We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place. Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #31 of 893 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My family and I recently stayed here. It's good value but a little worn out. We had a two bedroom suite and was plenty big for us five adults. I had my three adult kids with me.
The hotel is located on the river and have shuttle boat down to the nearest overhead train line.
The breakfast was a little disappointing for each morning, a bit of a free for all feeling.
Perhaps it was due to being busy, but the breakfasts were their weak spot.
The food was good .... But just a bit like a food hall atmosphere.
I would probably stay here again and would recommend this place too.
The staff were great. No problems at all.
It was good value for money for a family of five.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LFLLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,182 - 5,188 of 8,701 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed in a regular river view room from Jan. 10th to 16th, 2012 and it was fantastic. We returned on Jan. 27th-31st and upgraded to the Junior Riverv iew Suite for an extra 20 dollars per night. Take the upgrade! The difference was phenominal. We will always return to the Chatrium. The breakfast was amazing as was the pool area, the service, the landscape, the location, and the entire experience.

Room Tip: Get the river side junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our 11th trip to Bangkok, we have stayed in all manner of accommodation throughout the city, in recent years we have favoured the river, choosing the Shangri-la & their Krungthep Wing, which have been Excellent trips (see separate reviews). For this trip we had a tighter budget, but still favoured the river. The Chatrium is very well priced & we found the location excellent. It does have superb views of the river & cleaner air than some of the bigger city hotels. With regards to comments saying it is isolated - the Free shuttle boats to Sathorn Pier which connects to the Skytrain & therefore the rest of the city, runs every 15 minutes & is an event in itself. Asiatique is very close, but one has to use the shuttle boat in the opposite direction to Sathorn & then connect with the Asiatique boat, which is a little frustrating. Asiatique itself is new, touristy, worth a visit, but there are better eating/shopping opportunities within Bangkok.
The hotel itself:
Reception is pleasant & welcoming, front desk staff were very efficient & check-in took minutes, (we arrived early morning - 9am). Outside reception are beautiful landscaped tropical gardens with sculptures,lily ponds, paved walkways down to the outside breakfast terrace & the shuttle pier. To the front of the hotel, the Chatrium Residences are next door, along with a Japanese Restaurant & then a well stocked 7/11 store.
The rooms:
Large, airy rooms with kitchenette at one end, plenty of storage & a good sized bathroom. Balcony - quite narrow & no outside furniture, which seemed strange especially as the balconies afforded superb views & the perfect place to enjoy morning coffee. We took outside the internal dining table chairs which was not ideal.
The bed was large & very comfortable with good pillows. Overall, the room, had all the individual features to make it something special, but it wasn't. The decorative/construction finish was lacking in attention to detail. Overall it felt a bit "utilitarian", a shame, because a few finishing touches would make all the difference.
Breakfast: lovely to dine alfresco watching the city start its day on the river. The staff were efficient & friendly. Food choices were varied as in most 4/5 star hotels, but, again, something is lacking, it's difficult to pinpoint, again, like the rooms, it would appear to be - attention to detail & quality.
The pool: good sized pool,a lovely design with sculptures at either end, great views, even watched a sea eagle fishing the river one day. No shortage of sun loungers. Separate jacuzzi pool, romantically set to offer the best views. But, again - it was slightly disappointing, mainly from other guests, particulary those with families who appeared to have little or no consideration for other guests & clearly no comprehension of social etiquette. What could have been a very relaxing environment was more like being at the "public baths", with children dominating the attention. Shouting, screaming, running, jumping, monopolising the "romantic jacuzzi pool", dive bombing off the sculptures. Shouting conversations between parents & children.
Overall: a good stopover, excellent value for money at only £85-100 per night including breakfast. Not quite so good if travelling as a couple looking for a quiet, romantic treat.

Room Tip: River view, corner suite would offer larger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

5th time in this beautiful hotel.
Some Things have been improved (breakfast until 11am AM), Boat shuttle schedules extended(earlier in the morning until midnight now).
The hotel seems to have more success when we see the number of people at breakfast or at the pool!
But some bad points: Check In a bit long, the household is not always perfect. The day of check out, you can not have access to the executive lounge that you had during your stay, same for the wifi internet connection (this may seem a bit petty)

Anyway, always a good deal, for business or leisure, alone or with child.

Enjoy your stay in Chatrium.

Room Tip: River or City view doesn't make much sense (you'll have the sunrise or sunset depending on y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Wow !! Stayed here for 3 nights , went to Phuket and then returned to the same room - 711 for another 2 nights. Stunning views over the river and the pool . Service first class , clean , beds so comfy, food outstanding in the river barge restaurant - staff so helpful , brilliant experience and would return time and time again to the chatrium .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesleydunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Apart from a misunderstanding that delayed our check in by 15 mins everything was great. All the staff met were friendly and efficient. We had a 1 bedroom suite, It was very large and nicely decorated with lovely views of the river from the bedroom and balcony. There is a 7-11 shop next to the hotel and a few restaurants nearby. The area around the hotel is quiet by Bangkok standards. The breakfast was excellent with lots of variety, European and Asian dishes. The setting is lovely, we sat on the riverside terrace for breakfast in the heat watching all the boats go by. The hotel provides a boat to Central pier which connects to the Skytrain, this makes it very easy to get around. I would definitely go back if I could get the same rate B5000. There's a large swimming pool in front of the river which is also great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inthenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Chatrium is a bit away from the bustling city centre, at the Chao Phraya River, but on the 'inner side' of the city. It is south of the Sheraton Royal Orchid, Shangri-La, Oriental etc, but very quickly reachable by taxi from the Sukhumvit, Silom and other downtown areas.
The location is more quiet than downtown hotels, with a great riverfront, a huge pool, several terraces, open space. The rooms are located in the higher floors, granting great views over the city or the river (sunset side).
Breakfast was good, but I have seen greater ones in other 5-star properties.
Overall recommendable to those who have time to sunbath and relax and swimm during their stay in BKK.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LONDOLOZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 893 in Bangkok
8,878 reviews
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#142 of 893 in Bangkok
5,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Address: 28, Soi Charoen Krung 70 | Wat Phraya Krai, Bang Kho Laem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $83 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing