We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, best we've experienced in BKK!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #25 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Ladya
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great stay, best we've experienced in BKK!”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights with my 3 children, booked ourselves into the 2 bedroom suite with river view (worth the upgrade, fantastic view!). Very spacious suite, 2 bathrooms (one with a bath) of which the biggest one is connected directly to the master bedroom. Big living area with comfortable sofa and big flat-screen TV and DVD/CD player. Kitchen with microwave, fridge, ideal with kids! Living has one big glass door/window so you can enjoy the view on the river from your sofa, fantastic! Spacious balcony with chairs so you can also enjoy sitting outside. Both bedrooms also have a big window so you can fully enjoy the view from all rooms. Used the WIFI in room with our I-pad, first I didn't get a good connection, signal wasn't strong enough, but after a call a technician came and fixed it, good service! Cost 321 bath for 24 hrs so reasonably priced.

Big pool area with separate paddle pool for the kids and a jacuzzi pool. Even from the pool you can enjoy the view over the river. Pool towels are provided and you can find plenty of cozy seats with umbrella's and sunbeds everywhere.

Breakfast buffet had plenty of choice for everybody, nice breads, cheeses, sweet pastry, Asian food, pancakes, fruit, salad's, yogurt ect. Good quality food and nice and friendly staff. Staff in general were friendly and helpful and also the cleaning staff did a good job, always came back after a day out in a nice clean room.

Location was great as well, on the property you can find a 7-eleven, a Starbucks, a beauty salon, a ice cream shop and a nice spa. For the kids there was a nice play area back into the garden. Shuttle boat to the BTS go's every 15 minutes so you never have to wait long, lot of fun being in the boat on the river and in 5 minutes you're there. Once you're on the sky train you can go anywhere you want within a short time, ideal! OK, in the area off the hotel grounds there's not much there but what do you need, BTS within reach, the hotel has great restaurants as well (tried the Chinese restaurant on the 36th floor and a buffet on the 1st, both good food) and for some nice coffee of a snack you can go to 7-eleven/Starbucks.

The only small comment I have is we had to wait 15 minutes after we checked in for the luggage to come, bit slow but after a call it was there in a minute.

Great value for money this hotel, will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eefladya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,528
    2,003
    354
    69
    33
See reviews for
2,063
3,627
467
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2011

The Chatrium Suites is still in our view a good choice for a stay in Bangkok. For us, far more pleasant to stay out by the Riverside and away from the pollution of the city centre. It only takes about 40 minutes by Chatrium’s Free Shuttle Boat and then Skytrain to Siam Square for example and out of rush hour easy, quick and not expensive by cab. The staff are very warm and welcoming from the moment of arrival . There seems to be a genuine will to make your stay a good one. Always a ready warm smile, that does goes to the eyes.
The Hotel is not opulent as some other Bangkok Riverside Hotels, but then that is not reflected in the Bill .It is however stylish and elegant in it’s own way. The lobby area is very spacious and welcoming wonderful aircon . We booked a 1 bed suite overlooking the river and at end of a day when my partner has assaulted the credit card it is just so relaxing to sit on the balcony with a beer and watch the boats go by. The rooms are large-very well maintained and comfortably furnished. A chair and sofa in the lounge along with a table to write or work on if wanted. Good fast reliable internet connection. A decent sized Kitchen area with a full sized fridge/freezer ( Sharp ) for life’s essentials. Two flat screen TV (Sony ) the one in lounge has DVD/CD Player one the second in the bedroom. The bed is so comfortable with luxury pillows just the place to be after that terrible Economy flight from London or a hard days tourism. The bathroom is spacious with a shower room and a decent sized bath tub I am 6ft. The views to the river from the balcony and bedroom are outstanding at any time of day, but especially so at night. The aircon is efficient and can control the bedroom and Lounge independently. Very quiet and is easy to sleep with it left on overnight. Plenty of cupboard space for clothes and for those countless bags of shopping. The room cleaning is excellent and is to a consistently high standard. The maid is also very friendly and tries to communicate, but generally service is in the background- it just happens. Wonderful pool overlooking the River, large and can get a decent swim here, Comfortable loungers and attentive poolside staff. At the one end is a pleasant and safe looking children’s pool.
Breakfast although not a large selection such as in Hilton more than adequate you will certainly not go hungry- with a good selection of foods both Far Eastern and European/American and is cooked and presented well. It is interesting to try local breakfast foods or a fusion of East and West. I imagine they have little waste which is right these days. A choice to eat Breakfast inside or outside by the River. Not 5 minutes away is a well stocked 7-11. Noticed next door at the Chatrium Residence a Japanese Restaurant has opened in the last 12 months. Untried yet by us
Double Room Suite
While the maid was next door we took a look at the Double Suite-this has an enormous lounge area. The master bedroom is large with ensuite bathroom complete with bath. The second room is bed or beds only no ensuite- but still with wardrobe and cupboards ( Double or singles) with another bathroom just outside-no bath
We love the energy of Bangkok but do so prefer to go to the noise and not be in it, especially the traffic pollution. Sure a Hotel Room is just somewhere to sleep- but for us we like comfort and we believe a little spoil is ok when we are holidaying. It is all part of the holiday experience- how often have I read that such and such Hotel was terrible and spoilt the Holiday. I won’t take that chance. We have stayed here before and no doubt will again. The standard and quality of accommodation is high as is the staff professionalism. The team do seem to be happy and this does show in their dealings with their guests. The pricing is fair when considering the services, comfort and amenities. As with our previous visit we felt relaxed during and after our stay here. In short a very well managed Hotel that delivers great service and comfort.In short a very well managed Hotel that delivers great service and comfort. No doubt from us in recommending this Hotel- well worth adding to your short list.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Spent a few days at this hotel in a two bedroom suite, very large suite with fantastic view of the river, very good value , excellent food, allthough surrounded by the city the pool area is amazingly quiet
with the only noise comming from river traffic. a great escape from the hetic city.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StPatrick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Well some sort of mixed feelings come to me when I think about the Chatrium hotel and Bangkok. Not as if the hotel was bad or good, but the experience was not the memorable kind that I expected as a no1 rated hotel on the tripadvisor website.
Most of all the downside part of the stay was certainly the location. Although the shuttle boat was at service every 15 minutes and it took you straight to the skytrain station, it was not that convenient as it should be. Still the surroundings of the hotel was not a place to stroll down in the afternoon. The overall experience in bangkok on the first day was not very welcoming, due to the scandals that pop into you with a friendly smile on their face and the tuk tuks that charge more than a taxi and even say they dont know where your hotel is after sitting and giving a ride and then leaving you in the middle of nowhere in the rain......Maybe the first impressions are the most memorable. And another thing to note is the pool that was not warm so could not have a swim to relax.
But the rooms were good, not very Thai style decoration seen, and only the essentials are used in the interior design of all the hotel. It seems that less is more was the decorators motto! Breakfast was not a big feast but certainly everything was in the best quality, also the top to floor windows in the breakfast area were a great start in the morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful but do not expect them all to understand and speak English! After all the experience was not bad but having stayed in many 5* hotels and resorts, certainly will never again pay a 5* price to a 4* hotel, even if the paying is for a great view to the river. The upgrade was worth it, having great views but still the overall experience is a 4* one....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

As a travel agent, I am always looking out for great deals for my clients. Chatrium exceeded my expectations not only in location but also in service and accomodations.. The rooms (the nice staff showed me 3 different categories) are big and comfortable. The hotel restaurant offered good food and the Japanese restaurant nextdoor was convenient and also very good. The rooms with the city view mixed with the river view were awesome. All the staff we met were very helpful and professional. We extended our 2 nite stay to 4 nights the first time and booked again on the way back from Cambodia. Thank you Mr Art (desk Manager) for being so accomodating.

The free Chatrium boat takes you to the central pier where you can take a boat that stops at diffrent points of interests including the Royal Palace and important temples. Going shopping downtown? No problem - just take the sky train also from the same pier
It was so nice to "come home" to a wonderful place after a full day of touring.

PS - only suggestion: Hotel wifi should be free to guests staying more than 1 nite. It cost me a lot to get online --- good reason for my late review.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magentatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We spent four days/nights in this hotel, everything was great!
- great support via email regarding a lot of questions I asked in advance / before arrival
- very frienfly stuff in all areas
- spacious, clean and quite rooms
- great breakfast
- great free shuttle service via boat to train station (BTS)
- there is nothing to complain
In case we come back to Bangkok, we would stay in at Chatrium Suites Bangkok again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankyBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

The rooms are large and modern, good maintenance. Helpful staff. You can get good help if you ask about the services of the hotel,they know little about general information (transportation, restaurants). The boat to central pier is a big plus. No free internet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun1223093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 866 in Bangkok
8,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#101 of 866 in Bangkok
4,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing