We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #31 of 893 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Originally intended to stay here a couple of nights but extended my trip. Spectacular view of the Chao Phraya River from my balcony, excellent service, good food and a resort feel made this a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The one bedroom river view apartments have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,227 - 5,233 of 8,701 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a large group booking at Chatrium and they were great. We got all the rooms promised and the buffet breakfast was a hit all round. Everyone loved their views from their rooms and enjoyed their stay. Thank you for all your help

Richard

Room Tip: River view looking up or down the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichandGill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We had booked the chatrium as a treat for the last 3 days of our holiday and were expecting great things. However, check in was slow and quite impersonal. Our first room was not terribly clean so we opted for a river view upgrade. The rooms are large but not luxurious. The view however is stunning. The room was slightly knocked about and did not give the feel of a luxury hotel at all. The staff were polite but not very friendly and often very stretched.
Breakfast was a fiasco with tables uncleared and many many empty food trays. On the second morning we gave up fighting for food and left. The evening buffet is expensive and again trays of food were empty.
The boat service is frequent and the pool large. The atmosphere around the pool area felt a little like a package holiday resort.
This is not a bad hotel but not worth the money we paid. There are many better in bangkok- we came from the eastin grand and that was really superb for less money. We won't return despite the duty manager trying hard to rectify some of the problems we encountered.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BangkokLoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed in Chatrium Hotel between 30th of December 2012 and 3rd of January 2013, spending a great New Years Eve Dinner in the hotel. When we arrived, although it was around 4 PM we had to wait for half an hour for our room but it was not a problem as we had a chat with our guide and also had a welcome drink.

The room was very nice, great view over the river, the only problem appeared in the evening when we returned to our room: we had a visiting door at the entrance of our room and the pipes in the wall were making a strange noise from time to time, enough to wake you up during your sleep. The first night after a 10 hours flight was ok as we were exhausted, the second day we asked the reception for help in order to fix the problem. They came, heard the noise which they said it was from the hot water pipes but cannot fix it so on 1st of January we asked for another room in order to be able to sleep. First option was a bad one as it was a room one floor below, the same location and with the same noise... we refused it and after some discussions with the reception they gave us a River-view Suite (they asked for a fee for upgrade, we refused to pay as we wanted the room we paid for but without strange noise from the walls. Finally everything was solved).

Regarding the Gala Dinner for New Years Eve it was a great party, great and refined food and good drinks, nice live music and greatly organized as a casino party. Congrats to the staff for that!

Cleanliness of the room / hotel was ok, staff was friendly and helpful (the concierge though didn't help us with too much info regarding Bangkok, but we were helped by our guide). Breakfast was OK, a great variety of food, and serving it on the terrace was just perfect.

The hotel provides free shuttle boat (every 15 minutes) to the BTS train which takes you to the center of the city in 15 minutes.

We recommend this hotel for travelers who want to be away from the busy center and to feel like in a resort, 15 minutes away from the center.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with visit-door for the pipes :). Upper floor recommended for the great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianVasilescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel has a very good location specially if you are a family with kids. It has a fantastic riverview and free shuttle ( by boat) to the nearest BTS station. It is also close to Asiatique night market. The area is safe and not as crowded as the rest of Bangkok.

The hotel has a very efficient housekeeping staff and the room and lobby area are very clean and tidy.

There is a need though to improve on their check in procedure specially during peak hours

Room Tip: Get Riverview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel was so wonderful, I fell in love with it the first day. The service was excellent' the food outstanding and fresh and it was very quiet compared to the rest of Bangkok. Pool was great too, very clean. I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: We got a one bedroom suite and it was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our family stayed at the Chatrium from Christmas until New Years. Check-in was easy, and the lobby is beautiful and opens up to a view of the Chao Phraya River. The international breakfast buffet is served with a view of the river either inside or on a lovely terrace overlooking the river. The rooms are spacious and clean with friendly service daily and we were upgraded to a suite when the hotel overbooked! Free evening cocktails and appetizers are also included in the stay! The river shuttle was a great way to get around and tour nearby temples and sights. And the New Years Eve Party and fireworks display on the Chao Phraya River is not to be missed!!! This is a luxurious hotel and we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NidaD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 893 in Bangkok
8,878 reviews
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#142 of 893 in Bangkok
5,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Address: 28, Soi Charoen Krung 70 | Wat Phraya Krai, Bang Kho Laem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $83 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing