We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #26 of 868 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

room is spacious, great river view. shuttle boat make life easier to get anywhere.
it took me half an hour by boat from Taksin Pier to Ta-Chang Pier, visit Grand Palace and around
From Taksin pier, BTS sky train is there to get downtown. no fussy traffic.

Room Tip: I asked for river view, it's great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank labonitak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok! Wishing you a great week ahead.

Best wishes
Adrian Brown

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,538
    2,005
    356
    69
    33
See reviews for
2,068
3,633
469
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Initially off to a bad start.
We booked Non smoking deluxe room, riverside view.
As we walked into the 9th floor we noticed the smell of old cigarettes. .
As we entered our room..whow that was terrible.
If your a smoker, this probably won't bother you.
The usher said "this is a non smoking room but we can't stop people from smoking, and there are no more rooms with river view left".

Then we noticed the ashtray on the table.
Tried to accept this but 15 min later sore throat, , runny eyes.. No good.
After discussion with management we were upgraded to a suite with a river view on the 17th floor. No charge.
If you're into a romantic setting, go for the river view room.
After that, everything was top class.
If you have not booked the breakfast/room deal, I suggest you pay for breakfast. It is exceptional..

As with the other hotels along this stretch of river, a ferry is available for free that takes you to/from Sapan Taksin bridge. From there you can take the BTS train to do your shopping.Chatrium supply you with a timetable, and a, "take me home card", that you can give to a taxi driver if you get lost, nice touch.
If you have a car, parking is provided.
Superb relaxing pool plus usual hotel massage options.
Enjoyed my free English newspaper in the morning.
I would give the Chatrium 10/10.  Despite the error regarding the room.. All else is great.The most noticeable thing during my stay was that staff generally seemed very happy, and it showed in their service and their smiles.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here in mid June 2013 for 3 nights. We arrived at about 8am and was checked in and found a room straight away! We paid an extra 600 Bht a night for a river view and it was worth it! Stayed on the 13th floor, unlucky for some, but not for us! The suite was huge with a kitchen, living area, bedroom and bathroom with separate bath and shower. Cleaned daily and to a high standard. air-con was lovely and cold too! Water replenished daily as were the shower amenities. Bed was huge and comfy, flat screen tv with good channel selection too. The breakfast was lovely - fresh omelettes to order, we had breakfast very early and later in the morning during our stay and it never felt too busy or full - the selection on offer was more than ample and the fresh fruit and pancakes were amazing! The river taxi was free and a great way to see parts of Bkk and get to the SkyTrain - which is a fast, cheap and air-conned way to get about! Had some snacks at the pool bar which were cooked to perfection, well priced and the service was great too! They ordered a taxi promptly for us to the airport and no issue with the price/using a meter. Really cannot fault this hotel, well worth the price - great location for Asiatique too, would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Corner suite with river view worth the small upgrade price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Layla_CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greve, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

After staying in a lot of hotels in Bangkok we wanted to try something new, and as we were going to stay in BKK for 4 nights, we didn't want to stay in the city center.

We have tried Hyatt, Sheraton (River & Sukhumvit), Shangri-La, Rembrandt, Mandarin Oriental, Dusit Thani, Lebua, Marriott, Lebua (this hotel is not recommended) and a lot of other 5 stars hotel in Bangkok, and always loved the Bangkok hotels hospitality and quality.

However, this time we choose Chatrium Riverside, and it was a really perfect and good choice for the 4 nights stay.

We had a one bedroom corner suite with lounge access, and the value for money was VERY high....

-----------------

The pros:

- Nice terraces with beautiful views (smoking allowed)
- Nice room decorations in the living room (including a small kitchenette)
- Nice view from the bed in the corner suite bedroom
- Room cleaning and turn-down service perfect
- Features in general - perfect....
- Nice quiet pool area next to the river - The pool is actually big
- Nice lounge with all kind of drinks and different food every evening (staff very professional)
- 7-eleven close to the hotel (50 meter)

Cons in general - Location....:

- Actually the location is not a problem when staying more than 2 days in Bangkok, and cost approx. USD 3,50 - 4.00 and takes around 15 minutes to World Trade Center. You can also take the free hotel shuttle to the sky train offered by the hotel (around 10 minutes + time in the sky train)....

--------------

If you are staying less than 2 days, and want to go for shopping, then you should take a hotel in BKK downtown.

A special thanks to Mr. Chatchawan Napawan, Director of Rooms for his nice and professional attitude and making our 25 years anniversary of marriage special - You can really feel that he takes care of his guests in the lounge and general.

The staff took a picture of us on the arrival in the living room, and on the first night it was place on our bed in a nice frame and the other nights there was small decorations on the bed - Small details telling that the hotel matter for its guests.

We will go back to this hotel the next time we decide for a stay for more than 2 days in BKK, this is better in value than Oriental, Shangri-La, Sheraton by the river in BKK.

We will recommend this hotel in Bangkok, if you want high value for money.

Room Tip: Take a room with lounge access - If you are travelling with children, take the one bedroom suite wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights en route to Koh Samui. From the moment we arrived we felt like we had arrived at a calm oasis in the city. Fab location on the river with river taxis regularly to the train station. Great room with amazing view. Clean, comfortable big bed and great facilities. Staff were welcoming and helpful and in true Thai style absolutely lovely! Breakfast was incredible. As a flight attendant I have become a connoisseur of hotel buffet breakfasts around the world and this one ranks amongst the best I've had! Wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel next time I'm in Bangkok!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwynneHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok! Appreciate really, the warm praises for our buffet breakfast.

Look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes
Adrian Brown

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 days from 24th June in 2-bed suite, very nice view of river, perfect and spacious room, big variety of breakfast at river barge restaurant, and all day complimentry tea/cofee facility wuth complimentry laundry :)

Special thanks for surprise birthday cake and candles on my birthday eve.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khawer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok! And belated birthday wishes too.


Best wishes
Adrian Brown

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, was upgraded to a 1-room corner suite with incredible views of the river and Asiatique market. The grounds and the rooms of the hotel were fantastic for the price. Breakfast was good, better than the usual Thai hotels.

However, service was not up to the usual Thai standards, towels were a bit tired, and they did not replace the toiletries in the bathroom although i had run out.

Location was not great either, rather far from the usual tourist attractions in Bangkok. There is a shuttle boat which you can take the to BTS station, which helps.

Would I stay again, probably not, I would stay somewhere more central either around Asoke or around Siam. Only reason why I'm giving it 3 out of 5 is due to the location.

Room Tip: The corner suites on the right on exiting the lift, I think its room #09 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok! Our suites come with amazing views of the River of Kings!

Happy too for your comments on our breakfast.


Best wishes
Adrian Brown

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 868 in Bangkok
8,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#101 of 868 in Bangkok
4,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing