We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai River Cruise

Thai River Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
240 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We took this private trip thinking that we were going to something like the floating market. There was in fact nothing of note only dirty water that you would be scared to fall into and hawkers.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank keegan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    35
    23
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great fun and ambience, but dissapointing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Worth doing but the food isn't too great. There was a squid dumpling that was so over-cooked it was like rubber and inedible. But the soup was nice, along with the smoothie. The boat is beautiful and the dancers are sunning. The service was also impressive. I have a nut allergy and we had told them earlier, and they were very good about making sure no nuts ended up on the table. The view is superb and the temples are amazing lit up at night. Overall pretty good and a nice way to wrap up the day.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great fun, beware of the scammers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

The many river cruises on offer are great.
There are several to offer from big boats, to dinner boats, to long tail boats cruising the "Venice of the East" inlets.

We took the long tail boats tours.
The tour was great and you get to go through all the water ways in the suburbia of Bangkok. There are so many photo opportunities as you see how some of the villages exist on the water’s edge. The cruise is very peaceful and very smooth.

The negative side: There are many points to get tickets to these kinds of cruises. We got on at a platform that was right next to the Peninsula hotel. Be careful here. If you are white, they will make up some price. We got asked for 1000baht per person, which is totally ridiculous. I told her no, and she then dropped the price to 600baht per person without us even trying. Even this is too high. They also tried to charge me 4 times the price for a Fanta. So if you go here, then aim for around 300baht for the longtail boat ride and pay no more than 10 baht for the Fanta. I have attached pics below of the hotel that is near the pickup point, and pictures of the pickup point. I wouldn't go through here as the people were rude and had no issue in hiking up the price. They didn’t even advertise the price, which was a warning sign straight away.

In summary - go on the tour its great! but find a main pick up point to do it from, not a back alley boat wharf.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Gracie2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gr8 Cruise, nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We took the cruise on 1/8/2011, which was a rainy evening to say the least. Picked up at the hotel and dropped off at Rivercity cruise. Boarded the chayo praya princess IV. The ship was gr8 and atmosphere was good and so was the lady performing live on bollywood songs.

Guess they have a lot of Indian guests, who were certainly in majority on the day i took the cruise. Since the weather was not particularly gr8 for views we could not see much of the much talked about bkk skyline and the Wats along the river. May be the lights were not on. Plus i personally feel that we were not taken upto the RAMA IV bridge, from where the curies were to take a turn to come back to rivercity on this day. Reason- Unknown.

However it was a very romantic cruise and the setting was perfect, we got the lower deck Air conditions seating, which i think was good since it was raining and there was not much to see either. However on other days I think an upper deck seating would be better.

The DJ was good and got the crowd involved, but as it is, it doesn't take much to involve the Indian crowd, than playing the Latest bollywood song. However full marks to the lady doing the singing. Singing in hindi, with an thai accent, which in itself was an attraction.

overall gr8 cruise and much much better then maybe sitting in your car doing the bkk half day city tour.
:))

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Vik320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
“enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

a cruise on the chao praya river was a beautiful end to an enjoyable trip to thailand...one word of advise for vegetarians , please check if the dinner offered on the cruise has enough vegetarian food at the buffet. sailed on the " THE CHAOPRAYA CRUISE ", and there was hardly a dish or two for vegetarians. so, do check properly.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank sanjogita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai River Cruise also viewed

 

Been to Thai River Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing