We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveler rating
56
66
48
21
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
56
66
48
21
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 198 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

For about $30 a night, you really can't complain. You get a room, a bathroom, a TV, and free Wi-Fi. The TV was in an odd place on the wall facing the room but not the bed. The shower didn't have hot water, more like very warm water. The location was great - right next to the BTS and next to some good street food. But the big problem is this - ants. Do not leave open food in your room or ants will come in. I had to leave my food in my safe so that the ants couldn't get it. There is also no elevator, so if you are staying on floors 3 and above, you have to walk up the stairs, then through a hall, then up more stairs. Padi Madi does have nice people that work there with good service. If you are only staying for a few days and need to save money then give it a shot.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Room was ok - good aircon, ok size but no hot water (which wasn't an issue for me and my bf cus it was so hot!) and next to a main road so pretty noisy. Also the curtains are semi transparent so if u need darkness to sleep probably not for u! We were so tired so noise and light wasn't too much of a biggie. 2mins walk to thong lo train station which is very handy.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The price is decent for Bangkok (not so much SE Asia in general) and the location is right next to the BTS (Thong Lo) which is great for getting around. The hotel is also right across from a great night market on Soi 38. We went there several times for cheap, tasty, local food. Around the corner - about ten minute walk - are more shops in the small town centre of Thong Lo.

The hotel itself is pretty average, though not nearly as bad as some cheap Bangkok hotels.. you need to think with the right perspective - cheap in Bangkok can be awful, and this hotel, despite some negatives, certainly isn't awful.

The reception staff aren't very friendly (though the owner seemed nice enough), and the rooms are very small and basic. We ended up staying for 10 nights while we waited to get our Indian tourist visa granted so it was a good cheap option to hold up in Bangkok. We tried 3 separate rooms; 2 standard and 1 superior.

All had their own problems; mostly in the bathrooms. Weak water pressure, leaking water etc. The superior room certainly wasn't worth the extra money they charge (they gave us a discounted though rate as all the other rooms were booked). The noise from the nearby road was really loud in the superior room we were in, louder than the two standard rooms.. it also only had semi-transparent blinds instead of curtains, so we were woken up by light and noise around 6am. The fridge is the main addition, and a fraction more space.. but still no wardrobe for clothes or anything so it amounts to the same room really.

Something quite odd in all 3 rooms were the almost completely transparent bathroom doors (really transparent during normal lighting and basically a clear glass door at nighttime with the light on). The view from the bed is the actual toilet so you may get to know your partner or friend more than you would wish.

Free wifi was a good plus (though it did play up quite a bit) but in general when it worked it was fairly fast.

Overall it's an okay cheap pit stop in a good location - the service and rooms could easily be improved but we didn't regret stopping there, it did us fine. It's hard to get this price for the location and despite its flaws, we'd stay again if we needed a cheap option and we'd recommend it in the right situation.

Room tip: Can't recommend the Superior room from the one we stayed in - main addition is a fridge.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Killeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

When I walked in to the room, the bad smell kicked my nose suddenly and the traffic noise tickled my ears all around. I thought how am I supposed to pass this unpleasurable moment from day and night in 2 days. The room was dirty and not well-cleaned. This was a real nightmare in mid Bangkok!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kangeleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very noisy location, if you plan on sleeping in after sunrise avoid this hotel. There are many other low budget hotels in Bangkok to choose from that are not located at a very busy intersection. You have to climb several flights of stairs to get to the first level of rooms. The light beams into the windows like a flood light at the crack of dawn. The small LCD TV was positioned in a crummy location on the wall. They could have mounted it lower and centered on the wall so you could view it a bit easier from the bed but I think they did not want to spend the money for an extension cord and extra bit of coax cable. The channel line up was good. There was no cleaning service or change of towels even though the clean my room sign was posted on the door. I fixed the blinds for the hotel so they would open. On a positive note, the aircon in the room was great.

Room tip: Get a room on the first level and away from Suhkumvet unless you want a lot of exercise climbing stairs.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sfrgrwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews