We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bangkok stop-over - luxury hotel with great rates - especially for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #30 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have 2 children & always prefer to stay in a hotel which can provide a 2 bedroom apartment & The Chatrium was perfect for us. We booked Club Level Suite - which had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, small kitchen (fully equipped), spacious lounge area, and a fabulous balcony with an amazing view of the river- especially at night.

We booked the hotel car to meet us at the airport - the journey took about 30 mins and cost half the price of the journey to the airport at home which took 5 minutes ! Had a nice welcome at the airport - help with luggage to the waiting car. The driver's name was Yuht & was very friendly & good driver. Upon arriving at the hotel the driver contacted reception to announce our arrival & we were personally greeted and escorted straight to the room for a swift check-in.

The lounge was wonderful - staff so warm friendly & welcoming. By day 2 she knew our names & our drink orders. We left the hotel to begin our holiday in Thailand & returned for the last night 3 weeks later & she knew our drink orders & at breakfast brought us tea ( English breakfast) without being asked and let us know she would not pour it as she knew we liked to let it brew for 5 minutes. Very impressive!
We used the spa next boor (Nemita Spa) twice - cost is 1200THB for an oil massage. The hotel gives you a voucher for 10% discount. Yes you can find cheaper in BKK but the spa is equivalent to a spa in a 5* hotel. Staff were amazing - best massage ever. Private rooms, each with ensuite bathroom, all amenities, hair dryer etc etc. While we had a massage our 2 daughters had their massage & afterwards the staff showered them, washed their hair & braided it so they reappeared looking gorgeous for our night out at Lebua Tower. I was very grateful as I saved alot of time in getting them ready.

The 7-11 next door was very nice to have - for snacks, drinks & toiletries etc.

Location was excellent - there is a boat to transfer you to get to the monorail or ferries. In previous visits to BKK we always visited the Suan Lum night market and were shocked to learn from Yuht it had closed down - but the good news was it had been relocated ....& is now 5 mins from the hotel & is called ASIATIQUE. Go there at night for shopping & for dinner. Another reason this hotels location is perfect for us.

We ate at the hotel the first night - excellent meal. We did not have the lobster buffet which looked amazing - next time !! Also did not get to try the Chinese on the top floor which looked great - again next time! So many choices in BKK and only 3 days!

We met the hotel Rooms Manager at the end of the stay and were happy to pass on our thanks and compliments. Next year we will return without hesitation. If you want a first class hotel, river location, a hotel where the staff are all friendly & you are remembered by the staff even after 3 weeks this should be your choice in BKK. We bumped into the Head Chef in the lift - he was checking the canapes in the Lounge & we chatted to him. I have seen in another post he took some guests on a tour of the kitchens. He must be very proud & enjoy his job & wants to meet the guests for feedback. Think his name was Andrew - he was English.
And then it was time to leave - we had asked the Concierge in the morning if Yuht would be taking us back to the airport that night but were told it was his day off. ( He had driven us 3 times back & forwards to the airport as we had flown to Samui). Oh well - no problem just would have been nice. We were very surprised when we approached the car at 8pm- there was Yuht - with a beaming smile - he had come in to take us to the airport on his day off. So from start to finish the staff made our stay and overwhelmed us with great service and kindness. Thank you !!!

Room Tip: Go for the Executive Level Floor to enhance your stay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trailfinder8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,322 - 5,328 of 8,572 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was the first time in Thailand for me and my travel partner. We stayed here 5 nights in a 1 bedroom river view suite and it suited our needs 100%. We are not adventurous travellers and were a bit doubtful that we would take to Bangkok. We were attracted to the hotel because of the great reviews and it is also out of the center of the city, but still easily accessible to it.

Once we stepped out of the taxi from the airport we felt as if we had been mistaken for celebrities. If not for this wonderful hotel this trip would not have been nearly as enjoyable. Yes the staff are friendly and very helpful -- almost too helpful -- we found ourselves entering/exiting through side doors just to avoid the constant opening of doors for us and the constant greetings.
I would recommend taking a taxi to/from airport as the hotel is very close to the expressway which isn't usually too backed up, and then use the hotel's free boat service to get to the skytrain for exploring Bangkok. The boat does add some additional time to your getting around but we felt it was more than worth it given the comfort level of the hotel. The boat is shared with the international school next door so runs with high frequencies during morning and evening rush hour. Also having the school grounds next door and a vacant lot on the other side make the property very quiet and private.

Our suite was on the 33rd floor with fantastic views up and down the river, the views were massively better than what you'd get at the Shangri-La where you pay twice the price. You also get a huge balcony which is rare for high rise hotels in Bangkok. The hotel restaurant is great, slightly more expensive than many places in Bangkok but much cheaper and better quality compared to what one gets in Australia these days. Also much more reasonably priced and less pretentious atmosphere than most 5 star hotels.

The 7-11 is modern and has everything you need at very cheap prices. There is also a Japanese restaurant which was not bad. The hotel restaurant serves great Thai as well as Western style food (excellent hamburgers!), and the breakfast buffet in the mornings has a wide selection as well.

We were so busy that we barely had time to enjoy the pool, but we tried it once and it's also quite luxurious with nice view across the river.

To summarize, if I didn't have to come back home to work, I would probably just live at this place for awhile, it's nice and comfortable but at the same time laid back, quiet, and not pretentious.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mg35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I was travelling with my two children, 18 and 10. The staff made us feel very welcome. Everything about the hotel was great and the staff were just lovely. The three of us would have no hesitation staying here again and are really looking forward to taking my husband/their dad, next time we visit Bangkok.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberjoe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here in January (taken me a little while to write the review) and the reason I'm doing so is because the experience was so wonderful that I still remember it. We were in Asia for three weeks - Japan, China, and Bangkok -- and stayed at the Chatrium for more than a week. It was hands-down my favorite hotel. We needed to go downtown everyday and did so via the hotel's water taxi -- very reliable and convenient. The room was really large (kitchen area, bed, table, and room for both of us to do yoga at the same time), clean, not carpeted (yeah!) had a great view, very comfortable. The restaurant was ok -- breakfast buffet expansive choices. The staff was very gracious and helpful. It was great to be down river at a quiet place and to commute to vibrant chaos that is Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katthewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is my first choice for a hotel when staying in Bangkok.

Polite, friendly staff. Starbucks downstairs, awesome free breakfast, quick riverboat ride to the train every 15-30 minutes.

It's quiet and peaceful, but just a short trip to the city center.

The staff never fail to impress me.

Thanks again!

Room Tip: For one or two people, even the smallest room is fine. Spend the extra few dollars and get a rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LON-DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Though initially it will seem that the property somewhere remote, if you are with your family with young children this is the best 5 start accommodation you can get. Being just near to the riverside it not only gives you beautiful view of the city but the convenient and hassle free way of moving around. We stayed here at Chatrium Riverside from Aug3rd to 8th Almost 5 nights and it was simply remarkable as the say. Location is good though not you would be disappointed if you are looking for the happening kinda of location. For that I suggest some good hotels in and around Sukhmwit area. But this one is good if you are looking for a place where you can set your own Pace. Thats about location.

Check in, if you properly inform the reservation in advance you will be in the room within max 10-15 mts. The best service starts from there, usually guests are accompanied first time to their room by an executive from front desk who will explain you everything starting from life access to kitchen and shuttle service.

Rooms are quite big and well maintained. We had taken grand room river view but i think the location of the property gives most of the rooms a view to the river either from balcony or the room. Our room was quite big for 3 of us, was provided an extra bed also without any extra charge which was part of the deal. Only disadvantage for us was we had asked for a big bed and one extra bed, but the room available was with two single beds + 1 extra bed, this was informed to us on check in and we were ok with it. You have fridge, cooking top, micro oven. If you are planning to do your own cooking you can call at your service and ask for it. They are prompt.

The best part is the shuttle boat service which we utilised to the maximum. How we could utilise is mainly because of the ever helpful Concierge which the hotel has. Adorable and very helpful people who will guide you to reach places of your interest in the best possible/cheaper and convenient way. That was just amazing service and we had no problem to find/go to any place because of them. Would say they are the main assets of the hotel. Cannot single out one but all of them were good and helpful. This I would say was missing in the hotel we stayed at Pattaya, which was also a 5 star hotel/resort.

We didn't go for the breakfast in the package as we were our own. This works out to be a cheaper option if you have patience to do your own breakfast in the room in the morning. We preferred that way.

This hotel is recommended to be one of the best hotels suitable for a family stay or couples stay. My wife and kid loved the hotel so much and if we come back to Bangkok we wouldn't be researching internet anymore to find the best hotel in Bangkok. This is the best choice for us.

And the bonus point is just in the same compound you have 7 11 super market from where you can pick up most of the daily stuff (may be not fruits and veggies) but yeah almost everything else.

If you prefer to go to place by Taxis or Tuk-Tuk hotel concierge will arrange it in a jiffy. If you want to go by Sky Train just take the hotel shuttle boat to Sathorn Pier and just outside you have the Taskin station from where you can reach anywhere in the city through train quickly. Or from Sathorn Pier you can take Orange boat for 15 THB to most of the other pier which will have some tourist attraction or other. For example, N9 Pier -> Grand palace, N8 Wat Pho or reclining buddha and from N8 take across ferry for 3 TBH to Wat Arun. And many more.

Over all good choice we didn't have any bad experience and the stay was first class.

Only thing we noticed is the room cleaning can be looked upon little more , its not bad but more details can be taken care which will help maintain the rooms in good shape.

Room Tip: River View above 20th floor will be super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WarrierA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is my first trip to this hotel on my Bangkok trip. It has been pleasant and relaxing. The hotel offers a very friendly staff, helpful Front Desk, excellent at the restaurant staff. They always greeting us with smiles and sawasdee. Room is so nice and we can see the river view from our bedroom.

Pool on the 6th floor is offered a magnificent view, gym is great and very clean but no service staff but nothing wrong as we can manage ourselves.

The only negative is the location which seems far away from center of the city and shopping area but the hotel has provided a shuttle boat service throughout the day and easy access to the sky train. I would recommend this hotel to all to try the great experience and value for money.

Room Tip: river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 891 in Bangkok
8,765 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Address: 28, Soi Charoen Krung 70 | Wat Phraya Krai, Bang Kho Laem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $91 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing