We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dawin Hotel Restaurant - Yummy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dawin Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #254 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have stayed at the Dawin Hotel numerous times and always found it to be an excellent hotel although a little more expensive than surrounding hotels in the area. This review however is about the hotel restaurant.

The restaurant is situated on the ground floor as you enter the hotel. It is a cafeteria type set up ideal for lunch or an early evening meal. You can either sit outside on the terrace or inside with views out to the street through large windows.

The menu is very similar in all the chain of hotels the Dawin belongs to (Dynasty Inn, Dynasty Grande in Bangkok and Dynasty Resort in Pattaya). Over the years I've tried most of the things on the menu and my outstanding favourite is the spicy chicken fried rice. The best I've had anywhere in Thailand.

The dish is served in a mound with lime, tomatoes, lettuce and cucumber but what is inside the rice is special. The dish has green beans, chicken, hot basil, garlic, chilli and a hint of ginger. I always have it served with extra chilli and some Maggi sauce. it is delicious. Sadly the portion isn't very large so if you have a healthy appetite then maybe a double portion will be necessary.

Even when I'm not staying at the Dawin i always pop in for something to eat and a Bloody mary which is second to none. I recommend a visit when on Soi 4.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper loor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrInfinity001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 633 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2011

My stay here was nice. The rooms are clean and modern although a little small. Most of the staff are friendly enough and the food is ok. It's in a good position, close enough to the nightlife and just far enough away, about a 3 minute walk to Nana Plaza. The pool is a little to small so if you plan on getting some exercise by doing a few laps, forget it.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jollyjacksjungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Have stayed here four times now since this place opened and it still feels like new. Small hotel with a small pool on top floor. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Rooms are good and spotless although not large but have everything you would need. Good size safe, great shower, very comfortable bed, nice tv loads of channels and good curtains that keep the early morning light out. WiFi is good quaility and free. Lots of restaurants closeby and skytrain not far away. Restaurant food is good but there is no shortage of places to eat near this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty much all the same....some slightly bigger than others but not much difference at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orion1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. The service staff are polite and more than willing to offer any assistance if required. It is located in the busy Nana Soi 4 but we actually like this as there is plenty to see and a there are some good foods here also.
Sky train is close by as is the mailing centre, many street stalls and 7/11 for your needs. An abundace of taxi's or private cars to take for tours etc are always available.
But I would say for some folks the area could be a little in your face although the Dawin Hotel is far from this with very friendly and healpful staff. As a married couple we were not annoyed by front counter staff to supply ID for my wife unlike other hotels where they have actually treated her quite poorly. We were treated with respect.
The food available at Dawin is also good although a little expensive and drinks also but in saying that not outragious, you do pay for what you get which is a quite clean place to relax and enjoy a drink and meal.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

First things first, this hotel is located within 800 metres of Nana Plaza (google it if you don't know why this is important!). It is, however, far enough away to offer a little peace and quiet.
The room is small but has everything the traveller to the area needs. Comfortable bed, decent bathroom (good shower pressure), reasonable cupboard space and, always important, in-room safe. The decor is basic and presumably caught the designer in the middle of their brown period, but as you're in Nana I'm presuming that interesting decor and stunning vistas are not top of your priorities.
The hotel would have got a higher rating if it hadn't had been for the fairly large cockroach that decided to run across the bed at, at the very least, a severely inopportune moment. I know this is Asia and roaches, geckos and the like are all part of the experience but surely it doesn't take too much effort to stick a couple of roach traps around.
That moan aside, I would probably stay at the Dawin again and just hope that any future visitors to my room have actually been invited!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soloposhbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I've stayed at The Dawin on 3 occasions and really enjoyed each visit. It's in a great location being close to the Skytrain and not to far off the express way, the hotel is also close enough to Sukhumvit Rd and Nana plaza and also just far enough to escape the bustle.
The rooms are really good, service friendly and efficient and the rooftop pool is a little oasis to escape the busy Bangkok streets.

Room Tip: The top floor suites are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

A great boutique hotel just far enough away from the the busy part of Soi 4.
plenty of good restaurants near by as well as easy transport

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ibis Bangkok Sukhumvit 4
Ibis Bangkok Sukhumvit 4
#230 of 890 in Bangkok
1,979 reviews
Sukhumvit
Dynasty Grande Hotel
Dynasty Grande Hotel
#304 of 890 in Bangkok
461 reviews
Sukhumvit
Phachara Suites
Phachara Suites
#238 of 890 in Bangkok
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#95 of 890 in Bangkok
1,274 reviews
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Parinda Hotel
Parinda Hotel
#190 of 890 in Bangkok
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawin Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawin Bangkok Hotel

Address: 35 / 1-2 Soi Nanatai 4 | Sukhumvit Road, Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#169 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $62 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dawin Bangkok Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in the Fall of 2008, THE DAWIN BANGKOK is the proud and newest addition to Dynasty Inn Group of Hotels. Expect modern contemporary design, intimate ambiance, and modern functionality at our new city hotel. At THE DAWIN, our friendly and attentive staff is dedicated to serving both business and leisure travelers. As a new urban hotel, we are situated in a great location within walking distance to the sky train on Soi 4 off Sukhumvit Road, the heart of Bangkok’s prestigious businesses, shopping and Embassies. Highlights of The DAWIN include free WI-FI internet access throughout the hotel, roof-top salt water-treated swimming pool with outdoor sundeck, and our popular outdoor sidewalk patio and dining spot --- the perfect place for people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dawin Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawin Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing