We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #28 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for a City Break”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed in Chatrium for just one night with my son for a 'city break' in Bangkok. We had a one bedroom river view room. The beds were comfortable, the room very quiet and we had a great time just looking at the view and watching the river barges go by. The separate bedroom and living room meant that my son could get up in the morning and watch TV while I had a much needed sleep-in!

I had a massage in the room which was convenient, but not quite as good as I was expecting based on other reviews. The pool was clean and big although it was quite windy the day we were there so we didn't swim for too long.

We took the river boats to Asiatique night market - not the most direct way as it means taking the Chatrium barge in the opposite direction to get to the boat station and then taking the Asiatique river taxi to the market. However, we took the boats as it was fun for my son - way better than getting stuck in traffic on a busy Bangkok road.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic - in fact, one of the best ranges I've seen. Unfortunately some of the other food I ordered off of the menu while I was there wasn't as nice (the Caesar salad was the worst I've ever had!) but I did not mind to much as food credits were included in the package I bought so I didn't feel I wasted my money too much.

The late check-out time (we could have right up until midnight if we wanted!) was perfect for a city break. We bought items from the bakery in the lobby on the way out (half price due to the end of the day clearance) and I took them back home for breakfast the next morning - yum!

A great place to stay The spacious rooms make the Chatrium a great place to stay for families or friends sharing a room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,377
    1,966
    345
    68
    33
See reviews for
1,958
3,569
457
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I spent 6 nights here had a great time. This hotel is well located to tourist activities by the river in Bangkok. They have a free river shuttle to the central pier where you can the go either along the river to the local destinations on the local tour boats or jump on the city rail system to get to all the shopping places. If you dont want to take the shuttle then walking to the central pier and MRT system is only 20 minutes.

The hotel has excellent facilities and well appointed rooms with fantastic view of the river. The buffet breakfast is very nice and so much to choose from. A great start to a day of exploring or shopping. And a meal by the river of a night is a great way to finish off the day. A relax in the pool watching the river and the sunset is another treat.

Unlike so many other hotels in Bangkok the location gives a great feeling of escape and relaxation. You can easily get to the hussle and bustle of Bangkok from here, but it is great to return to and just chill, watch the river traffic and recoup for the next day!!

The staff are very helpful and friendly and there is a Starbucks and a convenience store situated with the hotel complex.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river. The hotel can organise for airport pick up and return for an extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoppy6951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel was nothing short of fantastic! We really enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely come back. The device was exceptional and the breakfast was quite delicious. Only drawback is the distance from city center. But, that is made up for by the closeness to BTS and the boat they transport you to the station with. Also, of you want to stay close to the hotel for some fun, Asiatique is a short walk or tuk tuk ride away. The pool was very clean an quite nice, overlooking the river. All in all, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porge3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We've stayed at the Chatrium Riverside 5 times now in the last few months as we've travelled through SE Asia. Whenever we're in Bangkok we stay there, making use of their left luggage services and using it as a place to rest up.

There's very few things that I can find wrong with this place but if I had to pick one I would say that after staying on 5 different floors in their one bedroom suite (both river-view and city view) you have a 50-50 chance of getting a room with that funky Asian plumbing smell. Our last room on the 30th floor was the first one to smell as fresh as a morning breeze. On our second stay we woke up to a raw sewage smell that defies explanation and we were quickly relocated and upgraded. If you stay in the cityview rooms you will have some fairly substantial construction noise to contend with as they are building a new hotel in the adjacent lot.

The breakfasts are fairly standard buffet fare. Something for everyone and it's all pretty good.

The Elevators are pretty slow and overworked and waiting in the lobby for upwards of 5 minutes is not uncommon. The pool is nice though finding an open chair requires getting there early.

Probably the most noteworthy feature of the Chatrium is the outstanding service offered by the concierge desk. Whether it's directions, mailing parcels home in the post or arranging travel plans they are always happy to help and extremely efficient,

Room Tip: If you're travelling as a family I'd recommend the one bedroom grand suite with the river vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyKidsAreCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for three nights, at the end of a long vacation. We were upgraded and had a beautiful view of the river. Great staff, good food the shuttle boat was easy. It's a nice place to stay for business or leisure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redbear14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Checked in at the Chatrium for 2 nights mid Jan 2013, the hotel is promoted as a 5 star but having stayed at the Millennium Hilton in 2011 you can see the difference in quality and service, I rate the Chatrium as a good quality 4 star hotel , It was good value for money for high season in Thailand, we booked a river view room with a balcony , the room was a great size, more like a studio flat with a small kitchen area , the bathroom and carpets are looking a little tired and dated and need updating if they want a five star rating .
The hotel is in a good location with free boat service to the local BTS sky train, the hotel infinity pool is a big plus point, Olympic size with no deep end which is ideal for a relaxing swim.
The buffet breakfast was o.k. but definitely not five star quality. We dined at the hotel restaurant on both nights and my Thai wife was very impressed, delicious food.

There is a Chinese restaurant with great views of the river on the top floor which was empty and uninviting when we looked in, so we opted for Thai food again. I think the management should take a look at the Hilton and replace the restaurant with a jazz cocktail bar.
To sum up the Chatrium is a nice hotel and good value for money in high season but don’t expect that special 5 star quality !

Room Tip: Lovely views from balcony rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lpool63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in early February 2013. This is a high-rise hotel which sits right by the river. The free shuttle boat will take you in 5 minutes to a dock where you can get on a ferry boat to take you on the river to the area of the temples and the Golden Palace for 40 baht each way. Just ask at the window for the orange boats. You will also be able to take a ferry across the river, as the largest temple is on the opposite side from the other attractions (10 baht). A short walk up from the shuttle boat dock also is a station for the Skytrain, an air-conditioned commuter train. Just ask at the 'change' window to find out what price ticket is needed to your destination. The ticket machines on the wall only take coins, so you may also need to get change while you're talking to them.
Our lovely room was on the 29th floor and had a panoramic view of the river. The desk staff was very efficient and friendly. The concierge desk kept our bags in a locked area after we checked out and we retrieved them later. The beds were very comfortable and the room was large. There is a Japanese steakhouse, 7-11 store and Starbucks on the property. Would definitely recommend...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyBoyd55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 858 in Bangkok
8,112 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#102 of 858 in Bangkok
4,259 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing