We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Many Hidden Gems”

A Chef's Tour (Bangkok)
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Chef-designed Bangkok Food Tour with Klong Boat...
Ranked #10 of 95 Food & Drink in Bangkok
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Don’t leave the fate of your taste buds to chance… go straight for Bangkok’s culinary jugular. Join Chef Nutth on his epic nightly food feast around the city’s maze of alleys to taste hidden street eats you’d never find alone. Trust us, the pad Thai on Khao San Road is nothing to write home about. Gorge on lemongrass infused mussels, rich peanut satay with grilled coconut chicken and ajat relish, the best Thai curry in Bangkok, and over a dozen more lip-smackingly good things. Kicking off as the afternoon cools, eat your way through the labyrinth of backstreets, ending on a sugary high along the main strip of Yaowarat Road in all its neon glory.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed May 22, 2018

This was exactly what I was looking for in a food tour -- I wanted to try new foods, see hidden spots in Chinatown, and I didn't want it to feel gimmicky.

Nutth fulfilled all those criteria and exceeded my expectations.

First, the food. There is a TON of food on this tour, which I should have known from the reviews. I'm quite a good eater and I legitimately had to stop by the end because I was so full.

The food ranges from Michelin recognized desserts, to noodles in an alley way, to curry on the sidewalk, to ice cream in an air-conditioned store. The variety is insane and plentiful, but what makes it more fun is listening to Nutth reminisce about the foods we are trying. Many of the places he takes you to are the same that he used to visit as a child.

Much of the fun came from just walking through these narrow, dark, damp alley ways that we never, EVER would have seen on our own. We got a much better feel of Chinatown than most of the tourists who stuck to the main drag.

Of course, there are other food tours and I'm sure they're wonderful. They even hit some of the same eateries (I saw one going to the same mango/sticky-rice stand we did) -- but I think this tour likely brings a more intimate, personalized, and authentic experience overall. Anyone going to Bangkok should do this tour.

1  Thank DGCT00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke C, Owner at A Chef's Tour (Bangkok), responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

It's great to hear that you got so much from your foodie tour with Chef Nutth. He knows he stuff when it comes to eating spots in Bangkok! These are places he's been visiting his whole life! We hope you had fun on the rest of your Thai adventure and we look forward to seeing you on another one of our tours soon.

All the best,

Luke @ A Chef's Tour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"back alley"
in 3 reviews
"noodles"
in 7 reviews
"hidden food"
in 2 reviews
"alley ways"
in 2 reviews
"dim sum"
in 2 reviews
"street food stalls"
in 2 reviews
"authentic thai food"
in 2 reviews
"mango"
in 2 reviews
"chinatown"
in 11 reviews
"dish"
in 3 reviews
"adventure"
in 3 reviews
"culture"
in 6 reviews
"pace"
in 2 reviews
"insight"
in 2 reviews
"ingredients"
in 2 reviews
"foods"
in 2 reviews
Filter

20 - 24 of 74 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke C, Owner at A Chef's Tour (Bangkok), responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018

The walking food tour of Bangkok’s Chinatown area was fabulous! We tried so many delicious foods that we’d never have known how to find otherwise. Chef Nutth, our guide, was warm and knowledgeable, both about the Chinese/Thai cuisine and about the area in general. This tour was enjoyable and great value. The best mango sticky rice we’ve ever tasted was a great way to finish the evening!!

2  Thank Kristin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke C, Owner at A Chef's Tour (Bangkok), responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Hi Kristin,

We're thrilled to hear that you had a fun time with Chef Nutth on your tour. Being a chef and having grown up nearby, he knows every little backstreet food vendor in town, so he's ideally placed for taking travelers to the hidden little spots that would be impossible to find on your own. We hope you had a fun time on the rest of your Thai adventure!

All the best,

Luke @ A Chef's Tour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2018

This was a fantastic experience. Chef Nutth is a delightful and knowledgeable man who takes great pride and pleasure in showing international travellers Bangkok's hidden food secrets in the streets and backstreets of this vibrant and bustling city. You won't find these places on your own ... and the journey he builds for you from noodles to dumplings to satays to dim sum to cookies to icecream to Michelin Star awarded sweet dumplings (yes, a 2018 Michelin star!) is a fabulous way to eat dinner as you take in the history lesson he gives as you eat your way around. The food is SAFE to eat (he knows all of the vendors and knows the ingredients they use and the method of cooking, so rest assured - you won't get sick) and delicious. Thank you Chef Nutth for a fabulous night!

1  Thank apatrick1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke C, Owner at A Chef's Tour (Bangkok), responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! So great to hear you had a fun night with Chef Nutth. You're so right, he takes a lot of pride in showing around travelers the hidden little spots that would just be impossible to find on your own. Look forward to seeing you on another one of our food tours in the near future.

All the best,

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

Ladies and gentlemen, in case you thought you knew everything about Bangkok's streetfood and didn't join chef Nutth's tour you are just not up to date. He is the Insider from Bangkok who introduces you to dishes you never had before and which you will never find elsewhere in this vibrant city. Not only that he knows all details about the history of the area, he even prepares a delicious Thai mango Salad with all secret ingrediances just in front of you during the tour. At least a dozen different dishes are presented. This is definitely the must-participate Tour in Bangkok otherwise you can't consider yourself as a truely certified streetfoodie.

Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke C, Owner at A Chef's Tour (Bangkok), responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Hi Michael,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Super happy to hear that you had a good time with Chef Nutth. He really knows his stuff when it comes to Thai cuisine and the secret spots in the city! That Thai mango salad is one of our favs too.

All the best,

Luke @ A Chef's Tour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Chef's Tour (Bangkok) also viewed

 

Been to A Chef's Tour (Bangkok)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing