We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food & convenient location ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen of Curry

Queen of Curry
Ranked #98 of 10,632 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Silom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food & convenient location ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Despite some reviews where people have questioned the credibility of other reviews, we popped down to 'Queen of Curry' for dinner. Just 5 mins from Lebua State Tower & next to Shangri La hotels, staff are friendly & attentive. Food has been adapted for western taste - mentioned in their menu - however if you want the heat ramped up they'll happily accommodate. Massaman was a highlight, but all the food was fantastic, and great value. If you want something more authentic and local, the Bangrak market is straight opposite.

Helpful?
Thank KateCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    265
    95
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen aan Zee, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

A surprise, a good place to eat. Located just behind the Shangri La hotel, it is good alternative for the more expensive restaurants within the hotel. Yes, there is a difference in quality, but the difference in price is huge.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Klaas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good quaint place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I was walking around in that area looking for a good thai food joint for over an hour and happened to chance upon it. Be advised, The tripadvisor offline maps location turned out to be wrong. It is right adjacent to rock steaks.
Good food, nothing exceptional. I ordered a crab curry and pork green curry.
Service was v good , friendly staff who were ready to customise the dishes as per my needs .
All in all 4/5

Helpful?
Thank Clonemole
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yum.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Was located close to our hotel and we went for lunch. Everything was delicious. We had the spring rolls, my husband had a very spicy curry (his request for it to be spicy) and I had chicken with cashews. Good prices and cold Singha, it was a great lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank switt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very friendly and fresh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We visited for dinner with family and being vegetarians, have to say it was one of the freshest and a wonderful eating out experience in recent times. We ordered for Vegetable Thai Green curry, some stir fried vegetables and spring rolls (also a bowl of rice with curry). Two things stood out.... Green curry and Stir fried vegetables!!

Its in a busy area near Shangri La hotel and has a friendly and easy vibe to it. We ate on tables outside and coupled with nice breeze it made the evening pretty special. But IMHO what really stood out was the freshness of food that truly stood out from everything!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank muditkag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen of Curry also viewed

 

Been to Queen of Curry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing