We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should get a six star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #29 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Should get a six star rating”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Mr. Chatchawan and his staff has provided the by far most awesome "total package" experience we have ever enjoyed in our fourteen years of vacationing in Thailand. My wife and I agree that from top to bottom there is no comparison. The friendly and helpful staff, river view, fine dinning with a live band, unbeatable breakfast buffet, huge rooms, beautiful/romantic pool overlooking the river with photogenic views at all sides, exercise room with sauna, WIFI, convenient location, private boat shuttle to sky train (shopping ladies!) is why it deserves six stars.
Mr. Chatchawan had his staff remind me it was my birthday by a surprise cake at our door that day. I was so exhausted from the trip I forgot. Also the cleaning crew beside being very thorough and friendly would give us the personal touch as well, they arranged the kids stuffed animals on the bed with a different theme every day. The kids loved it. To us the little things count as much as the big ones.
This year there is a little politicking going on but you will never notice it. Thing moved smoothly for us from airport, down the streets and on the trains. In fact traffic was less and seemed to flow better now than before.
The Bohner family from Pennsylvania, USA will be back for sure again next year if not before. We don't need to look for a better Hotel, we finally found the best.

Room Tip: You will like the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,306
    1,947
    342
    66
    32
See reviews for
1,934
3,531
453
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great location for easy access to everything.

Staff was great and the whole place is very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay.

Hard to ding this hotel for anything. The pool was great and a perfect place to relax after enjoying the sites in Bangkok. Maybe the drinks are a bit inflated given we were in Thailand. US prices was not what I was expecting.

Room Tip: We had a suite facing away from the river, ask for the Riverview - yes it is a bit more expensive bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Chatrium Riverside is great but my review reflects my feeling of value for money. Besides the fantastic view from 24th floor and up, this hotel does not stand out in comparison to many other 4/5 star hotels and the location is a bit out so you depend on the free shuttle boat (and thereafter skytrain) to get to the city center. Unfortunately I got sick and hospitalized my last 2 days in Bangkok and I was released from hospital late at my depature day rushing back to pack my things. Instead of showing a little understanding, the Chatrium Riverside charged extra 2000 thb for late check out which I had to pay as I couldn't wander about in Bangkok, weakened and half sick. Well, it's business. Next time, I'll try another hotel, I missed the wow feeling, the price considered.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (22+) with a fantastic view, or your money is better spent on another luxury ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Chatrium is a fabulous hotel made so by its wonderful staff. The receptionists are extremely helpful and friendly and they want you to have a great stay. At the moment there are some great deals on too. We ate at the restaurant twice and the waiting staff are all attentive and very capable. K, the restaurant manager, is great fun too; very knowledgeable about Bangkok and how you can enjoy your stay. He always has a smile and interesting conversation to offer. The buffet is great value.

Room Tip: Get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The pool was fantastic. A great place to spend a hot afternoon in Bangkok. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
What lets this place down is the food. We had dinner at the hotel one evening and I can honestly say it was the worst food we had over the two week holiday throughout Bangkok and Laos. Having said that, the breakfast buffet was pretty good.
The hotel is quite removed from Bangkok proper but you can get the ferries and sky train using the hotel boat service, which is handy. But it is a bit of a schlep to Siam etc.
We were offered an upgrade to a river view. Unfortunately the view was towards the river out of Bangkok, rather than looking towards the city.
The place was ok, but I would look for something different next time we're in Bangkok.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Innsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a fantastic stay in this hotel. It was our one year wedding anniversary and it was the perfect hotel for us. The riverview suite with kitchenette was superb. It was clean and spacious. The staff were very attentive and offered the best customer service I have ever got in my life. They were very kind and helpful all the time, from reception, to bellboy and cleaners: They were all eager to help. Our check in was done inside our room so there was no hassle at all after our long journey.

We had a dinner buffet there and we ate lots of wagyu beef, which was so good that simply melted in our mouth. Breakfast was nice too, with a great variety of food: Indian, Chinese, Thai and Western dishes.

Pool was in good size, very nice and relaxing. We spent quite a long of time there, sipping delicious long island iced tea made by the pool bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My family and I've just came back from Bangkok wicth we stayed at Chatrium Hotel.
We've loved the service, the friendly people, the apartments are amazing with lots of space and clean. We felt like home. The food at restaurants are great. The buffe was umbiliavable with lots of choices for every taste. Thanks again. See you hopefuly soon.
The Schwartz's

Room Tip: We've stayed at the 33rd floor 2 bedroons and was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#102 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,186 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing