We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location away from the chaos”
Review of Sam Sen Sam Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sam Sen Sam Place
Ranked #32 of 628 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quiet location away from the chaos”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The previous reviews about the friendliness of the staff are true. They are more than happy to answer any questions that you might have and to book onward travel etc.

We had a double room with a shared shower. As we stayed during the low season we didn't have to wait for the shower or toilet, but it might be different for travellers during peak periods as it seems that there are two toilets and two showers for 5 double rooms. The facilities are clean and are well maintained. Breakfast was included in our stay. It's a simple breakfast, with three options. We had toasts and a selection of fruits every morning.  

The accommodation is conveniently located. The taxi from the airport was less than 400 baht and the taxi to the station is was less than 100 B. There is a 7eleven at the end of the road and it is 10 minutes walk (via the back alleys) to Th Khao San and the ferry pier.

This hostel is ideal for couples or for groups looking for a quiet getaway from the hectic nature of Bangkok. I wouldn't recommend it for people travelling by themselves and looking to meet others.

A few words of caution to travellers to Bangkok: in taxis always insist on the meter and don't listen to anyone that tells you where you are going is closed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor towards the back of the accomodation are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cluelessduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    125
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
162
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Generally the staff were very friendly, the place was clean, and the location is pretty good; a few minutes walk from the main road and Khao San, so it's quiet at night without being remote, and there's a 7-11 at the end of the street. The breakfast choices were all nice, and we were very happy with the freshness. Our only issue was that staff seemed to have had a mix up with their bookings, and after being placed in a very nice twin room with a fridge and a hot-shower ensuite, we were moved (after one night) to a different room, with no fridge and no hot water! The room was right at the back of the establishment, through the staff quarters and the kitchen, through a door that was clearly marked for customers "do not enter". The second room was okay, but it was obviously less attractive and less comfortable, which was frustrating. Aside from this the staff were very friendly and offered good advice, but for this upheaval I will be rating the "service" slightly lower for our trip.

Room Tip: Try for a room named after fruit - our first was the "banana" room - avoid room 9 (not ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _missmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We arrived late at night and were greeted very warmly. Breakfast was tasty and the common areas very clean and cosy. Cute garden, comfortable room. Location is walking distance to markets, river ferry and many restaurants. A good base for our first time in Bangkok. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. We recommended this for comfort and affordability

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The location is great, 10 minute walk to Khao San (backpacker area) so you can still have a good night rest ;) The staff is very friendly, always smiling, happy to give you advice when you ask for it. To our surprise, breakfast was included which was lovely! (fresh fruit/coffee/tea/toast/cereals) And they also offer a few tours and airport transfer if you need it. Everything was clean, shower was comfortable and the room was also great. All in all, if I ever have to stay in Bangkok again, I will come back to this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariska R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemnitz, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A very nice guesthouse in walking distance to Khao San Road. The Staff was incredebly helpful and nice and spoke english quite good. We stayed in a double room which was very clean even though quite small. The shared bathroom was incredibly clean( probably the cleanest in Asia :P) It offered everything we asked for. We even were able to store our luggage for 3 weeks when we were traveling through Thailand.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominicLindner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff were all very friendly except for one lady who was incredibly rude and treated me like a child, screaming out my name when I didn't pay for internet acces the moment I left my seat; she completely freaked out at me in front of other guests and treated me as if I were her naughty grandson. My friend and I were perplexed as to why she had to treat her customers (me) so badly. Our stay was overall fine, we do not mind the fees placed everywhere for food, internet and laundry, but some of the staff at Sam Sen Sam Place should treat their guests with respect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a great time at Sam Sen Sen. Although we didn't had air-conditioning in our room, it was doable with two fans. All the employees are all very friendly and helpful.
The common areas are clean and neat. You've got three choices for breakfast and that was quite good. The wifi is fast, if you're in the right place, in our room it was a bit less. Overall a good experience and we would visit again! :-)

Room Tip: If you want wifi, as close as possible to the common area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JelskeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#315 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#47 of 628 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Once In Bangkok Guesthouse
Once In Bangkok Guesthouse
#48 of 628 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Banglamphu
Viman Guesthouse
Viman Guesthouse
#96 of 628 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Banglamphu
Green House BKK
Green House BKK
#58 of 628 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Sen Sam Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Sen Sam Place

Property: Sam Sen Sam Place
Address: 48 Samsen Rd., Soi Samsen 3 | Banglumpoo, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 628 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sam Sen Sam Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sam Sen Sam Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sam Sen Sam Place Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing