We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
53
15
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
53
15
6
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 77 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Samsen 5 Lodge - a fantastic experience. Wonderful healthy breakfasts to start the day, our host was really friendly & helpful in assisting us with our queries (& he was the one who prepared the fabulous breakfasts!), our courtyard room was lovely & cool (furnished with some magic pieces), super location close to the 'cultural' attractions. All in all we would highly recommend staying there to any visitor to Bangkok.

Room tip: The courtyard room (room 2) was cool with a lovely outlook
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeighandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have a great time here, small & charming room with a good combination of decoration. Not too far from the Chaopraya river's pier-just a few minutes walk. There are not too many rooms here but in fact we like it because it does makes us feel like our private home. Great view at the river, Friendly atmosphere, and the price is very reasonable. Samsen-Location is great for us to visit the Bangkok landmarks that we expecting to see and spending time with.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mamy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This guest house was recommended by a friend and we were very happy. We especially appreciated the 'natural' cooling as opposed to air-conditioning. Very clean and comfortable. Great location. Tasty local cuisine for breakfast.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We came with expectations of this being a very personal experience given prior reviews and fact it was a home. Sadly this was not the case and in fact most of time there was a pervading sense of indifference. We were shown to our room on arrival without a word of welcome or even the briefest of familiarization with how things worked etc. Our room was not cleaned or made up from time of arrival.
I really think owner needs to decide if he is serious about being in hospitality as our experience certainly did not support this contention. We are frequent travellers who have been visiting Thailand over 40 years. Very disappointing.

Date of stay: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
antBangkok, Owner at Samsen 5 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you for your review on our place, in that period we just had changed our new staff team amd maid which is not english spoken fluently . usually thai people are very shine when they cant spaek good english. This kind of complaint never happened here. if you come again, i'm sure that you will love them. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This was a great experience in a great area of Bangkok. From the moment we stepped out of the hotel we knew we were amongst it from a locals perspective. Very close to the city and JJ markets by Cab. A great walk to see some amazing temples and right in the heart of some incredible food hot spots (the place that specialises in Pad Thai is a must!).
The hotel was clean and very comfy, a great place to rest your tired feet and feel refreshed after a day of exploring and shopping.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews