We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Quality Hotel from Sofitel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Ranked #41 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,088
    669
    184
    50
    34
See reviews for
441
1,093
410
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The Property is locating in the Central City which is surrounded with Restaurant, Shopping Mall, Bars .. Perfect fit for Business Traveller and the Leisure Traveller who love to have everything close. The Room Equipped with the Latest TV and Good Guest Enetertainment System, the Hi-Tech people would love it. It is a waste of Energy to have to leave the Key Card on and have no where to switch off the Light before leaving the room. The Bed is too high for an Asian Person but Good Selection of Amenity is a compensate. Highly recommend for the Lunch Buffet, I was impressed by the Cheese Room.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank a_sodapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear a_sodapop,

May I begin by apologizing for my late reply. I would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed the convenient location, state-of-the-art in-room equipment, the luxurious amenities and the one-of-a-kind cheese room situated in the Voila! restaurant on the 2nd floor.

Thank you for your review and we are looking forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We just returned from a weekend in Bangkok at the newly opened Sofitel Sukhumvit. Location is perfect for shopping and aesthetically it is absolutely outstanding - lobby, pool, spa area were wonderfully designed. Even in the rooms (we splurged for a Club room), the state of the art entertainment system, smart tv etc were incredible and we hooked up our Iphones to the Bose system.

Problems begin when you go a little deeper - since we were on a high floor the water pressure for showers was pitiful. We also had to wait about 20 mins before any hot water came through for showers, bath, sink. Everytime we wanted to take a shower/bath. This was surprising for a 5 star hotel which cost quite a lot. Twice the lights went out and a technician had to come in to replace the fuse. Housekeeping was poor as well (our room was not made up in the evening even though the light was put on for about 4 hours when we were out requesting make up room). There were also communication problems with housekeeping because they simply did not understand English. Since we were in a Club room, we made use of the 31st floor club floor for tea, cocktails between 5-7pm and a place just to chill out after a day's shopping. Service up there was good and this actually saved what would have been a very disappointing trip.

Breakfast was quite sad also - don't understand it. Eggs would come cold, they would forget our order and again communication was an issue as we had to point alot of the time. Plus selection was average I would say. We stayed at the Peninsula at Christmas time and this hotel is a very long way off that type of hospitality and quality of food.

All that said, the staff did try their best (at least the ones that could understand us!) and I suppose alot of the structural problems were not theirs. But I would give it another 6 months before all these issues are ironed out. In that way I felt that I was a bit cheated given that I had read some solid reviews of this place before booking.

Room Tip: Club room or bust
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ratio3533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Ratio3533,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We regret that you had some issues with water and light in the room and recieved such poor communication. This is not a reflection of our normal standard. I have requested that our head of engineering institute a review of mechanical & electrical system of the high floors and that our Human Resources department institute a review of English training.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality, superb service and make you enjoy a true Sofitel experience.

Sincerely,
Manasnarth Boonyong (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The hotel just opened a couple weeks before i arrived. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms have separate shower. Great hotel. Had some service issues like: laundry took 2 days to return, breakfast was a bit unorganized, club floor lounge very unorganized but overall excellent hotel in downtown bangkok. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asiatraveler1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear asiatraveler1964,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on our hotel. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain the quality of our service. We hope you would accept our apologies for the late reply on your review.

It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our level of service. We will work on the organizational structure and the laundry service speed. We truly hope you will give us another chance to show you that we certainly have improved our level of service during the past year.

We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the spacious rooms and convenient location.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

i thank the staff of sofitel. especially Ms. Sutasinee Boonprasaphai who helped me .
I took a local sim from TRUE MOVE and as usual topped it up from a 7 /11 . they did load my account by a 100 bhatt but completely useless as it was credited under some other facility that they provided and not the talk time. Whole evening the hotel staff tried their best to retrive it, it was Ms. Sutasinee Boonprasapha who spoke to the service provider for over an hour and got this resolved.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivekchin0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear vivekchin0y,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on our hotel. We hope you would accept our apologies for the late reply on your review.

We are sorry you had simcard trouble, however it was nice to read that you appreciated the service of Ms. Sutasinee and the rest of our staff.
Your kind words have been passed to Ms. Sutasinee who made your stay a memorable one. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
I would like to end by saying that I was a pleasure to serve you at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I am a Sunday Brunch junkie and have eaten at most five star hotels in Bangkok, most of which offer truly excellent brunches at great value.

So it was with joyful anticipation that my friends and I booked for Sunday Brunch at Voila, the restaurant of the new Sofitel.

As well as being a Brunch junkie, I also adore champagne. My favourite haunt for years was the Intercontinental where unlimited gveuve cliquot was on tap. Alas, the price recently shot up to a ridiculous level.. So when Voila offered free flow excellent brand champagne and brunch for ThB3300 nett, my friends and I did not hesitate (even less if you hold an A Club card).
Our initial impression was not the best. We had booked a week earlier and our table was ready...but the young lady checking bookings and escorting diners to their tables was a solo act and it took us over 10 minutes to be seated....and another 10 minutes to sip the first of what would become many glasses.

Well after that the blood pressure went down and the contentment level went up. The restaurant is charming, the selection of food so fresh and comprehensive (alas no caviare!). There was a magnificent cheese room, a lovely pizza oven and attentive young staff (albeit a little nervous). We were impressed when one of the charming French managers introduced himself and took note of our minor gripes. It was a learning curve for a lot of the staff and things will surely get better.

The afternoon was complemented by the unobtrusive music from a lovely jazz quartet and before long....the four hours (yes...four long hours the brunch and free flow last) seemed a mere 30 minutes.

But it was tres magnifique and assuredly we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donalddaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear donalddaniels,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback. It is encouraging as guest satisfaction is our primary concern. We hope you would accept our apologies for the late reply on your review.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed the well-known Sunday Brunch at Voila! restaurant. However we are sorry to read you had to wait for a long time to be seated and or served. This does not in any way reflect our usual level of service and we truly hope you will give us another chance to show you that we certainly have improved our level of service during the past year.

May I end by saying that it was a pleasure to serve you and we look forward welcoming you back at the Sunday Brunch at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
256 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit in early April. Since the hotel had been open only a week or two, we were expecting teething problems (which we would forgive since this is what you could expect from a newly opened hotel). However, to our surprise our stay at the hotel was wonderful and we did not experience any mistakes from the staff or the hardware of the hotel.

We stayed in a Executive Club room and the service from check-in to our departure was perfect with immaculate service, nothing was too much trouble. I have great experiences from other Sofitel hotels around the world and this new hotel is not an exemption. Sofitel Sukhumvit Bangkok is one of our new favorite hotels in Bangkok and we will definitely come back!

Do not miss the small park opposite the hotel called the 'Chuvit Garden'. It is nice for a short walk in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank suntrip62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Suntrip 62,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel.
Since the hotel open we try and provide the best service we can as we do it with our heart for guests to have mostly enjoyable and memorable experience with us.
Our utmost reward is to hear delighted guests speaking about their stays at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.
I thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Manasnarth Boonyong (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 858 in Bangkok
4,018 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
The Westin Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Four Points By Sheraton Bangkok, Sukhumvit 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit

Property: Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Address: 189 Sukhumvit Road Soi 13-15 | Klongtoey Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is centrally located on Sukhumvit road. It is surrounded by major business, shopping and entertainment venues, a short walking distance to Asoke or Nana BTS (skytrain) and MRT Sukhumvit (subway) stations. The luxurious 5-star Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit hotel features a 23-meter (75-foot) outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour gym and Le SPA with L'Occitane. Along with free Wi-Fi, the hotel, also kid friendly, has 24-hour room service and free parking. Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is located 2 miles from Lumpinee Boxing Stadium, 2 miles from Jim Thompson House, 3 miles from the Thai National Museum and 16 miles from Suvarnabhumi International Airport. The exclusive Le SPA with L'Occitane features a hydrotherapy bath, sauna facilities and relaxing massage services. The hotel also provides a business center, tour desk and laundry services. Sunday brunch, buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as international dishes can be enjoyed at Voilà Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit. The stunning rooftop Bar and Restaurant, L'Appart, offers refined French cuisine and beautiful Bangkok views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing