We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel in central position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Ranked #43 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“excellent hotel in central position”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights from 12/5/2013 in a club room. Arrived at hotel at 6.45am and was pleased to be checked in by 8am, leaving the rest of the day to explore and went on the Rice barge river trip. I would recommend to upgrade to include the club facilities as this gives afternoon tea, canapes and complimentary drinks from 5-7. Hotel is in a good position for transport as near skytrain station and close to underground stop. Thanks to Ben and the wonderful staff at Sofitel who made my first trip to Bangkok a memorable one.

Room Tip: always upgrade to a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pompeygirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear pompeygirl65,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such as enthusiastic review about your stay at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

We are glad you enjoyed the Club Millesime privileges. We are delighted to hear such great words about our Ambassadors.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,132
    686
    190
    52
    35
See reviews for
456
1,114
424
524
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have Accor Advantage Plus Silver Member ,Stay a free night and use the coupon to upgrade at Club Room. My bulter is Ms.Natthaya,she is nice smile and good service bulter.
The Club Millesime Lounge at 31/Floor,they have Coffee ,tea,mineral water and soft drinks throughout the day.Complimentary Breakfast~Afternoon Teas between at 14:00 to 16:00 and Evening Millesime Cocktails at 17:00 to 19:00 with free flow drinks including wine and cocktails.
Excellent the Room have Smart TV ,seeing youtube~facebook....
But the room have no welcome fruits platter,and no evening turn down srevice.
I go to Viola Restaurant try the seafood is better before ,but Saturday try to come back the Viola Seafood Dinner, the seafood is not fresh and good,at the night malady three times.Hope to improve the Viola the seafood.That night use the Restaurant I-PAD write the comment already,but not any reply.
But I think next Year I must come back to Sofitel ,I hope next time have a wonderful journey at Sofitel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank LindaAccorMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear LindaAccorMember,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

We are glad you had a good stay and enjoyed the service offered from Ms. Natthaya. However we are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We regret that you got sick from having the seafood which was not fresh; please accept our sincerest apologies. I can assure you that is not what we are recognized for. I have requested that our Chef review the seafood quality and freshness.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Sofitel Bangkok, on Sukhumvit, five minutes walk from the Nana station is a luxurious hotel that one can afford if the intention is to combine luxury, reliability, and excellent manners. A hotel of this standard would charge at least between US 500 and 700 for a standard room anywhere in the USA. But you pay only about $ 250 and enjoy yourself in Bangkok. I especially recommend the hotel for executives who look for a comfortable and stylish hotel but at the same time don't want to waste money. The staff are extremely friendly, and the services are simply excellent. It's one of the newest hotels in Sukhumvit that has a bright and long future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pris0ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Pris0ner,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review provided to Trip Advisor regarding your stay at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

We are delighted to hear you appreciated the friendly and helpful service we are offering to our guests. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel location. Indeed it is very convenient to discover Bangkok as we are just a few minutes walk to skytrain and to underground transportation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had a great, comfortable stay here. Rooms are nice, food is excellent and location is so convenient, near sky train and department stores. New hotel with good service. Fast check in and check out. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Jake X,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice comment about your recent stay at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We went for the buffet lunch at Voila last month, most of the buffet was Thai food and quite spicy (and I do eat spicy), the salad corner was alright, we enjoyed the seafood (especially after we asked if they were going to replenish it, and they did), the hot french food was a deception, tasteless and without inspiration, and I strongly suspect them to use MSG as we were feeling SO thirsty the rest of the afternoon...
The pizza counter is hidden on the other side and barely noticeable, the cheese counter is in the cellar and is looking good but not replenished what so ever, and it is the place you'll find some decent bread, forget about the crapy rolls they put on the table...
The desserts are not looking good, a lot of modern pastry painted with bright color cocoa butter, rather appalling, I liked the Ice cream tourniquet, sorry the sorbet tourniquet, 10 kind of sorbets for 2 ice cream, the quality were overall just so so...

I am sorry to say that for a 1000 baht/ pax, I was expecting to enjoy more than overall so so...

Service was pretty much okay, some staff were very good, some others just have no idea what they are doing...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimookaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Pimookaw,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback following your visit at Voila restaurant.

I am sorry that your experience at Voila lunch buffet did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.To reach a great guest experience is a must for us and at every Sofitel around the world, and we work very hard for it, we believe that having the chance to know what you have experienced is the best tool we can have to improve and like this reach our promises. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and improve the guest experience.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kupang, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Had two free nights using Accor Advantage Plus free nights. And because I was a Gold Le Club member, I was upgraded to Executive Club Room with Club Lounge privileges. Upon arrival, we were escorted to Club Floor for personalised check-in. While they prepare our docs, we were served welcomed drinks and snacks. It was during their afternoon tea time, so there were plenty of delicious cakes, mini burgers, sandwiches, cookies n fruits. We were introduced to our personal butler, Som. A friendly lady who just wanted to do everything for us. Her favorite sayings, "Don't worry, I take care of you.." with a big smile! After we had enough, she escorted us to our room and explained everything in the room, what we get as club guests and gave us a number to reach her should we need anything. They had welcome fruits in the room as well! As club guests, we have the options to have breakfast at club floor or at viola restaurants with everyone else. We were there two days, so we tried both. Voila definitely has more choices, but service was better at club floor. From 5-7PM we spent our time lounging at the club floor. With free flow drinks including wine and cocktails, who could resist? The food was also excellent. In fact, after that, we were quite full, we did not have dinner anymore. One night, we tried their bar, sitting outdoor, the view was amazing! Not as high as Vertigo at Banyan Tree, but still beautiful city view. Enough with gastro review, now on to the room. As explained by everyone else, luxurious room, amenities and gadgets all around. Had the best sleep in months. The Hermes toiletries was also top class! Definitely a Luxury Hotel. I also love Banyan Tree, but i think next time i will come back to Sofitel because of its location. Terminal 21, the newest shopping mall, was just steps away. Lots of shops, restaurants and cafes around the hotel. Surely the winner!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Lindy196,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review provided to Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

We are delighted to hear you appreciated the unique attention from Som your personal butler. We are glad you enjoyed Club Millesime privileges, room facilities and the view from the terrace of L'Appart restaurant and bar.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked into the Sofitel and loved it. The "club room" was great and we had the use of the lounge on the "club floor" which served tea, coffee and sweets all day. They also had before dinner cocktails and good quality wines by the glass. Everything was top notch. Breakfast was a buffet extravaganza and not lacking in anything. The swimming pool and fitness center were also excellent. All of this and a great location between Nana and Asoke Skytrain stations.
I would return happily. I think it offers good value compared to what's out there in Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankeefan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear asiancanuck083,

Thank you very much for sharing this lovely comment regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

We are delighted to hear such positive words regarding your experience with us. We are glad that you loved our Club Millesime privileges, all hotel facilities and our convenient location.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#17 of 867 in Bangkok
4,146 reviews
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
The Westin Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Four Points By Sheraton Bangkok, Sukhumvit 15
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#54 of 867 in Bangkok
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit

Property: Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Address: 189 Sukhumvit Road Soi 13-15 | Klongtoey Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is centrally located on Sukhumvit road. It is surrounded by major business, shopping and entertainment venues, a short walking distance to Asoke or Nana BTS (skytrain) and MRT Sukhumvit (subway) stations. The luxurious 5-star Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit hotel features a 23-meter (75-foot) outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour gym and Le SPA with L'Occitane. Along with free Wi-Fi, the hotel, also kid friendly, has 24-hour room service and free parking. Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is located 2 miles from Lumpinee Boxing Stadium, 2 miles from Jim Thompson House, 3 miles from the Thai National Museum and 16 miles from Suvarnabhumi International Airport. The exclusive Le SPA with L'Occitane features a hydrotherapy bath, sauna facilities and relaxing massage services. The hotel also provides a business center, tour desk and laundry services. Sunday brunch, buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as international dishes can be enjoyed at Voilà Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit. The stunning rooftop Bar and Restaurant, L'Appart, offers refined French cuisine and beautiful Bangkok views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing