We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms in the heart of Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island
Ranked #15 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is located close to the Democracy Monument right in the heart of Bangkok.
The rooms are very clean, well sized and well equipped. They offer a table, minibar, bathroom, A/C, small balcony, TV, free Internet via W-LAN and even more.
The breakfast is ok (first some fruits, the some toast and finally some eggs) and friendly served till 11 a.m.
The best thing overall is the very friendly and helpful staff. Any questions and matters are taken care of! Excellent!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Campinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 482 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We chose this hotel after reading the positive reviews. The location is great if you're looking for hotels near Khaosan road. The staff was very helpful, and Sourire made us feel at home. The room we got was quite big and we regretted that we only booked it for one night. The only thing is that our driver struggled to find the hotel even though we printed the address in Thai, but was happy to call reception for directions. When we checked in they gave us a map which made life a lot easier for our taxi driver later that night. Strongly agree with users who called this place a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were looking for a hotel near Khaosan road and choose this hotel because of the good reviews. The hotel is located deeply in a yard and surrounded by another buildings, so it's quite difficult to find a from the first. WARNING! The hotel is also not far from Independence Monument where the protest action has been taking place, so it can be dangerous and just difficult to get to the hotel. It wasn't a problem of the hotel but it was very noisy till night over protesters. What is real hotel's problem is windows that are not closed tightly and you can see all sounds from a street including shouting people, working car engines. We booked deluxe room and it was spacious, with A/C that lived it's own life and bath in the bathroom, bed was hard and uncomfortable, safe for additional cost only. Breakfast is not impressive at all - omelet, plate of fruits and tea. The hotel is managed by two old ladies and they try hard but I don't understand how it could get so many positive reviews because it's closer to a hostel and for the money you can find better place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furious298484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

By time we got to the hotel it was very late. The staff was there and we were in our room within minutes. When we got to our floor we were met by someone who worked there to help us with our bags. The room was much bigger than expected!!
This hotel was absolutely beautiful!! The little gardens and fountains, were a nice touch. Breakfast in the morning was very good!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlene I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Friendly, accommodating and helpful managemeny/staff. Perfectly clean, attractive and comfortable rooms. Loved the zen-like fountains and gardens. Great breakfast. Terrific location. We're already booked in again for 2 months from now. There's also a street eatery across the road that serves some of the best Tom Yum soup and sauteed morning glory in the city!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I arrived around 3 AM after a day of travel and they were still up to greet me and get me settled. The morning breakfast is big -- eggs, bread, fruit, toast and coffee or tea -- and prepared to your preferences. The staff was friendly, helpful and fairly fluent in English. They helped me navigate the city during the 2013 protests so as to avoid traffic. One of the employees even walked me all the way to the pier and put me on the right river boat to get to my next hotel. The location is walking distance from some great sights -- The Grand Palace, Wat Pho and, if it's your thing, Khao San Raod -- The room was cozy, with a TV, phone, free (and strong!) wifi, and good AC. Would definitely recommend for a mid-budget in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in a good sized room with a bath tub. The breakfast is served. Fruit, eggs, bacon strips, toast and coffee/ tea are provided. The same selection each day.
Staff nice and helpful. Only minutes away from the usual sights.

Avoid this hotel for the day before, the day of and the day after the celebration of the King's birthday (Dec5) unless you don't mind not sleeping due to noise out on the Main Street.
Also, if protesters are out in force, they tend to congregate nearby, also making noise all night long.

Overall you get good value for your money, just be aware of the noise factor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#145 of 887 in Bangkok
1,850 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#57 of 887 in Bangkok
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#12 of 728 in Bangkok
219 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Dusit
Loog Choob Homestay
Loog Choob Homestay
#8 of 728 in Bangkok
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island

Address: 235 Rachadumnurn Ave | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $34 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island is a boutique hotel offering 38 charming rooms. Located in the heart of Bangkok's main historical attractions including Wat Phra Kaew and Wat Pho, the hotel is also just a few minutes from Khao San Road's shopping, eating and nightlife. The Sourire provides the personal touch and care which the Thai hospitality is famous for. Furnished with Thai golden teak wood, each bedroom has been individually restored to create its own charming atmosphere, combining traditional elegance with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing