We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but a bit expensive”
Review of Luxx XL

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luxx XL
Ranked #376 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but a bit expensive”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Luxx XL is indeed a nice, convenient and quiet hotel located in a nicer part of bangkok. We did have a problem with the shower but otherwise everything else was great.

The sushi restaurant was not that great and considering there were no breakfast included it was a bit expensive.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GitteHolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    134
    66
    17
    13
See reviews for
32
125
47
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

What a cool hotel! Small and tucked away but still a great location close to BTS Skytrain, CentralWorld, Lumphini Park and more. Very funky and boutique, the reception area is a cool, chilled out vibe and rooms are minimalist but chic. I had stupidly booked the wrong dates for our travel, but the staff were extremely accommodating and found us another room with no extra charge for the entire stay. Has a pool out the back with a small amount of loungers - perfect for a quick dip after a busy day exploring Bangkok city. Breakfast wasn't great and we didn't try room service but there are plenty of other restaurants/hotels on Langsuan Rd that you should try instead (including a great rooftop bar). Recommend printing the instructions to the hotel from their website for taxi drivers as it is reasonably hard to find off the main road. Had a small ant problem with food that I'd left out, so just keep everything in the fridge! Overall, a really lovely stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lambdiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights it was really really cozy. its a humble hotel in the middle of bangkok. good enough location but not near enough to the train stations. its a long walk to the centre of town but near enough for taxi. our taxi fares average about 50 to 60 baht only. the good thing is the immediate vicinity is quiet unlike in the town centre. so the location may or may not be good depending on what you want. the rates on the other hand is cheap compared to other hotels that are closer to the train stations. i could stay here for a lot longer with the same budget. the staff are extremely friendly. extremely nice and warm and helpful. they even have a front desk fluent in chinese aside from english. the facility is well maintained but there are spots that show age but i'm not complaining. the rooms are well appointed and the beds comfortable. the breakfast is limited but filling. its average. but the cook is really nice which made our every morning. the only thing i can complain about was the taxi drivers find it hard to find this hotel as was mentioned by another reviewer. but i'll stay here again next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my family in a suite, so had a living room and two bedrooms off it. Great size with baths and showers in each. Staff very good and helpful, excellent Japanese restaurant that is separate from hotel's room service but they will deliver. Inclusive buffet breakfast was good with chef there to make fresh for you.

Only gripe was, even using the hotel's direction printed off, it is hard to find the first time, even for a taxi driver with Thai instructions.

But, great value for travelers with a family.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank XuFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Love the design of this hotel! Great and quiet location. Magnificent pool, great for relaxing in a hot and busy city like Bangkok. Music a bit loud in the lobby, but not disturbing for your stay. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dandabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We originally just wanted to stay at Luxx XL for a couple of days, but ended up extending our stay for the entire 3 weeks we where in Bangkok. The rooms were minimalist but beautifully and tastefully decorated. We loved the high ceilings and the hardwood floors. The cleaning staff was friendly and did a good job maintaining the rooms. The day shift front desk staff was excellent and very attentive to our needs. The entire hotel was charming and I will stay there again upon our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Studio room. Have to say, rather shabby & worn. Blackout curtain with no sheer /liner so full view of parking area. Shower over bath tub, one has to stand directly underneath to shower, being rain shower type head, the 'arm' is too short. Failed to see why they used sliding panels as bath surround.
No international tv program, no BBC or CNN.. Only local Chanel's available.

Do not stay in the 2nd floor.. Far to noisy, guests parking for the restaurant. Gravel driveway!
No local information in room, apart from poorly presented room service menu.

Sorry, it needs some maintenance work doing on the rooms, damp smell, decorative stones had been removed from the bath tub area, leaving just concrete showing ( room 208) should you wish to replace or repair. Blackout curtains showing severe wear & tear. Reception area water damage.

Room Tip: Avoid parking area side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKKGirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#139 of 867 in Bangkok
1,541 reviews
Tenface Bangkok
#207 of 867 in Bangkok
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paragon Inn
#320 of 867 in Bangkok
666 reviews
Cape House, Bangkok
#63 of 867 in Bangkok
650 reviews
Bliston Suwan Park View
#259 of 867 in Bangkok
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxx XL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxx XL

Property: Luxx XL
Address: 82/8 Langsuan Road | Lumphinee, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#223 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxx XL 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXX XL is the Xtra Large version of the original, small boutique hotel LUXX. All LUXX XL’s guests can be certain of privacy and exclusivity, unlike those other high rise buildings, LUXX XL comprises of just 34 studio rooms and 16 suites matched with facilities such as pool by the garden and a breakfast serving restaurant. There are ample of spaces to breathe in since the common and garden area accounts more than half of the total plot of land in the property. LUXX XL offers some of the most spacious and larger hotel rooms that can usually be found in the upscale properties only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Luxx XL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxx Xl Hotel Bangkok
Luxx Xl Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing