We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Peking Duck” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shang Palace

Shang Palace
Ranked #292 of 10,374 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Silom
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
234 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice Peking Duck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was glad I took the recommendation of the waitress that a full duck was adequate for a meal for 2 with some fried rice. I didn't quite believe it until the duck arrived and the skin was carved and served with the usual pancakes and sides. It was delicious.

We had the meat cooked as a later course although that was a bit tough and slightly disappointing.

All in all, a nice place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UKcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great ambience but don't expect authentic tasting Cantonese dim sum.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We ordered dim sums and main courses. Whilst the mains were rather good, the dim sum failed to impress. The xiaolongbaos were deflated, and the seafood in the dumpling soup were rubbery. Food here would satisfy most palettes but not the discerning Chinese food lovers.

The ambience was nice though, so definitely a good place to entertain your clients for a business lunch.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mumbailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Like in China”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Excellent, but don't expect cantonese western style Chinese food! It is exactly like in Chine... Excellent and affordable!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DdJacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
170 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A real palace excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had diner before our departure back home.The food was great
Excellent service and professional staff.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Dim Sum - Poor Evening Dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The meat used is not lean and is laden with connective tissue, on both of the dishes we chose. In fact we could not even eat one bite but felt bad.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank shergillworlwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shang Palace also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Shang Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing