Old Asia. The staff is charming and most accommodating, the breakfasts are incredible, the location is ideal. Yes, it's hard to find but using a nearby landmark as a clue for tuk-tuk drivers worked well. Ever feel like your modern Western-style hotel served as a kind of moat, separating you physically and culturally from the city around you? In Bangkok the Bhuthorn is the antidote.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mvhalpern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Bhuthorn is a beautiful little hotel, tucked away in a square about 10 minutes' walk from the Grand Palace and Wat Po. It won't suit everyone - the hotel only has three rooms and is in a quiet residential location - but the house has been lovingly and elegantly adapted by the owners and it really feels like you're staying in someone's home, with its little courtyard and flowers everywhere.

The Thai breakfasts were incredible - a three layered tiffin box filled with new (and delicious) surprises every day. I don't think I've ever looked forward to breakfast quite that much... Looking forward to another stay, just as soon as I have an excuse to head to Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmjames26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. It's a beautiful old building that has been renovated to a fab standard. We loved the feel of the place. The staff were amazing... Always there to help.
The breakfast was awesome in the little courtyard garden...
The only minor problem we had was the taxi's and tuk tuk's were never able to find the hotel as it is off the main roads and so small. We always managed to get home, but with lots of driving in circles. The drivers can't read maps, so a written note of directions would help loads.

Overall a great place to stay, only 5 minutes from the grand palace and other main attractions.

In the evening get a tuk tuk, as to get anywhere fun you need to go along the canal which is not a nice place to walk at night... Believe me... We did it!

Awesome place, awesome food and awesome people!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biffy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#12 of 670 in Bangkok
214 reviews
Banglamphu
The Asadang
The Asadang
#33 of 670 in Bangkok
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Neighbor Phuthon
Neighbor Phuthon
#139 of 670 in Bangkok
5 reviews
Banglamphu
Bangkok Bed and Bike
Bangkok Bed and Bike
#69 of 1,245 in Bangkok
93 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#37 of 670 in Bangkok
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bhuthorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bhuthorn

Property: The Bhuthorn
Address: 96-98 Phraeng Bhuthorn Rd., | Phranakhorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 670 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bhuthorn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bhuthorn,a newly operated hotel located in the heart of oldtown Bangkok, one of the well-preserved community registered to the Fine Art Department of Thailand. The Bhuthorn, a century-old shophouse has been converted into a boutique accommodation with exclusively 3 guestrooms. Each room has been decorated in their own individual characteristics with a colonial atmosphere. Our main targets are travelers who, while traveling, love to enjoy arts, history, people, and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your The Bhuthorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bhuthorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing