We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in great neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Ranked #186 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at SST on leisure, for 6 days. While we did spend most of our time outside of this property, we still had the chance to appreciate how nice it was: spacious rooms, general layout, room amenities, restaurant, etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is great: Thonglor neighborhood is perhaps one of the best in BKK. One very minor wrinkle: the rainshower knob (switch) did not seem to work, so no rainshower (we reported this only after we left), but otherwise the bathroom was very nice: no leaking water (like in many hotels), good lights, size, and so on. We did not try the infinity pool, but it did look impressive. We will definitely return, next time for a longer stay and with kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a small balcony if you are a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 329 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had an amazing time at the hotel. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. They were also super helpful keeping us dry during the festivities. The food was good and they had a very good selection of wines, which is rare in Asia.

The arranged reservations at a multitude of activities from massages and manicures to fine dinning reservations. I would definitely stay there again. And the internet special was a great deal.

Room Tip: The room was quiet, had a much needed deep bath tub and plenty of hot water. Everything was quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRich6971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were here for the Thai New Year, and because of the business nature of the area, there was only one place where they were throwing water on the entire street (reasonably, not wild). its a great location. Right across the street there is a small plaza with restaurants, Starbucks, and a grocery store (TOPS Market). Tons of ATMs, Banks, seven elevens, restaurants, tour offices, massage parlors up and down the street, and if you walk 10 minutes or less you can reach the BTS (or use the complimentary shuttle). Also if the market across the street is closed, there is a 24hr Foodland about 5 min walking distance.

We stayed in a one bedroom executive apartment on the 27th floor (#2710), and it was clean, modern, and well furnished. I didn't like the layout of the living, dining, kitchen, but the bathroom and bedroom were gorgeous. The free internet connection was good, and the TV channels had a lot of selection.

The staff is polite, friendly, and speaks, good english.

The pool was ok, not as impressive as it is on the photos, but clean and with an infinity view. The gym was great, lots of machines, great view, and clean.

The only thing i was not satisfied with, is the breakfast selection. This is the first time as vegetarians that we have encountered a problem in a hotel. Everything had pork in it. Pork and rice, bacon strips, pork and noodles, etc. Even the baked potatoes and little slices of sausage in them (which i didn't realize until it was too late, since the label only said "baked potatoes"). Even the salad bar area didn't have a single dressing without egg in it. We paid for the breakfast with our hotel room, so we were really disappointed. We just cooked for ourselves the remaining days...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitaipriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have been staying here at the Somerset Thonglor for 5 weeks as a long-term resident. I have waited to write a review until now. My overall thoughts are below:

PROS
- Good location near Thonglor BTS
- Relatively new and modern facility
- Service staff is very customer service oriented, it's really nice
- Tastefully designed with modern amenities
- Great modern bathrooms with deep soak tubs
- Nice plug and play sound system for Ipad
- Option to upgrade to 6 MBPS internet with added wireless option for multiple devices

CONS
- Maid service isn't focused enough on complete cleaning. You have to press them to do a more proper deeper cleaning. As one example, they were only sweeping my hardwood floors and after 2 weeks I asked them to start mopping.
- Some rooms have ackward layouts and unusable space such as mine
- Should probably be a second tuk tuk for transportation since the primary one is very often in use.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

There were 3 of us so instead of having to book 2 separate hotel rooms we were looking for a serviced residence with a 2 bedroom unit. Having read the reviews on Somerset the only negative comment that kept repeating was the lack of breakfast spread. Expecting only a basic breakfast we bought some bread rolls the night before but we were in for a big surprise. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate. There was bacon and eggs, sliced bread, croissants, Asian/Japanese breakfast.

The room was better than expected. Everything was spanking new. Would definitely come back again. The staff were really friendly and helpful and even gave us a late checkout at 2pm. The only thing I'd like to point out is that as we got a late checkout everything was switched off when we got back to the room at about 1pm so we had no lights or a/c while we were packing.

Once again....great place to stay. The BTS is about a 5-10 minute walk depending on how fast you walk but I'd say its about 750m away. The hotel offers a free tuk tuk to BTS and the Emporium mall. The walk was pleasant enough and most times we walked to the BTS.

Room Tip: Request for a room on a higher floor. We got a room on the 27th floor and had an awesome view of Ban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChevyGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in a 1 bedroom appartment. The property is really new, the room was nice and big, had a full kitchen and washing machine. Beds very comfortable, great view and quiet air condition that could be separately controlled for each room. Friendly staff and a free shuttle service to the nearby bts station. A very nice infinity pool and an good gym. Overall very good

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I have stated here for 9 weeks in the last year and the Somerset beavers fails to impress.

Located in the heart of the super chic Thonglor, it is ideally located to enjoy the best of Bangkok at a more classy pace. The BTS - skytrain is a 5 minutes walk or you can take the complimentary tuk tuk.

All you need is within 10 mins - restaurants, clothes shops, bars, café's, supermarket opposite and some very cool clubs. Nothing sleazy in thonglor.

The Somerset is super clean, big apartments with all you need - washing machine, full kitchen, king beds, big bathroom and sitcom that works.

Super friendly staff too.

The breakfast is more Asian than European and to be honest is ok for coffee and toast but anything more, head to crepes and co a 5 min walk for a fab full breakfast.

You can get your Landry fine cheaper across the road and buy beer cheaper at the supermarket opposite - your call, I decided depending on my mood.

Overall great and the place I will always use when working in Bangkok area.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogster5287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Akyra Thonglor Bangkok
Akyra Thonglor Bangkok
#204 of 896 in Bangkok
277 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Oakwood Residence Sukhumvit Thonglor
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Centre Point Sukhumvit Thong Lo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Grande Centre Point Sukhumvit 55
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok

Address: 115 Sukhumvit 55 Sukhumvit Road, Klongton Nua | Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Thong Lor & Ekamai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#94 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#153 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $108 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor provides the convenience and comfort of a serviced residence in a prime location for international executives, families and leisure travelers. Located in Soi Thonglor, one of Bangkok’s most popular expatriate districts and also aptly called Little Japan, this well-appointed residence is close to the financial and business districts with entertainment, nightlife, shopping and restaurants nearby. The residence also provides easy access to several supermarkets and 24-hour food outlets. Work with WiFi wireless internet access, swim in the pool, workout in the fully equipped gym and discover Bangkok with the resident’s programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing