We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best you can get to Thai food with gr8 ambience ”

Thon Krueng Restaurant
Ranked #683 of 15,296 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Thong Lo
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Friends decided to meet here. Was not sure initially by the name but when the food arrived it was just terrific. I had the Iced Green tea with milk, first I have tried before and is recommended. The pad Thai with fried crabs was a delight followed by steamed seabass with soya sauce. In dessert, chocolate brownie with vanilla icecream was great too. The service was good and overall you will not be disappointed at all when you try this place.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Sid_diaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 247 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

We brought family friends from abroad to this restaurant and it was a big group with young children to cater. We were seated on the first floor and the entire floor had very poor AC. Needless to say it was uncomfortable especially for the children. Our discomfort was eased a little when the food came. Food was delicious and the pad thai was among the best we have tasted so far. Having said that, we did not stay in the restaurant for long because of the heat. Please improve on the facilities.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Khunmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 3, 2016

My husband hates curry, but he gets extra rice so he can get every drop of sauce. The restaurant had to relocate and now requires a long walk from the BTS or a taxi ride. Walking isn't too bad if it's during daylight though. The restaurant also has a complimentary tuk tuk to take you to pretty much any nearby location, e.g., a BTS stop. Back to the food. The crab is soft shelled. Try the grilled pork neck. Luscious and comes with a spicy yummy sauce for dipping. Staff is efficient. You rarely have to wait. I love how they serve the beer with ice and you have your own little drinks cart nearby.

Date of visit: May 2016
2  Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 17, 2016

We go to this restaurant 2-3 times a week when in Bangkok. Huge choice and never disappointed. Traditional This food +. Good service and nice seating. Not inexpensive but reasonable prices.

Have both a/c rooms and outside. Upstairs outside is quite nice (if not too hot!).

Now located on Soi 49. Great valet parking.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

Food was amazing especially the fresh oysters and bbq pork neck. Thon Krueng is a must try restaurant if you visit bangkok.

Date of visit: March 2016
4  Thank CalvinH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Thon Krueng Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thon Krueng Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.