We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor end to a nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Ranked #42 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor end to a nice stay”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

went downstairs at 6am to take hotel limo to airport happy enough with our 3 night stay only to find the concierge had not booked the limo for us and they had no back up. Very poor response from duty manager who left it to FD clerk to apologise No explanation, small apology, no offer to pay for cab, will not stay there again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear David R,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding limosine service and for the poor service you received during check out. Your feedback serve as an indicator of the area we need to work on. I have highlighted this matter to the concerning departments. We are working on the steps to prevent the future occurance. Please feel free to contact our Quality Manager at H5213-GM2@sofitel.com for your next visit and she will personally take care of your request.

Again, please accept our apologies. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back and we will certainly make it our priority to make your stay enjoyable to the end.

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,128
    684
    189
    51
    35
See reviews for
451
1,114
422
524
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in November 2012 and it was awesome. Situated within walking distance of 2 BTS stations (Asok and Nana) which makes travelling a breeze. You can even walk to Terminal 21.

Rooms were spacious and equipped with a Samsung SMART TV. Toiletries were by L'Occitane which shows how much the hotel values its guests. Beds were soft and comfy too. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shinjiono84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Shinjiono84 ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that after almost a year, you still have fond memories of the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit. It seems like you had a memorable stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the room we offered during your previous stay. Indeed our Luxury room equipped with Samsung Smart Tv and the L’occitane amenities provided. Our guest comfort and satisfaction during their stay are our highest priorities.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcome you soon.

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Warm and pleasant service. Delightful and enjoyable stay. Free standard Wi-Fi, but need to pay for higher speed.

Staff is courteous, helpful and attentive to our needs.

Convenient location near BTS station.

Room Tip: Most rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Soon W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our ambassadors are well-trained to deliver excellent service to ensure guest comfort and to exceed our guest expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit for your next visit to Bangkok.

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Sofitel Sukhumvit, and especially the staffs are so friendly.
Notable mention is Apple at the reception. She made us felt like not leaving.
The only minor objection is the noise from the BTS rails during the day.
Foods at the Breakfast buffet is fantastic.
Keep it up!

Room Tip: Shopping at Robinson and Terminal 21 is just round the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gohpengkoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Gohpengkoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the breakfast buffet we offer. Ms. Apple felt very proud while reading your positive comment regarding the high standard of service provided to you.

Thank you again for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon to our property.

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Staff are extremely courteous. Every level of the staff, the concierge, receptionist, chambermaids, are all cheerful looking and helpful. Room is big, clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast was sumptuous. it was truly a worthwhile experience and value for money. However, hotel should consider giving complimentary higher speed wifi.

Room Tip: Standard room is good enough. Of course high floor will give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Annie S,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain the quality of our service.

It was a pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed the well-designed room, the MyBed concept (which provides a good night sleep to all our guests) and the continental breakfast. Your kind words have been passed on to our team and in particular the concierge-, reception- and housekeeping team who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate them and us all to keep up the good work.

We hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again in Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at the new Sofitel Sukhumvit with my son this trip. I am through Bangkok 4 or 5 times per year and watched it going up. The lobby is very nice, quiet and peaceful compared to most hotels in the area. The pool area is lovely with plenty of lounge chairs and great service. The gym is well appointed. The rooms are very nice, new and spacious. The bathroom is compartmentalized with a tiny commode area, if you are large it may be an issue. I bumped my head a few times and I am 5'8, 155lbs. The bedding is great but the beds run on the firm side for a western taste although we slept very well.
The service staff is very attentive and pleasant. I did not try the restaurants but will next time.
Overall very good with a few caveats.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mark M,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience regarding your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I hope your son and you had an enjoyable stay with us during your recent visit. We are glad to hear that you manage to make full use of the hotel facilities. I am sorry to hear that you hurt yourself in the bathroom during your recent stay and that you did not have a chance to dine in our Food and Beverage outlet.

Thank you again for your comment. We look forward to welcome you back at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit for your next visit to Bangkok.

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#16 of 866 in Bangkok
4,132 reviews
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
The Westin Grande Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sukhumvit
Four Points By Sheraton Bangkok, Sukhumvit 15
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#54 of 866 in Bangkok
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit

Property: Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Address: 189 Sukhumvit Road Soi 13-15 | Klongtoey Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is centrally located on Sukhumvit road. It is surrounded by major business, shopping and entertainment venues, a short walking distance to Asoke or Nana BTS (skytrain) and MRT Sukhumvit (subway) stations. The luxurious 5-star Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit hotel features a 23-meter (75-foot) outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour gym and Le SPA with L'Occitane. Along with free Wi-Fi, the hotel, also kid friendly, has 24-hour room service and free parking. Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is located 2 miles from Lumpinee Boxing Stadium, 2 miles from Jim Thompson House, 3 miles from the Thai National Museum and 16 miles from Suvarnabhumi International Airport. The exclusive Le SPA with L'Occitane features a hydrotherapy bath, sauna facilities and relaxing massage services. The hotel also provides a business center, tour desk and laundry services. Sunday brunch, buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as international dishes can be enjoyed at Voilà Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit. The stunning rooftop Bar and Restaurant, L'Appart, offers refined French cuisine and beautiful Bangkok views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing