We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars at affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #28 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Upon arrival I was upgraded to 1 bedroom river view room. The view of Bangkok river was spectacular as was the room itself. The room itself was very well appointed with everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming. Simple things such as my request for a taxi took no time at all and was always on meter (this is not always the case in sukumvitarea). Would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: River view rooms are worth the little extra in price
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,099)
There are newer reviews for Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,237 - 5,243 of 8,099 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

We've stayed in this hotel twice so far, once in 1- bedroom suite, once in a riverview room. Both types of rooms are v. comfortable, great size, fantastic views over the city. Breakfast, pool, cleanliness - faultless. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carsten_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

A large and an awesome hotel- I would rate it as super excellent. Staff is extremely cheerful and friendly. International buffet breakfast is superb.

I was on honeymoon so they upgraded my superior room to royal suite. It was the best hotel I have ever stayed in so far.

Bangkok as such is not a clean and beautiful city except for the attractions and tours that make it a tourist destination. but when u come back from day tours, u can relax in this beautiful hotel's pool side bar, or at their open air river side restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellator_1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This hotel is not new to us as we have lived in Bangkok for several years and we even witnessed the completion of work to the building back in 2008/9. However, this was the first time we have stayed here. As it was the new year we wanted to have a good view of the fireworks, and we also wanted to have our two very young children with us rather than organise a babysitter. We booked a Grand Suite with a river view for one night only. The hotel were organising a special buffet with live entertainment, but we wanted to simply enjoy the scene from our balcony, which we did.

The room rates at this hotel are usually very good. Indeed it seemed that many guests were taking advantage of what was on offer on this evening, and the hotel seemed quite full. The location and vistas from the hotel are superb. We had a room looking downriver and we were lucky enough to enjoy a full view of the fireworks from the 15th floor. The balconies are large at this hotel, and safe for small children despite a slightly worrying gap in one corner of the patio, which my wife and I were keen to keep the children away from (I don't think our 1-year old son would have actually gone through this gap, but it did give me wobbly knees just looking at it!).

So, five stars for location and accessibility. The big downside is the service, which is really hit-and-miss. Some of the staff are really helpful, kind and on-the-ball, but there are too many there who seem ill-prepared for dealing with the general public. Our waitress at breakfast was keen to point out, when we asked for hot tea rather than cold, that we had put cold milk into out tea and that this would be the reason why the tea was cold! You could run a good business without all those demanding customers, don't you agree? Our daughter had a small accident in the hotel pool which required a plaster for her toe, and we were disappointed to find that there was no first aid kit at the pool, and also noone to attend to our situation, without my wife hunting high and low for assistance.

This hotel has potential, but it is rough around the edges. It is only three years old and already looks in need of some repair work, especially in the rooms. I suspect that poor materials are to blame...

To conclude, if you want a great location at a great price, then look no further, but do not expect too much when it comes to service. It may well be that they are simply understaffed, but if you are prepared to help yourself rather than rely on too much pampering, then this hotel might just be for you.

Room Tip: For a good view of the river with good room space for a family of four I recommend the grand suites...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We came here right after the flooding had started in Bangkok and the US had actually advised citizens not to come to Bangkok. We were a bit worried, but we emailed the Chatrium before leaving and they assured us they were open, had supplies and food and methods to prevent flooding. They even said we could cancel our reservation without any charges.

We upgraded to a larger room and access to the Club lounge and the upgrade was pretty cheap. It gave us free happy hour (drinks and hors d'oeuvres), a different breakfast option (not just buffet), laundry service (2 pieces daily) and internet access in room.

Pros:
-Pool was gorgeous with beautiful views
-Breakfast (we actually preferred the buffet on the first level to the one in the club lounge). It was the best we had the whole trip. The buffet had absolutely every breakfast option you could think of and Asian breakfast options.
-Cocktail hour in the lounge
-Service was excellent and everyone was helpful
-Laundry service
-Shower and bathtub in our room. The shower was very large, great water pressure. The shower was unique because it had a retractable shade so you could open it and see it from the bedroom area.
-A/C was great (sometimes hard to get in Asia)
-View from our room/balcony. We had a view of the city and river
-Starbucks in the complex
-Spa. We had Thai massages and they were relatively inexpensive for such a nice, hotel spa and they were excellent.
-7 eleven in the complex
-Boat shuttle. It took you up to the SkyTrain which would make it easy to get into the center of Bangkok. When we were there, it was less frequent and once even cancelled (without notification) but this was due to the flooding.

Cons:
-Wireless access in the room was for one computer only. That's ridiculous to us since it doesn't cost them extra to give access to two computers. It was very inconvenient because we both couldn't use it at the same time and had to log out to switch devices.
-Concierge one day spoke worse English than the front desk person. I think it would make sense to have the concierge speak better English. This may have been because people couldn't make it to work due to the floods. Either way, it wasn't that bad.

Overall, fantastic. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Upgrades are worth it to have access to the Club Lounge.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laina990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

A terrific hotel to stay with family. Located on the banks of Chao Praya river, this hotel offers not only great value but is also luxurious. Friendly staff, excellent amenities, and sumptuous breakfast is very appreciated. Rooms are big. Well worth the extra 400 bahts per night to upgrade to the river view rooms. They also provide transportation with their own ferry.

Room Tip: Do upgrade to the river view rooms, it is well worth the money spent. Do request a room on the upper...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raj_sundar7252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed at the Chatrium in early december in a superior riverview room, wow! the room was stunning, very very spacious and modern with a kitchenette/ breakfast bar and a beautiful marble bathroom, and the biggest and most comfortable bed i've ever slept in but the best thing by far about our room was the incredible view of the Chao Praya river. The hotel is in a residential area but provides an excellent free river taxi up to the sathorn pier where you can either connect with the sky train or jump on a tourist river taxi to take you further up the river, which is an excellent way to get up to the old part of the city, Wat Po and the Grand Palace and the backpackers paradise of Khao San Road. The buffet breakfast at the hotel was excellent with a vast choice of thai, english and continental fayre so we never got bored, a nice touch was the big mugs for tea or coffee. The drinks at the hotel are VERY expensive, we dined there only once in the evening and they had a buffet for £25 per head, it was excellent food, huge choice, with an outside barbeque of various meats,fish and seafood and other cooked to order food stations. The hotel is part of a complex of apartments so there is an ATM and mini-supermarket nearby which is handy. Would highly recommend this hotel and will stay again when we return to Bangkok as it's an excellent base if you don't mind being a litle bit out of the way.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a riverview room, you won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julieshoes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#17 of 879 in Bangkok
8,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#123 of 879 in Bangkok
5,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $80 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing