We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and good for a stopover hotel.”
Review of Vabua Asotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vabua Asotel
Ranked #421 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Situated between the airport and the centre of Bangkok, so good if you are laying over for just one night and are wanting to do some shopping the next day (which is what we did). A taxi will set you back apx 300THB to the hotel and the same to get out to the MBK shopping centre. The rooms were basic and a bit scruffy round the edges. But, if you don’t plan on spending too much time at there it’s fine. The hotel has a quirky outside bar and they have karaoke style entertainment at night. The hotel restaurant makes everything under the sun, with a Thai style of course. Not badly priced and a cocktail there was about 100THB. We paid 1400THB for two nights there, which is pretty cheap, so we didn’t have huge expectations. It was fine for a layover, but definitely wouldn’t choose this place for a holiday destination.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smarty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Vabua Asotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 202 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2011

Stayed here when we couldn't extend our stay at the hotel 50 metres up the road. Worked out cheaper (about 800 baht a night i think or $20 or so).. the room was largish, TV, DVD player, bar fridge, etcetera. Complimentary bottled water , but u pay for coffee or tea if u want it. bathroom was fine, not huge, not small. Shower was not closed off from the toilet or rest of bathroom, but it didnt seem to worry us.
Downstairs is a restaurant/bar, which has live music/karaoke a few times a week.. plenty of restaurants in the soi itself.
You are a $3-4 taxi ride from several major shopping malls (the mall bangkapi is best), markets (bangkapi also good) , supermarkets, street markets etc etc. taxis are easy to catch outside the hotel...you will wait maybe one minute. Avoid the taxis that wait inside the hotel grounds and insist on the meter. also plenty of motorcyle taxis. It is about 200 baht ($7) to Khao san road or Sukhumvit /Siam areas, though you would be quicker getting the taxi to the Train station (MRT) and go from there.
Not the most central of hotels, but cheap and clean.
The walls are a bit thin and u can hear corridor noise also..

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GosfordMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

In 20 years of travelling to Bangkok i have never experienced more worse staff or stay then in this short time morbid hotel.
They stole some things i had given them for safe keeping with a receipt and then the day time lady boy who spoke fluent english has the audacity to lie and make frivilous excuses even further.The day fat man behind the reception counter will turn his head and eyes from you when you talk or ask him something and continue to giggle on the phone.The staff dont care a damn about you as they show there arrogance and uncaring attitude.
The only positive thing were the day and night porters very helpful and polite.
Whoever said that walking from this hotel to the mall or tesco Lotus probably has wings or joggs because it takes 30 minutes to walk there from hotel.If the hotel electric car drops you at the main road then also it takes 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

do not visit this hotel its pethetic condition ,the room is hopeless ,does not appear like they show in the photo at all .,they wont allow you to see the room before you check in .only the loby is well design ,the bath room is the worse of all the hotel i have visited.
the put a sign bord of low price of 390 everwhere.which you will never get at the hotel
its actually almost 700 which is not even wort according to room condition .
big parking space they have live band singing too loud ,the room is very small
the hotel is not good for any purpose.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtrip030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

A lot has been written about this hotel. What might put some people off is its location which on the map appears quite far. The reality is that it is not that far. From BKK Airport or Downtown BKK, simply take the new SC City Express rail line to the airport (the price is about 15-30baht depending on time of day). After you get off the Hua Mark station, you can take a bus to the hotel. Google Maps in fact can plan the trip for you.

The hotel is near a lot of things (restaurants, a 10 minute walk to a major mall and Tesco Lotus). Its a good place to stay cause you are not in a major tourist trap but at the same time you have all the conveniences that you need. The staff is very professional and safety is a plus (each time you leave, you give them the room key and the elevator can't be operated without a room key). Only negative is the wall are a bit thin but bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patience2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed there for 1 night in December 2010.
Very nice looking hotel with pretty much everything you need in the room.
From hairdryer to even a flat screen LCV TV & a build in DVD player.
Not that you'll be watching much television when you're on holiday but it's there just in case.
The service was brilliant.
Room was very clean.
Very, very cheap. Well worth the money.
But then again the money you're saving on the room you will most propbably be spending it on taxis etc.
It's location is ok, depends on what you plan to do in Bangkok.
Also beware of the KARAOKE downstairs, it can go on until midnight or so.
But like I said, it is CHEAP and CLEAN so well worth the money.
Definately stay there again so yes it is a ''RECOMMEND''.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoureMyWonderwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Pros: Cheap for the service and room quality you getting. Round the area loads of convenience store, massage parlor. If you are lazy to walk, the hotel provide a golf shuttle to drive/pickup from nearby area. Food provided by the hotel lounge is good + price is cheap for hotel. Most of the front desk staff speaks English so no worries on getting your message across,

Cons: Besides the fact that the room is good, the bathroom looks old. I took the suite room without the bathtub. After couple days due to having consume food in room, my room was crawling with ants which is a letdown. Place is pretty far from central bangkok. Every trip me and my wife made cost us approximately Baht 90 - Baht 200.

Summary: Still pretty much a good stay and i wont hesitate to come back again. Would be better if the bathroom is upgraded.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.8 mi away
Park Srinakarin Hotel
Park Srinakarin Hotel
#457 of 879 in Bangkok
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
MetroPoint Bangkok Hotel
MetroPoint Bangkok Hotel
#488 of 879 in Bangkok
68 reviews
5.9 mi away
Siam Piman Hotel
Siam Piman Hotel
#428 of 879 in Bangkok
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baron Zotel Bangkok
Baron Zotel Bangkok
#240 of 879 in Bangkok
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Livotel Hotel Lat Phrao Bangkok
6.7 mi away
Suphan Lake Hometel
Suphan Lake Hometel
#440 of 879 in Bangkok
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vabua Asotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vabua Asotel

Address: 392 Soi Ladprao Soi 130 Ladprao Rd, Bangkok 10240, Thailand (Formerly Vaboir Lodge)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #421 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $18 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vabua Asotel 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vabua Asotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing