We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three night stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #33 of 839 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Windermere
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Three night stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in December at the end of our 16 night holiday to Thailand. It had been recommended to us by our daughter who had stayed here in July. We upgraded to a riverview room for the unbelieveable price of 400 bhat per night per room. The room was large with a small kitchen area, ensuite with bath and shower, unfortunatley it had twin beds but these were very comfortable and of course the fabulous view overlooking the river and the pool. Breakfast was included and this was a great selection of Western and Asian choices, served either in the air conditioned restaurant or outside on the terrace. We were disppointed with the evening menu as the main focus was on the nightly buffet which at 2100 bht per person we felt was pricey especially if you only wanted to eat lightly. The "alcarte " menu was basic with only a couple of choices . After a long day of sightseeing we did not want to start trailing out again. The boat to the sky train is a great idea and very relaible. We had a go at travelling on the sky train and after getting lost once or twice soon got the hang of it and it is really cheap. We had a private tour arranged by Tour East to take in all the temples and places of interest we had chosen to visit and this was a bargain. We were ferryed from each place in a cool car and had a great informative guide for less than £50 for the day for two of us. We would recommend the hotel as its staff are its strongest point always ready with a smile to help they even had a go at fixing our ipad after it decided to freeze on us !!!
If they just improved the dinner menu they would be a five star.

Room Tip: River view rooms worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey_and_Trace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,761
    1,765
    315
    59
    29
See reviews for
1,707
3,199
408
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,957)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

we chose the Chatrium on a spur of the moment break and were not disappointed, we had a riverside view and sitting on the balcony on a warm night watching the riverboats and nightlife was magical, the staff at the hotel were very accomodating and nothing was too much trouble for the conceirge staff. Breakfast buffet covered all ranges of food and again nothing was too much trouble. I recommend this hoel for comfort, and friendlessness of staff.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent, but if you manage a riverview its adds that extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bumble369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and everything was great! The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful with eggs, fruits and plenty of dishes to choose from.

The location seemed a bit out of the way but it was nice to be out of the madness after long days of sightseeing!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adtmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed the second time at Chatrium. This time in a std. room with Balcony and River view. Also this time it exceeded our expectations. The Boat Service from Hotel pier to Sky Train station at Taksin Bridge is excellent and waiting time is around 15 min. if you just miss it. Last Boat is at mid night. We had one dinner at the Hotell and this time they offered us a complete package with Food and Drinks included. Very good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulf N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Chatrium riverside for 4 nights in a river view room and I would highly recommend the hotel for both tourists and business patrons. Check agoda early for some super deals - we got a river view room with breakfast for $80 AUD per night.

The good: service is amazing, all of the staff speak excellent English, are attentive, polite and friendly (like most Thai people really!). The buffet breakfast has a huge assortment of foods including: hot western style breakfast goods like bacon, eggs, roast potato and tomato and baked beans. Also tonnes of pastries and cakes, a fruit bar, sushi section, cheeses, Cold salad section, Indian food, Asian noodles/rice dumplings and nice coffee, tea and fruit juice. Great value.

Loved the location, a quick stroll (10 mins or so) to Asiatique, a nice place to check out for a riverside cocktail with the locals. The shuttle ferry was also very helpful.

Room was clean, laundry service very quick, bottled water replenished daily. All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravellermaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Overall this hotel is well-managed with people whose can speak reasonable good English. They will greet you and help to call taxi (taxi is cheap in Bangkok but beware that some taxi drivers will cheat tourists bring them to your destination by a longer route, I 've been cheated twice during my vacation there).

For the location of the hotel, you will find free shuttle boat from the hotel to Saphan Taksin (BTS) station, which is very convenient but you will find it more convenient if you take taxi....for just US$4-5 you will arrive Siam area without walk walk and walk.

Complimentary Wifi is no good i can say, the connection is not stable and you need to enter passcode every time. Don't expect you can login to Wifi and watch football or nba or any drama online.

Breakfast is good if your requirement and expectation is not too high, they have all a standard hotel breakfast buffet have.

The bad thing is they don't have king size bed notwithstanding they offer this choice for you. If you choose king bed room, they will have two single size bed "merged" together so you will feel there's a gap in between...This is the most unexpected feature of this hotel before check-in.

View of the room for both river view and city view should be great. I 've offered a city view room in 1x floor, the view is fantastic and it spacious enough with modern decoration.

All in all, US$120 per night is not a bad choice for similar quality but I probably will not be there again as my favorite activities in Bangkok are shopping and massage. Next time i will choose hotel close to the Siam station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 bed suite with a river view, pay the extra and get a room with a view. Very clean, modern rooms with kitchen very spacious. Staff were great pool is lovely 6 floors up over looking the sea, food in hotel is decent and the rooftop restaurant is good too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryanha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 839 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,478 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#18 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing