We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ChevyGoh
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Great place to stay & value for money

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 5, 2013
There were 3 of us so instead of having to book 2 separate hotel rooms we were looking for a serviced residence with a 2 bedroom unit. Having read the reviews on Somerset the only negative comment that kept repeating was the lack of breakfast spread. Expecting only a basic breakfast we bought some bread rolls the night before but we were in for a big surprise. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate. There was bacon and eggs, sliced bread, croissants, Asian/Japanese breakfast.

The room was better than expected. Everything was spanking new. Would definitely come back again. The staff were really friendly and helpful and even gave us a late checkout at 2pm. The only thing I'd like to point out is that as we got a late checkout everything was switched off when we got back to the room at about 1pm so we had no lights or a/c while we were packing.

Once again....great place to stay. The BTS is about a 5-10 minute walk depending on how fast you walk but I'd say its about 750m away. The hotel offers a free tuk tuk to BTS and the Emporium mall. The walk was pleasant enough and most times we walked to the BTS.
Date of stay: February 2013
Room Tip: Request for a room on a higher floor. We got a room on the 27th floor and had an awesome view of...
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$127
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $124
  • Agoda.com
    $112
  • Official Site
    $131
1.1 miles from Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Free Wifi
Free parking
$92
  • Algotels
    $120
  • Vio.com
    $81
  • Expedia.com
    $102
0.2 miles from Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Free Wifi
Free parking
$128
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • Agoda.com
    $122
  • Hotels.com
    $152
1.5 miles from Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Free Wifi
Free parking
$149
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $118
  • Vio.com
    $85
  • Hotels.com
    $148
3.2 miles from Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Free Wifi
Free parking
$60
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $68
  • Vio.com
    $58
  • Expedia.com
    $70
1.4 miles from Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Free Wifi
Free parking
$149
  • Expedia.com
    $147
  • Vio.com
    $129
  • travelup.com
    $178
2.8 miles from Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Free Wifi
Pool
$29
  • Vio.com
    $28
  • Agoda.com
    $26
  • StayForLong
    $41
3.6 miles from Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Free Wifi
Free parking
$153
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $144
  • Priceline
    $144
  • Hotels.com
    $144
4.0 miles from Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Free Wifi
Pool
Camera standard
$42
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $45
  • Agoda.com
    $31
  • Trip.com
    $45
2.2 miles from Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
    $94
  • Vio.com
    $78
  • Chatrium Sathon
    $94
3.4 miles from Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bangkok
Reviews (767)
Filter reviews
767 results
Traveler rating
536
187
28
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
536
187
28
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nan thong lor tuk tuk great serviced apartment washing machine nice infinity pool studio apartment shuttle service shuttle bus bts station long stay location is great big room pleasant stay tai kae sukhumvit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
556 - 561 of 767 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in a 1 bedroom appartment. The property is really new, the room was nice and big, had a full kitchen and washing machine. Beds very comfortable, great view and quiet air condition that could be separately controlled for each room. Friendly staff and a free shuttle service to the nearby bts station. A very nice infinity pool and an good gym. Overall very good

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I have stated here for 9 weeks in the last year and the Somerset beavers fails to impress.

Located in the heart of the super chic Thonglor, it is ideally located to enjoy the best of Bangkok at a more classy pace. The BTS - skytrain is a 5 minutes walk or you can take the complimentary tuk tuk.

All you need is within 10 mins - restaurants, clothes shops, bars, café's, supermarket opposite and some very cool clubs. Nothing sleazy in thonglor.

The Somerset is super clean, big apartments with all you need - washing machine, full kitchen, king beds, big bathroom and sitcom that works.

Super friendly staff too.

The breakfast is more Asian than European and to be honest is ok for coffee and toast but anything more, head to crepes and co a 5 min walk for a fab full breakfast.

You can get your Landry fine cheaper across the road and buy beer cheaper at the supermarket opposite - your call, I decided depending on my mood.

Overall great and the place I will always use when working in Bangkok area.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogster5287
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A real find! Reasonably priced - modern, clean and relatively well equipped. I wish I had known about this hotel when I had young children. Spacious rooms, the galley kitchen had 'two' of everything but was equipped well enough for us to cook bacon and eggs for breakfast. Washing machine and microwave and large fridge. Supermarket just over the road and Burger King and Starbucks! We had a little balcony and the hotel lent us an airer to dry the clothes as the tumbler drier was not brilliant. Free wifi in the room too. Although we were about 10 minutes walk from the Sky Train (Thong Lo station), the hotel had a free tuktuk for guests to use to shuttle us there. Small pool but was in the shade most of the day.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hilBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times now, the most recent of which was in December '12. We had a studio apartment which was plenty big enough for the 3 of us (2 adults and a 2 year old). The room was spotless when we walked in and was maintained to good standard throughout our stay.

The small kitchenette was useful for cooking breakfast and also simple dinners for our little girl. However, you would not be able to prepare a 'proper' meal in it. The cleaning staff washed everything up every morning, meaning we could just leave pots and pans in the sink.

The pool is very nice, although in the 'winter' months, doesn't get much sun and is quite cool. There is a small children's play room with a few toys in it which suited our girl fine.

Being on Thong Lor means that you are close to 2 good supermarkets (Tops and Villa) as well as only being a few minutes walk to some good restaurants and the BTS. There is a free tuk tuk service that will take you anywhere on Thong Lor and occasionally to Emporium too.

All in all, when we visit BKK again, we will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in November and was really pleased overall. The staff are really nice, rooms are big, modern, comfortable and clean. The BTS Skytrain station (Thonglor) is only a 5-10 minute walk away and there are a few nice restaurants nearby.

The breakfast however was terrible. Really poor selection and the quality wasn't the best either. It felt like they had bought the cheapest bread, cheapest cereals and everything seems to have been sat there for way too long. I would definatey reccomend the hotel, but maybe go for the non-breakfast option and grab something at the Starbucks across the street.

There's also a great street food stall 20-30 yards down the road to the left as you exit the hotel. The woman doesn't speak a word of english, but you get a big bowl of fresh noodles, chicken and vegetables for less than £1! Soi 38 (famous street food area) is also only a short walk away.

The hotel is a bit hidden from the main street and taxi drivers don't know it too well, so make sure you have a full address and contact number incase the driver is a bit unsure.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris_soc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews