We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel on the river in Bangkok.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #28 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Level Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel on the river in Bangkok.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed in the Chatrium with my wife on trip to Bangkok. Stayed in this hotel for 3days and couldn't have asked for a better start to our trip. The hotel is about 45 mins from the airport by taxi and is situated on the river away from a lot of the hustle and bustle but close enough that its not far to get in to.

Check-in was quick and efficient with a welcome drink and a cold towel to freshen up. The rooms are large, modern and spacious with great views of the river and the city (more like a home than a hotel). Hotel puts on a free boat shuttle to the nearest metro station which only takes five mins and allows you to get to the city easily and safely. Also affords great views of the skyline.

Breakfast was vast and everything we tried was tasty. Great infinity style pool which overlooks the river and is the perfect way to end a day of sightseeing. Overall really enjoyed this hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Bangkok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kraildo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,369
    1,965
    345
    68
    33
See reviews for
1,956
3,563
457
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We arrived once again with family to stay in a City view room, but this time the Luggage was slow to arrive, had to keep phoning to ask where it was!the room was not fully equipped, carpets stained!. We returned after a day out and I had to see the duty manager, as our room had not been replenished with towels, water etc etc,at 6.30 pm in the evening. The duty manager was really helpful he brought us towels and sent housekeeping straight away.
This is not the Chatrium as we know it...I think it just appeared very very busy,this has never happened before. However the breakfast remains 5* and staff are really nice and helpful.
A little disappointed this time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanghailil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I would stay at this hotel again just for the amazing views. We had a wonderful room on the 31 floor with a small patio and kitchen facilities. It was fun just to watch the boats running up and down the river. The hotel and rooms are more like 4 star. We decided to take the boat taxi "free of charge" to the shopping mall which was nice. The pool has a beautiful view of the river. We did not have a chance to eat at the hotel we had to catch an early flight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny77Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I spent a lot of time researching hotels in Bangkok for this trip. We were traveling as a group of 5 with a 3 year old and we didn't want to get two hotel rooms, so we were looking for a two bedroom suite. Surprisingly, there are not that many hotels that have them, but the Chatrium does. Location was excellent too. I was skeptical of the boat to the Skytrain thing - but in reality is was very convenient, and charming too. All of the big hotels on the river do the same thing, and the Chatrium is actually one of the best located ones for getting to the Skytrain.

We had arranged for a pickup from the airport through the hotel. For some reason, when we met the Chatrium representative in the airport, we weren't on the list for a ride. He called the hotel and confirmed that we WERE supposed to have one and then pulled some strings to get us a vehicle. The whole ordeal wasn't a big deal. Wasted maybe 30 minutes, and caused us some frustration. Well, the hotel staff basically acted like they had made the most humiliating mistake ever. They upgraded our room, comped us the limo trip, and the return limo trip, and essentially treated us like royalty for the duration of our stay. I think that every staff person in the hotel knew my name. They much more than made up for the mistake and they made our stay exceptional. I will definitely stay there next time I'm in Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister_Otto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Ideal for new visitors to Bangkok as location is fantastic. Rooms were large and staff exceptional. Facilities good and a lovely deck to relax on or a picturesque swimming pool to chill out in. Drinks expensive but to be expected. Would certainly stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnAnnaResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Chatrium was a real 5 star experience with probably the largest pool I have encountered in a hotel in Thailand with an additional childrens pool on the 6th floor overlooking the river. The room itself was quite large with all amenities including a kitchen.Although the room is starting to show its age a little,the balcony and the view of Bangkok and the river was to die for, simply breathtaking!

From the moment we arrived until check out we were simply treated as royalty, even going to breakfast in which the buffet was exceptional. I have stayed in a few 5 star hotels in Thailand and this hotel was excellent although a little off the beaten path in between Silom and Asiatique, they had a shuttle boat every 15 minutes until midnite providing a free trip to the nearest BTS Sky Train Saphan Taksin and we just loved the 5 minute journey every time.

The security called a metered taxi whenever we needed and staying in the Chatrium we actually felt like we were on a holiday! Asiatique is just a 15 minute walk down the road or a 40 baht($1.35) taxi ride, a great experience,like an upscale night bazaar with many restaurants. There is a free shuttle boat from the BTS.

All in all I cant fault this hotel,the pool,gym,fast internet,the most comfortable bed Ive ever slept in and the ticks just go on and on, 10 out of 10 experience for the early booking and half price I got!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzCzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

A nice mid range hotel in a peaceful location by the river and tucked away from the noisy main road. We booked a grand river room and was upgraded on check in to a grand river suite. The ceiling to floor windows and glass panel balcony gives the suite a lot of light and airy feeling. The bathroom was lovely with a huge bath and walk in shower. Lots of beautiful toiletries, slippers, gowns. The turn down service was great, they did our tidying up too. Breakfast is great and an absolute must. The pool area was clean and tidy and well serviced. We didnt eat there in the evening as we didnt fancy anything on the menu and we thought that the buffet option was over priced for us as vegetarians. All in all a nice hotel with friendly helpful staff. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annmariedaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,106 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#103 of 858 in Bangkok
4,254 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing