We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Hotel for family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #27 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best Hotel for family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Though initially it will seem that the property somewhere remote, if you are with your family with young children this is the best 5 start accommodation you can get. Being just near to the riverside it not only gives you beautiful view of the city but the convenient and hassle free way of moving around. We stayed here at Chatrium Riverside from Aug3rd to 8th Almost 5 nights and it was simply remarkable as the say. Location is good though not you would be disappointed if you are looking for the happening kinda of location. For that I suggest some good hotels in and around Sukhmwit area. But this one is good if you are looking for a place where you can set your own Pace. Thats about location.

Check in, if you properly inform the reservation in advance you will be in the room within max 10-15 mts. The best service starts from there, usually guests are accompanied first time to their room by an executive from front desk who will explain you everything starting from life access to kitchen and shuttle service.

Rooms are quite big and well maintained. We had taken grand room river view but i think the location of the property gives most of the rooms a view to the river either from balcony or the room. Our room was quite big for 3 of us, was provided an extra bed also without any extra charge which was part of the deal. Only disadvantage for us was we had asked for a big bed and one extra bed, but the room available was with two single beds + 1 extra bed, this was informed to us on check in and we were ok with it. You have fridge, cooking top, micro oven. If you are planning to do your own cooking you can call at your service and ask for it. They are prompt.

The best part is the shuttle boat service which we utilised to the maximum. How we could utilise is mainly because of the ever helpful Concierge which the hotel has. Adorable and very helpful people who will guide you to reach places of your interest in the best possible/cheaper and convenient way. That was just amazing service and we had no problem to find/go to any place because of them. Would say they are the main assets of the hotel. Cannot single out one but all of them were good and helpful. This I would say was missing in the hotel we stayed at Pattaya, which was also a 5 star hotel/resort.

We didn't go for the breakfast in the package as we were our own. This works out to be a cheaper option if you have patience to do your own breakfast in the room in the morning. We preferred that way.

This hotel is recommended to be one of the best hotels suitable for a family stay or couples stay. My wife and kid loved the hotel so much and if we come back to Bangkok we wouldn't be researching internet anymore to find the best hotel in Bangkok. This is the best choice for us.

And the bonus point is just in the same compound you have 7 11 super market from where you can pick up most of the daily stuff (may be not fruits and veggies) but yeah almost everything else.

If you prefer to go to place by Taxis or Tuk-Tuk hotel concierge will arrange it in a jiffy. If you want to go by Sky Train just take the hotel shuttle boat to Sathorn Pier and just outside you have the Taskin station from where you can reach anywhere in the city through train quickly. Or from Sathorn Pier you can take Orange boat for 15 THB to most of the other pier which will have some tourist attraction or other. For example, N9 Pier -> Grand palace, N8 Wat Pho or reclining buddha and from N8 take across ferry for 3 TBH to Wat Arun. And many more.

Over all good choice we didn't have any bad experience and the stay was first class.

Only thing we noticed is the room cleaning can be looked upon little more , its not bad but more details can be taken care which will help maintain the rooms in good shape.

Room Tip: River View above 20th floor will be super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrierA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,141
    1,893
    336
    63
    32
See reviews for
1,847
3,448
444
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,081)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is my first trip to this hotel on my Bangkok trip. It has been pleasant and relaxing. The hotel offers a very friendly staff, helpful Front Desk, excellent at the restaurant staff. They always greeting us with smiles and sawasdee. Room is so nice and we can see the river view from our bedroom.

Pool on the 6th floor is offered a magnificent view, gym is great and very clean but no service staff but nothing wrong as we can manage ourselves.

The only negative is the location which seems far away from center of the city and shopping area but the hotel has provided a shuttle boat service throughout the day and easy access to the sky train. I would recommend this hotel to all to try the great experience and value for money.

Room Tip: river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

This was a great hotel for us , our two kids and my parents . We got a two room suite which suited ourselves and the kids and my parents room was also big . There's a boat that connects to other river boats making avoiding bangkoks dreaded traffic an easy thing . Very minor quibble on the electronic room keys which stopped working often ( calling for service to help open the door would take 15 mins of waiting though they were friendly once they got there . Overall a great hotel - also has a 7/11 and Starbucks attached . We will definitely go back .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youngfamilyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed 4 nights and enjoyed this hotel. Rooms clean and comfortable with a spectacular view of the river. It is in a quiet location , but very easy to get to main centre. Breakfast is easy to linger over many nice choices and watch the river traffic.Staff are very pleasant and accommodating. Pool area is also lovely. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marianne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

It was wonderful to end our trip of Lao and Thailand in the Chatrium . Great room on 16 th floor looking up the river. Wonderful hospitality. Executive chef Andrew gave us a great tour of the kitchens. Wonderful spa best massage ever. The only thing they could do is give free wireless Internet to guests , that would make it perfect. Our bed was huge and the room was great. Breakfast had a huge range of foods and you could ask for a cappuccino .

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ewa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

i visited this hotel last june, it was fantastic. this hotel have a high quality standard of cleaness, service, food, everything was great.

we tried the ferry boat that brought us to the nearest metro station, quite convenience and on-time.
the breakfast was great. they also provide shuttle to airport.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here on our last leg home to Ireland from Australia. Chose the hotel having read through tripadvisor reviews and have no complaints.

Although it is not in the central area of Bangkok, the very regular shuttle boat service, situated on the hotel grounds, brought us to a central area for other boats and the commuter service (metro and skytrain), was excellent, although it did finish at 10.30pm.

Staff were friendly and approachable. Breakfast had a huge choice Asian, Indian and European/USA selection, which will set you up for the day. Lovely view from the restaurant of the river, and you can also breakfast outside.

Rooms spacious, amazing view, with small kitchenette. Had bath and shower (a little dated but not terribly so). Supermarket in hotel complex for everyday needs.

Swimming pool beautiful, lovely view of the river, aesthetically pleasing and nice soft and very large pool towels supplied.

If you are using the boat ferries, note that you don't have to buy an all day ticket of 150 Bhats in Central Pier, although you do receive a nice little booklet, outlining the different ferry stops and areas of interest around them. Instead you can pay on the boats, both tourist boat and everyday boats, which is much cheaper.

Caution around taxi availability on National Holidays
If you are planning to get a taxi on the eve of a National Holiday, think again. We looked for a taxi to the airport at 9pm the eve of an important Thai Holiday, and they had literally disappeared off the map! We ended up taking the metro x 2 stations, then Skytrain direct to the airport, but it was a little tedious dragging two suitcases onto crowed trains (apologies to that poor lady whose toes were run- over by my case in the rush!) and also a little stressful as we were worried about making our flight.

If you are brave enough to try the local open taxis, make sure you have a Thai version of where you are going, as the drivers do not generally speak English.

Finally we found this to be an excellent choice for a 3 day stop-over in a very hectic city, being beside the river was a great choice. It gave a sense of space, provided a cooling breeze and gave us endless entertainment and interest (amazing amount of jumping fish, boats, pilot boats pulling unbelievably long and heavy loads(although would not be inclined to risk swimming)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrishaOBrien345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,783 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#95 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Prestigia, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing