We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #27 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“1 night stay”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We thought we would spoil ourselves for our 34th wedding anniversary and stayed at the Chatrium after returning from Laos. Oriental Escape picked us up from the airport and drove us to the hotel. Short wait at reception then we were taken to our room. Stunning views of the river life. The room was very spacious so was the bathroom. Kettle toiletries suppied. You need your securitykey to work the lifts to your floor. We had sundowners outside watching all the boats and bargers go by. Very beautiful outlook. We stayed in the same area for dinner which was very nice (but pricey). They had a band playing and a lady singer who was extremely good..Breakfast the next morning we sat outside again. Lots of food at buffet and the egg station although busy made delicious scrambled eggs. We were picked up by Oriental Escape and driven back to HuaHin.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckyJellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,313
    1,950
    341
    66
    32
See reviews for
1,937
3,535
453
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Worth going for riverside view and high up if you can.
150 Baht each for a day ticket on the tourist boat, with as many stops as required to see most of the sights worth seeing along the river.
A tip we got was if we thought the 9000 Baht for a trip to the bridge on the river Kwai by a private company was too much we could organise our own taxi to the bridge, the cemetery and the bridge are free. And purchase an elephant ride for 600 baht per person, came to 4200 Baht. Please bear in mind that it is a 2.5. To 3 hour taxi ride.
The hotel was on the ball, and the security are right out their when you return with a taxi to make sure things are O.K.
Can't fault this hotel 5 out of 5 from me.

Room Tip: Any with balcony looking sea wards
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETER w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

******Seniors book it online direct. The deal for seniors is excellent.*** We didn't but definitely would next time. I did try to upgrade to it via email but that didn't work.

Well we left the Chatrium on 1/4/14. We miss the place. We had a river view suite on the 25th floor. The view was as good as in the advertising photos. Our bedroom also had a view of the river and we left the curtains open all night. If we woke we just looked out over the river and surroundings without getting out of bed. ****No matter what the river view is worth it.*** We ate in the restaurants on three nights. On one night we had the buffet and loved it. About $80 Aus for two.Try the bbq river prawns. In Australia they are called cherubim they are the best. Food was excellent. We had planned on doing a river cruise meal but thought where we were sitting was better.
The staff were friendly and gave good advice. They advised on how to get to the Grand Palace by local ferry and that was fun. The shuttle from the hotel gets you to the central pier where you can catch ferries to a lot of attractions. You can also catch the sky train. Covers a lot of attractions without the traffic. Don't miss the Grand Palace.

Room Tip: As I said above. Get a river view room. You will always remember it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank DavidRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have nothing but good things to say about this great hotel. The service that I received was excellent throughout my 5 night stay. I would have liked to have named staff that provided me with excellent customer service but there are too many, they're all good! I have worked in the customer service industry for 40 years and have been lucky to have stayed in many great hotels throughout the world, in my opinion this hotel is among the best. The location by the river is quiet by Bangkok standards, the hotel shuttle boat makes it very easy to travel all around the city as it connects with the Skytrain system, taxis are also available and cheap. The rooms are large and well equipped, but the best thing about them is the river views from the balcony. The pool is large, again with great views of the river, it does get busy by the pool but I never had a problem finding a lounger. The breakfast buffet had everything you would expect and maybe more. I swore that I would never eat a hotel buffet again after a few bland experiences elsewhere, this is different and really good, it's worth the money just for the BBQ prawns, they're massive! They also cook phad Thai etc to order as well as a very good spicy papaya salad. What could be better, all washed down with the very reasonable drinks package. This hotel is very well run by the manager, all the staff I came across were charming, friendly and appeared to enjoy working there. Would I go back.....without a shadow of doubt.....the sooner, the better!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inthenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at the Chatrium for 3 nights which was broken while we toured Thailand. The check in was great and our rooms were ready even though we landed early morning. The rooms are huge with kitchen separate to a bedroom and living room area. We stayed in the grand rooms, so not sure what the other rooms would be like. Its a lovely setting as we had river view rooms. The city side is ok but not as great as the river view. Its not exactly in an area to walk around but the hotel has a river boat to connect you to all the sites. Buy a 1 day all inc river boat ticket for 150 Baht but be aware that it runs out a 4.30pm. the boats take you to all the major places to se in Bangkok. We loved it. The food was really good. The setting is most relaxing. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: River view every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank scubapeteEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pissouri, Cyprus
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I would have given 4 1/2 stars but as there is no rating at this level, I gave it 5 as it was closer to 5 than 4 IMO.

The hotel is extremely busy but very well run. The staff are polite and welcoming. We booked the hotel transfer from the airport and although we arrived before check in time, the room was ready. We had a suite on the 22nd floor with a riverside view and it was extremely comfortable and the view was amazing. Breakfast was not included in our package, but there is a 7-11 next door and we were able to get what we needed for breakfast there. It was really nice to sit on our balcony eating our breakfast and we also had a glass of wine on the balcony when we returned from our nights out.

It is about a 15 minute walk to Asiatique which is well worth a visit for the wide variety of food, from street stalls to expensive restaurants and also the shopping. There is a regular shuttle service to and from the Skytrain station which runs until midnight so you can go further afield also.

Yes the pool is small given the size of the hotel, but we did not go to Bangkok to sit by the pool.

A couple of things which would make the Chatrium perfect:

The rooms are clean but could do with a deep clean every now and then and a little refurbishment.

The kitchen areas could do with a few plates, dishes, wine glasses, cutlery. We asked for wine glasses and after a little confusion, they were provided.

We will definitely stay at the Chatrium Riverside again.

Room Tip: It is well worth paying the extra for riverside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had a river-view-grand deluxe room at 33.floor. It was grandious.
We like this location at the riverfront, fine is to have breakfast or BBQ at the terace outdoor.
The free shuttleboat an oneday-Ticket for BTS were good complimetaries for the stay.
The silver-waves-restaurant has delicious cuisine. The stay was for us a lucky surprise.
Staff was very friendly!

Room Tip: river view at higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sylke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#100 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,201 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing