We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quaint place”
Review of Queen of Curry

Queen of Curry
Ranked #121 of 11,055 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Silom
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good quaint place”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I was walking around in that area looking for a good thai food joint for over an hour and happened to chance upon it. Be advised, The tripadvisor offline maps location turned out to be wrong. It is right adjacent to rock steaks.
Good food, nothing exceptional. I ordered a crab curry and pork green curry.
Service was v good , friendly staff who were ready to customise the dishes as per my needs .
All in all 4/5

Helpful?
Thank Clonemole
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    290
    101
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum.”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Was located close to our hotel and we went for lunch. Everything was delicious. We had the spring rolls, my husband had a very spicy curry (his request for it to be spicy) and I had chicken with cashews. Good prices and cold Singha, it was a great lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank switt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very friendly and fresh!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We visited for dinner with family and being vegetarians, have to say it was one of the freshest and a wonderful eating out experience in recent times. We ordered for Vegetable Thai Green curry, some stir fried vegetables and spring rolls (also a bowl of rice with curry). Two things stood out.... Green curry and Stir fried vegetables!!

Its in a busy area near Shangri La hotel and has a friendly and easy vibe to it. We ate on tables outside and coupled with nice breeze it made the evening pretty special. But IMHO what really stood out was the freshness of food that truly stood out from everything!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muditkag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Reiaible and inexpensive...and they do laundry!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have been here a few times over the years. It is reliable in terms of the food and it is very inexpensive. Can be pretty crowded. Very friendly staff.

What might be helpful for travellers to know if you are reading this in advance of your visit to Bangkok is that the restaurant also does laundry for you. Ever so much cheaper than the big hotels like the Shangri La and others on the river.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeCoucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the name”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Queen of Curry is actually a Thai style restaurant serving excellent spicy and non spicy food.
As you walk up to it there is not much wow factor but as the other reviewers are keen to point out you will not be disappointed as it is good value, good food and friendly.
If you don't like curry, still go try it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TedCottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen of Curry also viewed

 

Been to Queen of Curry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing