We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,278)
Filter reviews
4,278 results
Traveler rating
3,045
875
234
71
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,045
875
234
71
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club millesime prestige suite voila restaurant cheese room hermes toiletries bose sound system club room rooftop bar luxury room evening cocktails pillow menu platinum member corner room main restaurant nana bts excellent hotel top floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 4,278 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotels is located at an amazing location, it has a pool and spa floor, its own rooftop bar and most exceptionally the GREATEST service team, always extremely polite and helpfull.
Shout out to Charn of the consierge for all of the great help.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank VicBlanc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBKKSukhumvit, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear V.blanc ,

Thank you for your wonderful review! It’s such a pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us from the central location to the pool, spa, our rooftop bar and the fantastic service that we take pride in delivering to all our guests. I will gladly share your compliments with Charn and rest of the team.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.


Sincerely,
Oliver Schnatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room is clean, but The stoppers of bathroom sink and bath tub are broken. No TV remote control battery.The sofa was dirty... Over 10 years, I'm always staying this hotel, so I'd like you to install Washlet in Toilet.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Nobuaki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBKKSukhumvit, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Nobuaki O,

Thank you for being so loyal to Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit and for taking the time to share your experience in this platform.The most valuable feedback we receive is that of our guests, and thus we take your feedback with utmost seriousness. We have taken a very good note of all your constructive feedback and have shared with the concerned team for the improvements.

We greatly appreciate your business and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Oliver Schnatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a good business trip to Bangkok and have often stayed here. The staffs are friendly and always make me surprised. They even remember I love Thai fruits and si prepared nice fruits to welcome me.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank HLinhM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBKKSukhumvit, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear HLinh ,

Many thanks for your kind words in this platform. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience with us.

We hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Oliver Schnatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to stay in a good location. Thai staff (Om, Green and Trai) went above and beyond on a special request I had. Very professional and helpful staff. Highly recommended. I come to Bangkok on a monthly basis and will stay there moving forward.

Hotel itself is very comfortable and well appointed. 2 minutes from bts, shopping and plenty of food options in the hotel and surroundings.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank franckzamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBKKSukhumvit, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear franckzamora ,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear about your wonderful stay. We're overjoyed too that our team went above and beyond to ensure your complete satisfaction especially Om Green and Trai from our concierge team. There is nothing more rewarding than seeing our guests happy. I will share your kudos with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit next month.

Sincerely,
Oliver Schnatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bottom line: Good hotel providing a pleasant experience but not worth the bump in price we pay as compared to the nearby Four Points.

Pros: lovely environment and lobby that makes you feel like you’re in an oasis from the city the second you step in. Nice view, even from the 19th floor. Comfortable beds.

Cons: Impersonal and underwhelming for a “5 star” hotel, underwhelming for the price compared to very good 4 star or other 5 star hotels, unexpectedly pedestrian breakfast.

We stayed here for a three day weekend with breakfast deal in mid September after not having been back since an eight day stay in 2015. We booked a “Luxury room, 2 Single Beds” not the one king bed, deliberately both times. We requested the same room we had in 2015 under that category on the 26th floor, so we were hopeful but knew it wasn’t guaranteed, even though I am an Accor member.

The less-than-5-star- experience started when we pulled up in our taxi from the airport.

First, there was no one from the hotel to greet us or help with our luggage. There wasn’t even anyone to open the door for us. A person from the concierge’s desk quickly did see what was going on, and did apologize, but you know what they say about first impressions . . .

Then we got to check in. I believe the person’s name was Sai. Well, she seemed friendly and interested enough. She clearly knew that we had been there before, but she didn’t seem to have command of any of the details or really understand what we requested. She did not go over the details of what we had booked clearly. She did not even mention that we had breakfast - I had to bring up the subject after she gave us our key cards.

There was no mention of a welcome drink until AFTER we had the key cards as well, so we felt kind of rushed to have the famous welcome drink.

There was something said about a room facing one side of the hotel and we thought from what she said that it was where we had been in 2015. But then she said she had a park view room, wouldn’t that be nice? Sure. All the time we took for granted that it would be 2 singles, which is the category we booked.

We got up to the room, somewhere in the low 20’s, and it was beautiful. However, it was 1) on the same side we had been in 2015 (which must have been a park view) and 2) a KING bed. I have been in properties that charge a third of the price of this place and they never would suggest a room that was in a different category than what you booked! We were kind of dumbfounded!

We called services and told them what happened. They said someone would get back to us. We waited a few minutes and decided to go back down ourselves. When we did, no one seemed to know what we were talking about. If there was an apology, it was fairly perfunctory and it was treated like “well, let’s get you another room”. We were then told that there was one room left with 2 single beds, and it was on the 19th floor - 7 floors lower than our request. So, what room had they reserved for us before we walked into the hotel? I ask because, when we got to the room (1907)it was fine but, aside being a little disappointed about the view, the room was in worse shape than the first one. The floors were rather scuffed, the small table looked like it needed to be replaced, and there was much less sunlight.

We did not call to complain because we had been told it was the last room and we didn’t feel that they would be responsive. The room was fine for the stay - comfortable and pleasant. However, when compared to our favorite place - the nearby Four Points’ two queen bed room, the beds here are smaller the room is smaller and the level of service is much less personal and detail oriented. Other than the “how was everything” at check out (at which point I have no mind to get into details), we have never had any follow up at the Sofitel. Not what you would expect to pay these prices for.

Now for the breakfast,... the first morning was good, wonderful warm croissants and french press coffee that was a delight to have compared to other breakfasts we’ve eaten in other hotels. As for our last breakfast, the coffee had been served in cups, no french press. We asked for the french press and got it only to receive it to be weak and slightly warm. HUH!?? Plus with no smiles and apologies to have them correct it a couple of times was a little frustrating to say the least. The first thing I need in the morning is a good cup of hot, strong coffee but without the wonky service, I was not pleased.

Secondly, on our last day for breakfast,... I was already a bit bored from the selection of foods available. I usually like to stick to western breakfasts but i tried the rice porridge and was disappointed. Very bland and was actually cold. We had read about the famous Sofitel breakfast and seen pictures on TA, and so had a certain expectation. It seemed to us as if they have pared down a lot recently on the variety available. There were only a minimum number of fresh fruits out, no potatoes and no bacon out my last morning and when the bacon was out on the first day, it was rather greasy.

It seems that many of the great reviews are people who are paying the super-premium price for the Club Millesime. I am sure those customers get what they pay for. But from the point of view of people who thought they were moving up in category from a high 4 star to 5 star experience, it just wasn't worth it. I suppose the management may respond that we should have said this and that at the time. However, the response to what we did say was tepid and we feel that most of these issues should not have even occurred at a property of this level. There is nothing more frustrating than a sudden spate of "attention" after your experience is over.

Room tip: Make they get your booking correct at check in
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank andypanda652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBKKSukhumvit, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear andypanda652013,

Thank you for staying with us and for your time writing such an extensive review. It is of course disappointing to read that while some aspects of your stay were positive, we clearly fail short in regards to your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you encountered and for any inconvenience caused.

We are absolutely committed to ensuring the complete satisfaction of our guests and have shared your feedback with the departments concerned for the future improvements. We do want to ensure that every guests visit is seamless and meets our guests high expectations.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and to create a memorable visit.


Sincerely,
Oliver Schnatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews