We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Ranked #42 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed three nights at this lovely new property, which was only opened in late March. The lobby, restaurants and rooms are all beautifully decorated; the room was spacious, with a large bathroom, great views, HD TV, and nice amenities. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and exactly what you would expect in a 5-star hotel. It all feels very luxurious and indulgent, but in a modern and comfortable way. I really liked the little touches like plunger coffee in your room, plenty of complimentary water, and the L'Occitane products. The breakfast was good - plenty of choices and plunger coffee too (no mass-brewed stuff). I ate at L'Appart Restaurant twice; the food was excellent, the concept interesting (apartment-style with open kitchen) though I think the staff are still learning (I'm happy to overlook this, given how new it is). The location is great - 5 mins walking distance to both Asoke and Nana BTS stations, and the same to the new Terminal 21 Mall. Overall, a great hotel, lovely rooms, friendly and helpful staff, and fantatic location. I'm already booked to go back twice in the coming months.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay_BKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Jay_BKK,

We were thrilled with your five-star review of our hotel. However, please allow our apologies for the late reply.

It was a delight to read you appreciated the hotel’s atmosphere, the convenient guestrooms with luxury amenities and the friendly ambassadors who do their upmost to provide every guest a Maqnifique stay at Sofitel.

I would like to end by saying it was a pleasure to serve you at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,108
    677
    186
    50
    34
See reviews for
445
1,103
414
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

A colleague and I recently stayed at the Sofitel for a work trip. Unfortunately after a night of shopping my colleagues bag was snatched by two people riding by on a motorbike. Her bag contained her passport amongst other valuables. Upon our arrival back to the hotel Mr Somboon Chua was AMAZING!! He helped with internet access, provided a security guard to take us to the police station (which as two girls alone in strange city was hugely helpful) and he continued to help throughout our stay. We would like to say a BIG THANK YOU to Mr Somboon Chua and the entire team at the Sofitel for helping out with our every needs. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHRAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear AHRAustralia,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on our hotel. We hope you would accept our apologies for the late reply on your review.

It is with sincere regret to read about the incident you had to face with your stolen bag. However, it is a pleasure to read how much you appreciated the service of Mr. Somboon and the rest of our staff.

Your kind words will be passed on to Mr. Soomboon. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of the staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

5 star by all measure-location, rooms, facilities, swimmingpool, bar/club, bathroom, entertainment and staff although theres a few faults.

I stayed in one of the suite (Prestige Suite). It has separate lounge/office and bed room, spacious bathroom. While the facilities are excellent, i think theres too much corridoors between the room, and from the room to the door, which made it less cosy in my opinion and the closet is rather cramped and small. Theres only one place for one luggage, the rest you have to put it somewhere around the corner!

State of the art TV, Internet and communication system is too confusing to use (perhaps too advanced for average user). I wonder how many people really connect their PC to a giant flat screen TV? I couldnt get the volume on the TV in the lounge room throughout my stay. The office chair has four legs which means it is stationary and cant move around or adjust after sitting down. Please change the chair with a chair that can either swivel or roll.

The bathroom is huge and the Hermes toiletries made it luxurious, however the TV in the batroom is useless as it has reflective stainless steel like screen which cannot be seen while having a bath. It is located too high.

Breakfast at Club Millesime was great with lots of choices, even with ultra fresh honey from honeycomb!

Staffs were friendly, but upon check out they tried to bill me with DCC (Dynamic currency conversion) without asking me first, I told him to reverse the transaction and charge the bill in Thai Baht. This way I saved nearly 1% in currency exchange rates. The rule of thumb is ALWAYS REFUSE DCC (Dynamic currency conversion) or billing in your own currency.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BentleySpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear BentleySpur,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback about Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit. We hope you would accept our apologies for the late reply on your review.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the peaceful pool side, state-of-the-art equipment and the in-room amenities.

However, I am sorry to read that you had to face some difficulties with the room equipment. We will certainly look into this issue.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope we will be able to welcome you as well at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Had high expectations for this hotel, I wasn't disappointed in anyway. Service was amazing from start to finish. The reception even helped me solve some issue I had when waiting for the shuttle to go to the airport. they called the agency and helped me sort it out in no time. The pool and fitness centre look great even though I had no time to take advantage of it. The restaurant on the 2nd floor was very good. For those deeply attached to european food, there is also a nice choice of typical western food. Staff was friendly and helpful, view from the room was great, the smart TV takes a little geting used to but once you've figured out how it works, it turns out to be a treat. As for the location, this hotel is an excellent choice for all the shopaholics out there. It is located 5 minutes from teminal 21 a brand new mall, and if you turn right at hotel entrance and take the clean and efficient BTS at Nana station, you're only 3 stops aways from the other malls bangkok has to offer. So yeah, I would highly recommend this hotel, one of the best I've stayed at for sure!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beautifullydepressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Beautifulludepressed,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain the quality of our service. We hope you would accept our apologies for the late reply on your review.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the peaceful poolside, state-of-the-art gym, convenient location and our outstanding ambassadors who do their upmost to provide a Maqnifique stay to all of our guests.

May I end by saying that it was a pleasure to serve you and we look forward welcoming you back to Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The Property is locating in the Central City which is surrounded with Restaurant, Shopping Mall, Bars .. Perfect fit for Business Traveller and the Leisure Traveller who love to have everything close. The Room Equipped with the Latest TV and Good Guest Enetertainment System, the Hi-Tech people would love it. It is a waste of Energy to have to leave the Key Card on and have no where to switch off the Light before leaving the room. The Bed is too high for an Asian Person but Good Selection of Amenity is a compensate. Highly recommend for the Lunch Buffet, I was impressed by the Cheese Room.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank a_sodapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear a_sodapop,

May I begin by apologizing for my late reply. I would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed the convenient location, state-of-the-art in-room equipment, the luxurious amenities and the one-of-a-kind cheese room situated in the Voila! restaurant on the 2nd floor.

Thank you for your review and we are looking forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We just returned from a weekend in Bangkok at the newly opened Sofitel Sukhumvit. Location is perfect for shopping and aesthetically it is absolutely outstanding - lobby, pool, spa area were wonderfully designed. Even in the rooms (we splurged for a Club room), the state of the art entertainment system, smart tv etc were incredible and we hooked up our Iphones to the Bose system.

Problems begin when you go a little deeper - since we were on a high floor the water pressure for showers was pitiful. We also had to wait about 20 mins before any hot water came through for showers, bath, sink. Everytime we wanted to take a shower/bath. This was surprising for a 5 star hotel which cost quite a lot. Twice the lights went out and a technician had to come in to replace the fuse. Housekeeping was poor as well (our room was not made up in the evening even though the light was put on for about 4 hours when we were out requesting make up room). There were also communication problems with housekeeping because they simply did not understand English. Since we were in a Club room, we made use of the 31st floor club floor for tea, cocktails between 5-7pm and a place just to chill out after a day's shopping. Service up there was good and this actually saved what would have been a very disappointing trip.

Breakfast was quite sad also - don't understand it. Eggs would come cold, they would forget our order and again communication was an issue as we had to point alot of the time. Plus selection was average I would say. We stayed at the Peninsula at Christmas time and this hotel is a very long way off that type of hospitality and quality of food.

All that said, the staff did try their best (at least the ones that could understand us!) and I suppose alot of the structural problems were not theirs. But I would give it another 6 months before all these issues are ironed out. In that way I felt that I was a bit cheated given that I had read some solid reviews of this place before booking.

Room Tip: Club room or bust
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ratio3533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Ratio3533,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We regret that you had some issues with water and light in the room and recieved such poor communication. This is not a reflection of our normal standard. I have requested that our head of engineering institute a review of mechanical & electrical system of the high floors and that our Human Resources department institute a review of English training.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality, superb service and make you enjoy a true Sofitel experience.

Sincerely,
Manasnarth Boonyong (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 861 in Bangkok
4,064 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
The Westin Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Four Points By Sheraton Bangkok, Sukhumvit 15
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#54 of 861 in Bangkok
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit

Property: Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Address: 189 Sukhumvit Road Soi 13-15 | Klongtoey Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is centrally located on Sukhumvit road. It is surrounded by major business, shopping and entertainment venues, a short walking distance to Asoke or Nana BTS (skytrain) and MRT Sukhumvit (subway) stations. The luxurious 5-star Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit hotel features a 23-meter (75-foot) outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour gym and Le SPA with L'Occitane. Along with free Wi-Fi, the hotel, also kid friendly, has 24-hour room service and free parking. Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is located 2 miles from Lumpinee Boxing Stadium, 2 miles from Jim Thompson House, 3 miles from the Thai National Museum and 16 miles from Suvarnabhumi International Airport. The exclusive Le SPA with L'Occitane features a hydrotherapy bath, sauna facilities and relaxing massage services. The hotel also provides a business center, tour desk and laundry services. Sunday brunch, buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as international dishes can be enjoyed at Voilà Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit. The stunning rooftop Bar and Restaurant, L'Appart, offers refined French cuisine and beautiful Bangkok views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing