We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing night ride”

Grasshopper Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.34*
and up
Bangkok Night Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover a different side of Bangkok! Grasshopper Adventures offers a wide range of cycling tours in Bangkok and the surrounding areas. Half day morning tour to historic Bangkok, a night tour to the famous temples of central Bangkok, a ride to the hidden countryside on the edge of Bangkok, canal boat & bike rides, rides with dinner and rides that take you right out of the city to the coast and floating markets. We also can take you into a Thai home for a private homecooked meal. Come along and join us.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing night ride”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just had the most amazing night tour with tic, he was very informative. We stopped at the temple of the dawn, the flower market where we tried some local street food, was really tasty too. Would recommend this company to anyone who interested in a tour of Bangkok streets and local sights. Our guide tic was very passionate about his job and he made sure we were happy with everything.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,801
    235
    39
    10
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Jhanel”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Well what a great night in Bangkok on a bike. It was a great way to see the other side of the bussling city streets. We weaved in and of the back lanes and neighborhoods crossed the river by ferry went to temples, flower markets and even got to sample some street vendor foods. The pace was easy and as I am a larger lady I coped very well. Thank you to our guide "Game" she was very informative and extreamly friendly. Thanks grasshopper adventure tours.

Helpful?
Thank jhanel65
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Night Bike Tour = Awesome”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

One of the best things we've done in Bangkok. Our tour guide (young guy - Seem, I think) was great and very safe regarding the traffic, which was minimal due to the back roads you take. Loved seeing the temples at night and w/o so many other tourists around. We've lived in BKK for a year now and it was one of the best experiences we've had. You need to be able to lift your bike and be somewhat comfortable riding one as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagnola, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Best Part of Our Bangkok Trip”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

My fiancée and I decided to take the Bangkok Countryside tour (booked one day in advance) and we both highly recommend it to anyone looking to see an awesome mix of Bangkok's side streets, backroads, and city outskirts. Seen was our guide, and he had an impressive knowledge of the city's history as well as the history of Buddhism. He also made sure we were safe at all times and took us to some really amazing temples. Note: if you haven't ridden a bike in a while, make sure to practice before this tour. While it's a mostly flat ride, there are extremely narrow paths (some uneven surfaces) and it can take at least 6 hours.

We were fortunate to have the tour to ourselves due to the 100°F temperature (unfortunate), but this made it much easier to stop and take pictures or go inside buildings that we wouldn't have been able to with a huge group. We even made friends with and were blessed by a monk! There were so many fantastic parts of this trip like seeing wild boars at a temple, feeding catfish, picking lemongrass and kafir lime leaves, watching workers install the intricate details of a new building, seeing all of the banana trees...the list goes on.

It truly was the best part of our trip to Bangkok and you're going to be hard-pressed to beat a tour with Seen. Thanks Grasshopper!

Helpful?
Thank iDontPanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great activity to see the non-touristy part of Bangkok”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our family did the 1/2 day tour "Bike Historic Bangkok". We are a Canadian family of four (with 2 kids ages 9 and 12). While we were looking forward to the tour, we were a bit hesitant of undertaking the activity once we saw the crazy traffic in Bangkok, coupled with a forecasted temperature for the day of 37 degrees Celsius. But we decided to go ahead anyway. I'm glad we did, as it was one of our highlights in our 2 weeks in Thailand.

Despite the heat, it didn't seem so bad because we were often biking down shaded alleys, plus there is a breeze generated from cycling. Other than a couple of flights of stairs to cross bridges, the terrain was perfectly flat and the cycling was easy. The bikes they provided us with were new, and seemed like high quality bikes. They took the time to make sure that everyone on the tour was properly fitted.

Along the way, there were ample pit stops for water and to sample local treats. As for the traffic concern, 95% of the tour was down back alleys and small streets. The few times we were on busier roads, the cars gave us a wide berth.

Finally, our guide Seen was fantastic. He spoke virtually perfect English, he was extremely knowledgeable, and he had a great sense of humour.

While we saw some interesting temples, for me the really interesting part was just venturing into neighborhoods of Bangkok, and local markets that most tourists would never see. Our kids had a great time too, and found the cycling easy. (The did need some help with carrying their bikes up and down the stairs.)

I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grasshopper Adventures also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Grasshopper Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing