We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sukhumvit's Best Budget Option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Padi Madi Guest House
Ranked #250 of 731 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 5, 2013

As good as you'll get value wise in Sukhumvit, at 890THB for the weekday price of a double room. The place has gone for a kind of modern decor in the rooms, it looks like it was kitted out by an Ikea employee. This isn't necessarily a bad thing when you're paying so little, but there were issues with furniture hiding some dirt or cracks etc. and curtains not quite fitting the window. We also had a slight issue whereby the previous guest had allegedly punched a hole in the wall behind where my pillow would sit. This was filled in fairly flimsily just after we arrived.

The guesthouse is located very conveniently, right next to Thong Lo station and within easy reach of all your conveniences. The staff were also extremely friendly. As you'd expect at this price, there were no elevators and it was a bit of a drag to transport heavy luggage up a lot of awkward stairs. I know from experience you won't beat this guesthouse value wise in Sukhumvit, but if you're looking for a real bargain then you ought to head to Banglamphu (Khao San). Probably the best thing about being in Sukhumvit, though, is easy access to the BTS because travel can be a nightmare in Bangkok and the skytrain does not extend to the old city.

My one complaint about Padi Madi would have to be the bathroom. Nobody in their right mind wants to see or hear anyone else unloading their bowels. And nobody wants to unload their bowels with someone else in full view, no matter how intimate you are. Why, then, does Padi Madi only have a flimsy, see through, sliding door to separate bathroom from bedroom? That Scandinavian furniture giant inspired not so counterculture gothic design didn't work so well in the bathroom, where the black painted brick just looked gloomy and dirty.

I'd recommend this place but they ought to sort out the bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 189 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed 5 nights with my two children ( 6 and 10 ) .
very good location, quiet , clean and secure. 1 minute walking from the skytrain.
Good area to dinner with a lot of choices.
We had the biggest room with two double bed.
A big up to the friendly staff.
Very good for a low price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laetitia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

+Near sky train Thong Lo station, therefore, easy to locate.
+Need to climb up a few level stairs to your room. Not handicapped friendly.
+Room door has to be slammed in order to close it, which makes your every exit very noticeable.
+CCTV is commendable.
+Card Tap out and in system is good when you are out early or back really late. super convenient.
+Bed ok for first night, skin feels itchy on second night (not very clean)
+Room seated along the road - do expect some late night traveller driving by - had many interrupted sleeps. Light sleep might suffer, unless have ear plucks.
+Air con good.
+Shower pressure isn't the best but ok.
+Toilet flushing system can only perform once a day - sadly. Suggest to flush your toilet before you sleep to avert "smelly" room.
+Safe box - good.
+No toothbrush/paste provided. Only one small soap. Bring your own.
+Counter staff ok, they can speak English.
+Plenty of food stalls available even after past 12 midnight within vicinity - you will not go hungry.

Room Tip: Room is generally ok for short stay, but do experience interrupted sleeps as the building is situate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I just stayed two nights here. This is a very good location for Thonglor road (a lot of high so night clubs) and Thonglor BTS. Pretty good place to stay, cheap and cheerful. Staff were quite friendly and helpful.The room ( I had a superior one ) is a very good size, clean with TV, fridge, free WIFI etc. Everything was fine for the price.

Room Tip: choose superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zenitude75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The best part is..this place is very easy to find and very2 near to BTS.From Hualumphong,just take the MRT and change at Asok.Very fast and convenient.The room is quite small but you get what tou pay.For the price that we pay,we have nothing to complaint.For a bigger room and better facilities,there's alot of more expensive hotels nearby.The rate is good.Tea/coffe making facility inside room.Shower is good and clean.The only problem is the the curtain or the sunshade,If you plan to wake up late..it will be a bit problem but we dont mind as we leave quite early.We took 3 rooms,no major problem.Only the a/c in 301 is not cold and we dont have much time to inform the staff.Thanks to Fred for his info and for sure he is a nice person.Thank Fred for the info.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unifiedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We choose it from recommendation of friend and we did not regret it ! Simple , good price , great location , we enjoyed our stay there .
The owner was also nice to give us good place to eat ...
The only things negative was a little bit difficult to fin the first time !

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narcisseWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A little hard to find (what exit from BTS Thong Lo was it now?). A little dry person in reception, but once in the room, I felt calmed. The bed really good, small, flat (!) TV with good reception, well built, working shower (airtight glass to room), clean, good sheets.

A real bedlamp was nice, haven't been spoiled with that before. Good AC (floor mounted, blowing upwards), responded quickly and silently to temperature settings.

Room Tip: Try to get a room faceing away from the large road outside. The traffic noise might be a bit disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarsScreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
MHC-Guesthouse
#273 of 889 in Bangkok
394 reviews
Sukhumvit
Studio Sukhumvit 18 by iCheck inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Admiral Premier Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Room@Bangkok Boutique Guesthouse
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 889 in Bangkok
8,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padi Madi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padi Madi Guest House

Address: 2/7 Sukhumvit Soi 53, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Thong Lor & Ekamai , Wattana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 731 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $25 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Padi Madi Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Padi Madi is an urban boutique guest house located in the trendy Thonglor neighborhood in the very heart of Bangkok- perfect for vacationers and business travelers alike. Our excellent location is just seconds away from BTS Thong Lo Skytrain and offers easy access to all of Bangkok's premier attractions. Surrounded by the best in dining, shopping, leisure and nightlife, Padi Madi is the perfect location for you to enjoy the wonders of Bangkok. Our creative design brings you a compliment of modern minimalist chic with elegant warmth. At Padi Madi you can escape the hustle of Bangkok city life in our stylish urban oasis. And once you're relaxed and re-engergised, you're well situated to jump back in! Come experience the intimacy and charm of Padi Madi Guest House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Padi Madi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padi Madi Guest House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing