We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, nice relaxed atmosphere.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hemlock

Hemlock
Ranked #269 of 10,626 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Banglamphu
Description: The first art restaurant in Thailand with deep Thai foods root.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, nice relaxed atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A nice little restaurant on the outskirts of the backpacker ghetto. Large menu with extensive selection of thai food including some 'ancient' recipes one would assume you'd struggle to find elsewhere. Friendly well spoken staff. Quick service and really delicious food. Would recommend the Grand Lotus stir fried rice!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    90
    25
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I made reservations for dinner and had a great experience. The service was fine and the prices were good. The leaves with mango to start were really good and different. The grilled steak with cilantro over rice with chili sauce was very good. My wife had a wide noodle with chicken(I can't remember what it was called) and it was good. We would definitely eat here again if we return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BoscU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than most in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a cozy little restaurant which fills up quickly around dinner time. Spring rolls are good but a little too sweet with the dipping sauce. The curries and stir fries are pretty good too.  Prices are reasonable for the location and atmosphere. 

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A new favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went here after a recommendation from another friend who returns to Bangkok year after year. Hemlock did not disappoint. Great food, AC, quiet, nice ambience, good selection of food, attentive satff and at good value prices. Looking forward to going back already;

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachbabyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
298 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Food was Okay, Service Terrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Four other tables were served that came in after us. We were ignored and when we finally got the attention of a waitperson (not ours who seems to have disappeared), they didn't apologize. It seemed our orders was lost, which happens, but they could have been a bit more attentive and/or apologetic. It should not take an hour to get your order.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Birdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemlock also viewed

 

Been to Hemlock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing