We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No question, best Italian restaurant in Bangkok”
Review of Enoteca Italiana

Enoteca Italiana
Ranked #180 of 13,006 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $120
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Asoke
Description: Tucked away in a small alley Enoteca is the only real Italian gourmet restaurant in Bangkok. Creative, modern Italian food in a relaxed and quiet atmosphere. The biggest only Italian wine list in town with 1,400 btl. No pizza
Reviewed September 5, 2015

Having visited this restaurant on several occasions previously, when deciding on the perfect place to propose to my girl friend, Enoteca immediately came to mind. Wanting to keep it a surprise I emailed Nicola backwards and forwards planning the occasion. The evening turned out perfectly. As is expected, and always delivered, the food was amazing, teamed perfectly with a really nice wine, suggested by the staff. After discreetly slipping the ring to Nicola, it was delivered with desert in a smoke filled croque on a bed of rose petals. On cue they played "our" song then delivered two glasses of bubbly to the table and two dozen red roses.. The service was exceptional, and nothing that I requested was considered too much trouble. Everything was arranged by Nicola and his excellent team. If you are seeking excellent food, wine and atmosphere, you can not go past Enoteca

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank i_sharkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 533 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

A friend told me of this place and i went there with my girlfriend.
The ambience is perfect for couples but near us there was a big table with a group of friends having fun and enjoying wine too.
We had the 5 courses surprise menu choosed by owner/sommelier Nicola who also recommended a bottle of wine to match our food.
I am Italian and i know something about food and me and my gf were delighted by the great and very well presented food that was proposed to us.we had the onion with the braised quail and an amazing beef tartare as appetizer,home made tagliatelle with truffle,ricotta cheese and sausage and suckling pig as a main, and an original version of tiramisu that i never seen before.Nicola personally introduced every single course giving us the feeling of being VIP guests.
My gf was delighted by the food and ambience and so was I !!!
I can recognize fresh imported ingredients and can really feel the touch of a real italian chef in the kitchen.
The place,the food,the wine and the service...all spotless and the dinnere resulted memorable.

The bill was very reasonable given the overall quality.keep up the good work Nicola and staff!!
Definetely recomended and i will surely be back.

Date of visit: September 2015
1  Thank Alessandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2015

I visited this restaurant approximately 3 years ago and this review was one of my very first reviews ever in TripAdvisor. At the time I rated my experience as a 4 star but my review lacked detail and thought. I visited again this past weekend and the experience was so disappointing I had to erase my original review and start again. Let me first highlight what I liked about this dining experience -
1. It was recommended I try the fetuccine with ricotta, sausage, and black truffle and this turned out to be a 'home run'! It was absolutely delicious. I wish there were more things I tried which were of this quality.
2. Our host's name for the evening was Alex and he was an absolute delight and pleasure to meet. He personally showed off the restaurants wine cellar to me and was extremely helpful in answering all my questions. He was well informed and was always smiling and personable.

Unfortunately, the rest of the items we tried on the menu were either bland or average at best which includes the terrine, scallops, and a green pasta dish with salted fish. Next the pan seared fois gras were actually luke warm at best to taste which in my mind totally ruined the dish.

Last and certainly least were the premium wines by the glass. We tried two different whites which tasted extremely average at best. But worst were the two different premium reds by the glass which were barely edible to drink... they tasted absolutely horrible.

Next, the restaurant was very dark and empty when we arrived at 6pm and was still empty when we left at approximately 7.15pm. During that time there were 5 restaurant employees standing near our table for most of our meal and just staring at either us or outside. We found ourselves feeling uncomfortable and we whispered throughout our meal... it wasn't a festive environment at all.

Finally, the bill came which was just under 8,000 baht without ordering any main course. I felt my stomach turn (literally and figuratively) when I saw the bill. I begrudgingly paid the bill and left without word.

If you're going to pay this amount for a meal why not visit the Bangkok restaurant named Sensi and have the meal of your life !

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jazsacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotecaBangkok, Proprietario at Enoteca Italiana, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2015

Dear jazsacher
Thank you for taking time to let us know your concern about your experience at Enoteca, we take all the feedback very seriously.
In order to give always the best experience to our guest we did a very deep investigation and we found out that things went a bit different.
You visited Enoteca on Saturday 29 August at 6:00 pm
Yes the first costumer to arrive.
At 6;45 there was another table of 4 persons just next to you.
The bill was done at 7:08 pm paid with a mastercard. At the same time arrived a table of 10 persons just behind your.
The bill was of 6,725 THB, not 8,000 THb. If there was the option to attach photos I would do it.
In details
Pigeon pate ( not terrine ) 490 THB
Seascallop 690 THB
Foie gras 890 THB
Fetuccine norcina 540 THB
“Green spaghetti” ( spaghetti wilde fennel sardine and bottarga ) 590 THB
2 glasses red wine 750x2= 1500 THB
White wine 450 THB
White wine 440 THB
Water acqua panna 75 cl 150 THB
Total 5740
Vat 401
Service charge 10% 617
Toatal 6755 THB

To be precise on 29 August we had 37 costumers, 6 in the private room and 31 in the main room where we have only 9 tables.

we are very shocked about your opinion about our wine by glass offer
the two red and two white wines are great wine that nobody here in bkk serve by glass.
Here I mark only the two reds:
Brunello di montalcino 2009 Casanova di neri. 91 pts wine spectator. 93 Points Robert Parker.
Barolo Cascina nuova 2010 Elvio Cogno. 93 pts wine spectator.

The quality of these 2 wines are indisputable, but if in your opinion they was spoiled you could tell us and we would be very happy to try and in the case to change it as we always did in 11 years we are operating.

Note that we use wine fit system, a machine that use Argon gas to preserve the wine, it assure 35 days. The machine was just in front your table

I am sure was not your best night t and your perception was a bit alterate, as you gave us a good rating few years ago. We hope you will give us another possibility.
Best Regards
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2015 via mobile

Went with some friends from out of town. I suggested something different because they usually have Thai food when visiting.

We struggled to get there during rush hour (traffic there is a challenge) but the trip was well worth it. May want to consider a later reservation ... After 7 pm.. to give traffic a chance to clear a little.

Excellent food coupled with a very nice ambience make for a great place to entertain friends. The wine we selected was so delicious we had to order a second bottle.

Portions for some of the dishes were on the small side but quality was excellent.

Starters and desserts were also very special and worth a try.

My friends already want to visit again when they return to Bangkok

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank Warren6241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2015

I was at Enoteca for first time after many years here and I was just amazed. I had the 5 course and my son the grand 7 course. Chef Mark was out often to present the courses
and that just added to the whole experience. The hosts were very warm and the food started out with a great course and it just got better and better.

Capuccino Squid, Gaspacho, Lamb racks, pasta dish were all creative looking and incredibly delicious.

Can't wait to go back

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ericgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Italiana also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Enoteca Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing